Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Copic Multiliner Plus: Refillable Fineliner Guide

Compiled from 7 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Copic Multiliner Plus is Copic's refillable pigment fineliner, on general sale in Japan since July 17, 2026 and sold as Multiliner+ sets in the US. Ink cartridges and nibs are replaceable, the ink resists water and alcohol markers, and black comes in 10 widths from 0.03 mm to brush. It replaces the disposable Multiliner in Japan.

On this page10 sections
Copic Multiliner Plus drawn in proportion with its cap off and its ink cartridge pulled out of the back, and an inset of the replaceable nib
The Multiliner Plus takes a new nib and a new ink cartridge (drawn in proportion; Copic publishes no length).

Product facts

Product
Copic Multiliner Plus (Multiliner+) refillable drawing pen
Brand
Copic
Brand origin
Japan
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Plastic barrel and cap, replaceable fiber nib, replaceable ink cartridge (fiber reservoir), water-based pigment ink
Released
July 2026*
Price range
$$$5–20 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count)
Ink colors

Black

Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by Too Marker Products Inc. (Tokyo); sold in the US by Too Corporation Americas. Country of manufacture not stated: Copic's Japanese and English product pages, its July 2026 press release and the US store listings we read on October 23, 2026 don't state a country of manufacture. The older Multiliner is listed as made in Japan by a German retailer, but we don't carry that over to a new pen. Price: example listing. Released: Pre-sold at Bungu Joshi Haku Tokyo in June 2026 and in Copic's Tools stores from July 11, 2026; general sale in Japan began July 17, 2026 (Too Marker Products press release). Copic's US store listed sets from October 7, 2026.
  • Colors: names per Copic Japan, checked October 24, 2026. Eight standard colors plus turquoise, a limited launch color, per Copic Japan; color names as in Copic's color list. Tints were sampled from Copic's product photos. Tints are representative, not measured. Shops stock different colors.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • Copic Japan lists the Multiliner Plus at ¥297 (about US$1.90) with tax; a 2-pack of ink cartridges is ¥396 (about US$2.50) and 2 spare nibs are ¥220 (about US$1.40).
  • Black comes in 10 widths, 0.03, 0.05, 0.1, 0.3, 0.5, 0.8, 1.0, 2.0 and 4.0 mm plus brush; the 8 other colors come in 5 widths, 0.03 to 0.5 mm.
  • Copic says nib wear resistance is 70% better and writing distance 50% longer than the old Multiliner (tested at 2.0 mm).
  • Copic Japan stops shipping the disposable Multiliner in Japan at the end of October 2026 and names the Plus as the pen to use instead.
  • Copic's US store added Multiliner+ sets on October 7, 2026; we found no Amazon US listing yet.

What is the Copic Multiliner Plus?

It’s Copic’s refillable pigment drawing pen, launched in Japan in July 2026 as the successor to the disposable Copic Multiliner. Copic’s Japanese page sums it up as the same drawing feel, now with replaceable ink.

Too Marker Products, the Tokyo company that makes Copic, pre-sold the pen at the Bungu Joshi Haku Tokyo fair in June 2026 and put it on general sale on July 17, 2026. On October 15, 2026 Copic Japan announced that shipments of the old Copic Multiliner end in Japan at the end of October 2026, and named the Plus as the pen for the same jobs.

Copic Multiliner Plus specs

Copic Japan lists one pen at ¥297 (about US$1.90) with tax, with water-based pigment ink that resists water and alcohol.

Spec Copic Multiliner Plus
Ink Water-based pigment, waterproof and alcohol-resistant, acid-free
Black widths 0.03, 0.05, 0.1, 0.3, 0.5, 0.8, 1.0, 2.0, 4.0 mm, brush
Color widths 0.03, 0.05, 0.1, 0.3, 0.5 mm
Colors 8 standard + limited turquoise
Refills Ink cartridges for every color, 2 per pack
Nibs Spare nibs, 2 per pack, fit every color
Japan price ¥297 (about US$1.90) per pen
Length Not published

Copic says the 0.8 mm has no release date yet. It also says the ink resists erasers better and meets US safety standards. Copic doesn’t publish the pen’s length or weight.

The ten black Copic Multiliner Plus widths, 0.03 mm to 4.0 mm plus brush, drawn to scale at 1 mm = 20 px
Black comes in all ten; the colors stop at 0.5 mm.

How do you refill a Multiliner Plus?

You pull the nib out, pull the old cartridge out of the back, and push a new cartridge in until it clicks. Copic sells a ¥286 (about US$1.80) “changer” tool for this, and says a coin works for the rear plug.

The cartridge is the rear plug plus its fiber reservoir, so you throw away the old pair and fit the new one. To change a worn nib, pull it out and push a new one in, then rest the pen tip-down for a few minutes so ink reaches it.

Copic asks you to use a nib of the same width as the original, because a different size may not get a steady flow from the reservoir. So a 0.3 mm pen stays a 0.3 mm pen.

How is it different from the old Multiliner?

