Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Brand: Namiki

Namiki Urushi Collection: No.20 and No.50 Lacquer Pens

Compiled from 5 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Namiki Urushi Collection is the plain-lacquer line of Pilot's maki-e brand: four fountain pens, Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, each with an 18K No.20 or No.50 nib. The No.50 revives the 1930s 'No.50 Jumbo' and keeps its ink-stopping function. Namiki publishes no sizes or prices; in our $$$$ band (over $75).

On this page10 sections
Namiki Urushi No.50 fountain pens in Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, drawn in proportion at 173 mm
The two No.50 Urushi pens at their 173 mm length; the No.20 pair is not drawn because Namiki publishes no size. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

Product facts

Product
Namiki Urushi Collection Lacquer Black No.50 Fountain Pen (FNF-148S-B)
Brand
Namiki
Brand origin
Japan
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Ebonite body with roiro urushi lacquer finish (ebonite per Yoseka), 18K gold nib
Price range
$$$$over $75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count)
Colors

Lacquer Blackroiro urushi lacquer

Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by Pilot Corporation (Namiki is Pilot's maki-e brand). Country of manufacture not stated: Namiki's pages name the Japanese artisan group Kokkokai but print no country of manufacture. Check the box or the pen. Source. Price: example listing.
  • Colors: names per Namiki, checked October 31, 2026. Namiki lists Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, each in No.20 and No.50. Tints are representative; we have not matched them to Namiki's photos. Tints are representative, not measured. Shops stock different colors.
  • How we test and disclose samples: How we test stationery.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026.

Key takeaways

  • Namiki lists four Urushi Collection pens: Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, each in a No.20 and a No.50 18K nib size (FNK-128S and FNF-148S article numbers).
  • The No.50 revives the 1930s 'No.50 Jumbo' and keeps the original ink-stopping function, per Namiki.
  • The finish is roiro urushi: non-oil lacquer rubbed in repeatedly after polishing with charcoal.
  • Namiki's site gives no dimensions or prices; Yoseka lists the Black No.50 at 6.8 in (17.3 cm) and in our $$$$ band (over $75).
  • Nib types are F, M and B on the No.20 and FM, M and B on the No.50.

What is the Namiki Urushi Collection?

It is the lacquer-only line of Namiki, Pilot’s maki-e fountain pen brand. Namiki says the collection brings back the large No.50 pen of the early 1930s, nicknamed “No.50 Jumbo”, with the same ink-stopping function. It also offers a smaller No.20 pen. There is no gold-powder picture here: the design is the lacquer itself, in black or vermilion. For where the brand came from, see Pilot’s history. For Namiki pens with colored lacquer and a maki-e pattern, see the Aya Collection.

Which four pens does Namiki list?

Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, each as a No.20 and a No.50.

Pen Article number Nib Nib types
Lacquer Black No.20 FNK-128S-B No.20, 18K F, M, B
Lacquer Vermilion No.20 FNK-128S-R No.20, 18K F, M, B
Lacquer Black No.50 FNF-148S-B No.50, 18K FM, M, B
Lacquer Vermilion No.50 FNF-148S-R No.50, 18K FM, M, B

Each page names the technique as Roiro Urushi and the artisans as Kokkokai, a maki-e artisan group that Yoseka says formed in 1931.

How is the finish made?

Non-oil lacquer is rubbed in repeatedly after the body is polished with a special charcoal. Namiki calls this roiro urushi shiage, a “non-oil lacquer finish”. Its technique page describes the general maki-e method: lacquer, draw, sprinkle powder and polish, repeated many times, over more than three months for a pen, and as many as 130 times for some. The Urushi pens skip the picture, so we don’t know how many coats these particular pens get.

How big is it, and how does it fill?

Namiki publishes no dimensions, so the only size we have is a retailer’s. Yoseka lists 6.8 in (17.3 cm) for the Black No.50, an ebonite body, an eyedropper filler with a shut-off valve and a box with a bottle of Namiki Blue ink. For comparison, Pilot Japan lists the regular Custom Urushi at 155 mm, so the No.50 is a longer pen. We found no length for the No.20 and no filling system for it.

What is the nib like?

Both sizes carry an 18K gold nib. The No.50 is the large Jumbo size; the No.20 is the smaller one. Namiki does not describe flex or feel. Nib widths run fine to broad, with the No.50 starting at fine-medium. Namiki lists the nib size as a number (No.20 or No.50) and gives no millimetre dimensions for the nib, so we can’t compare it with other makers’ sizes. Pilot’s own regular lines use numbered nibs too; see the Custom Urushi for the No.30 nib in the regular range.

What does it cost?

Namiki lists no prices. On October 31, 2026, Yoseka, a US dealer, listed the Black No.50 at US$2,500, with fine-medium, medium and broad all out of stock. That puts it in our $$$$ band (over $75). We did not find prices for the other three pens from a source we can quote.

Where is it made?

Namiki’s pages don’t say. They name the Kokkokai artisans but no country of manufacture, so we list the origin as not stated. For the brand’s roots, see our Pilot history.

Frequently asked questions

How many pens are in the Namiki Urushi Collection?

Four on Namiki's English site: Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, each in a No.20 and a No.50 nib size.

What do the article numbers mean?

Namiki prints FNK-128S-B and FNK-128S-R for the No.20 pens and FNF-148S-B and FNF-148S-R for the No.50, with B for black and R for red. Namiki doesn't explain the codes; the color letters are our reading.

Which nib widths are offered?

Namiki lists F, M and B for the No.20 and FM, M and B for the No.50. Yoseka's Black No.50 page lists Fine Medium, Medium and Broad.

How big is a Namiki Urushi pen?

Namiki gives no dimensions. Yoseka lists 6.8 in (17.3 cm) for the Black No.50 and nothing for the No.20, so we can't size the smaller pens.

How does it fill?

Namiki says the No.50 has the same ink-stopping function as the 1930s original. Yoseka describes an eyedropper filler with a shut-off valve and an eyedropper in the box. Namiki doesn't state the No.20 filling system.

How much is a Namiki Urushi pen?

Namiki lists no prices. The Black No.50 sits in our $$$$ band (over $75) at a US dealer; check an authorized dealer for current pricing.

How is it different from the Pilot Custom Urushi?

The Custom Urushi is a regular Pilot pen with a No.30 nib. The Namiki pens are a separate maki-e brand line with No.20 and No.50 nibs, and the No.50 is a larger pen.

Sources (5)

  1. Namiki: Urushi Collection (four pens, No.50 Jumbo history, roiro finish; read October 31, 2026)
  2. Namiki: Lacquer Black No.50 (technique, article number, nib size, nib types, artisans; read October 31, 2026)
  3. Namiki: Lacquer Vermilion No.20 (article number and nib types; read October 31, 2026)
  4. Namiki: Techniques supporting Namiki (how maki-e is built up; read October 31, 2026)
  5. Yoseka Stationery: Pilot Namiki Emperor Fountain Pen, Black Urushi (US price, length, filler; read October 31, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: namiki-urushi-collection.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.