---
title: "Namiki Urushi Collection: No.20 and No.50 Lacquer Pens"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/namiki-urushi-collection/"
description: "Namiki Urushi Collection explained: four black or vermilion lacquer fountain pens, 18K No.20 and No.50 nibs, article numbers, price band and what Namiki omits."
category: "Pens"
type: "Fountain pen"
published: 2026-10-31
updated: 2026-10-31
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 5
products:
  - name: "Namiki Urushi Collection Lacquer Black No.50 Fountain Pen (FNF-148S-B)"
    brand: "Namiki"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Ebonite body with roiro urushi lacquer finish (ebonite per Yoseka), 18K gold nib"
    price_band: "$$$$ (over $75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Pilot Corporation (Namiki is Pilot's maki-e brand)"
    model: "Urushi Collection Lacquer Black No.50 (FNF-148S-B)"
    mpn: "FNF-148S-B"
    url: "https://www.pilot-namiki.com/en/collection/urushi/lacquer-black-no50/"
---

# Namiki Urushi Collection: No.20 and No.50 Lacquer Pens

> The Namiki Urushi Collection is the plain-lacquer line of Pilot's maki-e brand: four fountain pens, Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, each with an 18K No.20 or No.50 nib. The No.50 revives the 1930s 'No.50 Jumbo' and keeps its ink-stopping function. Namiki publishes no sizes or prices; in our $$$$ band (over $75).

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/namiki-urushi-collection/
- Category: Pens
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-31
- Updated: 2026-10-31

![Namiki Urushi No.50 fountain pens in Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, drawn in proportion at 173 mm](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/namiki-urushi-collection-illustration-16x9.png?v=dbaa738e)

*The two No.50 Urushi pens at their 173 mm length; the No.20 pair is not drawn because Namiki publishes no size.* Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times. Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/namiki-urushi-collection-illustration.svg?v=177f934f>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Namiki Urushi Collection Lacquer Black No.50 Fountain Pen (FNF-148S-B) | Namiki (by Pilot Corporation (Namiki is Pilot's maki-e brand)) | Japan | Not stated | Ebonite body with roiro urushi lacquer finish (ebonite per Yoseka), 18K gold nib | – | $$$$: over $75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |

- Made in (Namiki Urushi Collection Lacquer Black No.50 Fountain Pen (FNF-148S-B)): Not stated. Namiki's pages name the Japanese artisan group Kokkokai but print no country of manufacture. Check the box or the pen. Source: https://www.pilot-namiki.com/en/collection/urushi/

### Namiki Urushi Collection Lacquer Black No.50 Fountain Pen (FNF-148S-B) colors

- Body colors (2 standard, 0 special edition): Lacquer Black (roiro urushi lacquer); Lacquer Vermilion (roiro urushi lacquer).
- Per Namiki (https://www.pilot-namiki.com/en/collection/urushi/), checked 2026-10-31. Namiki lists Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, each in No.20 and No.50. Tints are representative; we have not matched them to Namiki's photos. Shops stock different colors; check the listing.

## Key takeaways

- Namiki lists four Urushi Collection pens: Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, each in a No.20 and a No.50 18K nib size (FNK-128S and FNF-148S article numbers).
- The No.50 revives the 1930s 'No.50 Jumbo' and keeps the original ink-stopping function, per Namiki.
- The finish is roiro urushi: non-oil lacquer rubbed in repeatedly after polishing with charcoal.
- Namiki's site gives no dimensions or prices; Yoseka lists the Black No.50 at 6.8 in (17.3 cm) and in our $$$$ band (over $75).
- Nib types are F, M and B on the No.20 and FM, M and B on the No.50.

## What is the Namiki Urushi Collection?

**It is the lacquer-only line of Namiki, Pilot's maki-e fountain pen brand.** [Namiki](https://www.pilot-namiki.com/en/?utm_source=stationerytimes) says the collection brings back the large No.50 pen of the early 1930s, nicknamed "No.50 Jumbo", with the same ink-stopping function. It also offers a smaller No.20 pen. There is no gold-powder picture here: the design is the lacquer itself, in black or vermilion. For where the brand came from, see [Pilot's history](https://stationerytimes.com/stories/pilot-history/). For Namiki pens with colored lacquer and a maki-e pattern, see the [Aya Collection](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/namiki-aya-collection/).

## Which four pens does Namiki list?

**Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, each as a No.20 and a No.50.**

| Pen | Article number | Nib | Nib types |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lacquer Black No.20 | FNK-128S-B | No.20, 18K | F, M, B |
| Lacquer Vermilion No.20 | FNK-128S-R | No.20, 18K | F, M, B |
| Lacquer Black No.50 | FNF-148S-B | No.50, 18K | FM, M, B |
| Lacquer Vermilion No.50 | FNF-148S-R | No.50, 18K | FM, M, B |

Each page names the technique as Roiro Urushi and the artisans as Kokkokai, a maki-e artisan group that Yoseka says formed in 1931.