The Plus adds refills, a tougher nib and more ink, and reshuffles the colors. Copic says nib wear resistance is up 70% on average and writing distance 50% longer, tested at 2.0 mm.

Multiliner Plus Multiliner Multiliner SP
Refillable Yes, cartridge and nib No Yes, cartridge and nib
Body Plastic Plastic Aluminum
Colors 9 (one limited) 10 Black
Black widths 10 7, plus brush and calligraphy types 10
Japan price ¥297 (about US$1.90) ¥242 (about US$1.50) ¥594 (about US$3.80)
Status in Japan Current Shipments end October 2026 Sold while stocks last

Copic says the colors look almost the same, but it renamed olive to forest and changed brown to set it further apart from sepia. Pink and lavender from the old range aren’t in the Plus lineup.

Which colors and sets can you buy?

In Japan, single pens plus 5-pen and 8-pen sets; in the US, sets only. Copic Japan lists black fine and bold 5-pen sets and a 5-pen set per color at ¥1,485 (about US$9.40), and 8-color sets in 0.1 or 0.3 mm at ¥2,376 (about US$15).

Copic’s US store, run by Too Corporation Americas, added Multiliner+ sets on October 7, 2026. On October 23, 2026 it listed the Black 5PC Fine set (0.03 to 0.5 mm) at US$24.99 and 3-pen black sets at US$14.99, about US$5 a pen, which puts it in our $$ band ($5–20). We found no single pens or Amazon US listing yet.

Should you buy the Multiliner Plus or another fineliner?

Buy the Plus if you color with Copic markers and want to refill rather than bin pens; otherwise a disposable pigment liner still costs less per pen in the US. The old Multiliner had about 8,900 ratings on its 9-pen Amazon set, so leftover stock will stay easy to find for a while.

The Sakura Pigma Micron is the common US alternative, and the Kuretake ZIG Mangaka adds a flexible tip. Our best fineliners roundup compares more.

Where is the Multiliner Plus made?

Copic doesn’t say. None of Copic’s Japanese, English or US pages, nor its July 2026 press release, states a country of manufacture, so check the package. Copic is a Japanese brand made by Too Marker Products in Tokyo.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Copic Multiliner Plus refillable?

Yes. You pull out the old ink cartridge from the back and push in a new one, and the nib can be swapped too. Copic sells cartridges for every color, two to a pack.

Is the Copic Multiliner being discontinued?

In Japan, yes. Copic Japan said on October 15, 2026 that it ends domestic shipments of the Multiliner at the end of October 2026, with shops selling remaining stock, and points buyers to the Multiliner Plus.

Can I put a different size nib in a Multiliner Plus?

Copic advises against it. It says to replace a nib with the same width, because a different size may not get a steady ink supply from the reservoir.

Do Copic markers smear Multiliner Plus lines?

Copic says no: the pigment ink is alcohol-resistant so Copic alcohol markers don't make it bleed, and it's waterproof once dry. Let the ink dry before coloring.

What colors does the Multiliner Plus come in?

Black, cool gray, warm gray, sepia, brown, wine, cobalt and forest, plus turquoise as a limited launch color. Forest is the old olive renamed, and brown was retuned.

Where can I buy the Copic Multiliner Plus in the US?

Copic's US online store, run by Too Corporation Americas, sells Multiliner+ sets of 3, 5 and 8 pens. When we checked on October 23, 2026, we found no Amazon US listing.

Is the Multiliner Plus the same as the Multiliner SP?

No. The SP is Copic's older refillable pen with an aluminum body, black only. The Plus has a plastic body like the standard Multiliner, comes in 9 colors and costs about half as much in Japan.

Sources (7)

  1. コピック マルチライナープラス (Copic Japan product page: ¥297; water-based pigment ink, water- and alcohol-resistant, acid-free; 8 colors plus limited turquoise; widths per color; sets, cartridges, spare nibs, changer; 70% nib durability, 50% writing distance; FAQ on nib sizes and colors)
  2. Copic Multiliner Plus (Copic English page: refillable, replaceable nibs, meets US safety standards, release dates vary by region)
  3. コピック マルチライナー各種 出荷終了のお知らせ (Copic Japan, October 15, 2026: Multiliner shipments in Japan end at the end of October 2026; the Multiliner Plus, sold since July 2026, is suggested instead)
  4. PR TIMES: 【新製品】ペン先・インク交換対応の「コピック マルチライナープラス」を7月17日(金)より一般発売 (Too Marker Products press release: general sale from July 17, 2026; Tools stores from July 11; pre-sale at Bungu Joshi Haku Tokyo 2026)
  5. Copic US store: COPIC Multiliner+ Black 5PC Fine Set (CMMP34STBF; UPC 4511338065594; Too Corporation Americas; read October 23, 2026)
  6. Copic US store: COPIC Multiliner+ Black 3PC 0.3mm Set (CMMP35ST30; UPC 4511338066362)
  7. コピックマルチライナーSP (Copic Japan: refillable aluminum pen, black only, ¥594, sold while stocks last)

Plain-text version for AI agents: copic-multiliner-plus.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.