## How is the finish made?

**Non-oil lacquer is rubbed in repeatedly after the body is polished with a special charcoal.** Namiki calls this roiro urushi shiage, a "non-oil lacquer finish". Its technique page describes the general maki-e method: lacquer, draw, sprinkle powder and polish, repeated many times, over more than three months for a pen, and as many as 130 times for some. The Urushi pens skip the picture, so we don't know how many coats these particular pens get.

## How big is it, and how does it fill?

**Namiki publishes no dimensions, so the only size we have is a retailer's.** Yoseka lists 6.8 in (17.3 cm) for the Black No.50, an ebonite body, an eyedropper filler with a shut-off valve and a box with a bottle of Namiki Blue ink. For comparison, Pilot Japan lists the regular [Custom Urushi](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/pilot-custom-urushi/) at 155 mm, so the No.50 is a longer pen. We found no length for the No.20 and no filling system for it.


## What is the nib like?

**Both sizes carry an 18K gold nib.** The No.50 is the large Jumbo size; the No.20 is the smaller one. Namiki does not describe flex or feel. Nib widths run fine to broad, with the No.50 starting at fine-medium. Namiki lists the nib size as a number (No.20 or No.50) and gives no millimetre dimensions for the nib, so we can't compare it with other makers' sizes. Pilot's own regular lines use numbered nibs too; see the [Custom Urushi](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/pilot-custom-urushi/) for the No.30 nib in the regular range.

## What does it cost?

**Namiki lists no prices.** On October 31, 2026, Yoseka, a US dealer, listed the Black No.50 at US$2,500, with fine-medium, medium and broad all out of stock. That puts it in our $$$$ band (over $75). We did not find prices for the other three pens from a source we can quote.

## Where is it made?

**Namiki's pages don't say.** They name the Kokkokai artisans but no country of manufacture, so we list the origin as not stated. For the brand's roots, see our [Pilot history](https://stationerytimes.com/stories/pilot-history/).

## Frequently asked questions

### How many pens are in the Namiki Urushi Collection?

Four on Namiki's English site: Lacquer Black and Lacquer Vermilion, each in a No.20 and a No.50 nib size.

### What do the article numbers mean?

Namiki prints FNK-128S-B and FNK-128S-R for the No.20 pens and FNF-148S-B and FNF-148S-R for the No.50, with B for black and R for red. Namiki doesn't explain the codes; the color letters are our reading.

### Which nib widths are offered?

Namiki lists F, M and B for the No.20 and FM, M and B for the No.50. Yoseka's Black No.50 page lists Fine Medium, Medium and Broad.

### How big is a Namiki Urushi pen?

Namiki gives no dimensions. Yoseka lists 6.8 in (17.3 cm) for the Black No.50 and nothing for the No.20, so we can't size the smaller pens.

### How does it fill?

Namiki says the No.50 has the same ink-stopping function as the 1930s original. Yoseka describes an eyedropper filler with a shut-off valve and an eyedropper in the box. Namiki doesn't state the No.20 filling system.

### How much is a Namiki Urushi pen?

Namiki lists no prices. The Black No.50 sits in our $$$$ band (over $75) at a US dealer; check an authorized dealer for current pricing.

### How is it different from the Pilot Custom Urushi?

The Custom Urushi is a regular Pilot pen with a No.30 nib. The Namiki pens are a separate maki-e brand line with No.20 and No.50 nibs, and the No.50 is a larger pen.

## Sources

- [Namiki: Urushi Collection (four pens, No.50 Jumbo history, roiro finish; read October 31, 2026)](https://www.pilot-namiki.com/en/collection/urushi/)
- [Namiki: Lacquer Black No.50 (technique, article number, nib size, nib types, artisans; read October 31, 2026)](https://www.pilot-namiki.com/en/collection/urushi/lacquer-black-no50/)
- [Namiki: Lacquer Vermilion No.20 (article number and nib types; read October 31, 2026)](https://www.pilot-namiki.com/en/collection/urushi/lacquer-vermilion-no20/)
- [Namiki: Techniques supporting Namiki (how maki-e is built up; read October 31, 2026)](https://www.pilot-namiki.com/en/technique/)
- [Yoseka Stationery: Pilot Namiki Emperor Fountain Pen, Black Urushi (US price, length, filler; read October 31, 2026)](https://yosekastationery.com/products/pilot-namiki-emperor-fountain-pen-black-urushi)
