Compiled from 28 sources; we haven't tested these products ourselves yet. How we research
Quick answer
Japan-only pens are models their makers sell in Japan but not through their US companies. Our picks: the Pilot Juice Up, Zebra Sarasa Nano, Sakura Ballsign iD Single, Pentel EnerGel Infree and Calme, uni Style Fit, Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto and OHTO GS01. US buyers get them from importers such as Yoseka Stationery, Tokyo Pen Shop and JetPens.
On this page9 sections
Eight pens to import, lengths drawn to one scale from the makers' and retailers' figures.
Pilot Juice Up retractable gel pen (0.3, 0.4 and 0.5 mm; LJP-20S4): Made by Pilot Corporation (Japan). Made in Japan: per importer Simple Paper's listing (Origin: Japan). Pilot's Japanese web catalog doesn't state the country of manufacture in the pages we found. Source. Price: example listing. Released: Japanese launch of the 0.3 and 0.4 mm, per Pilot's press release of August 9, 2016. Pilot doesn't sell the Juice Up under its own US brand; it reaches the US through importers.
Zebra Sarasa Nano gel pen (0.3 and 0.38 mm; JJH72, JJX72): Made by Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Country of manufacture not stated: Zebra's Japanese product page gives size, weight and refills but not the country of manufacture, and we found no retailer page that states it. Price: example listing.
Sakura Ballsign iD Single gel pen (0.3, 0.4 and 0.5 mm; GBR403): Made by Sakura Color Products Corporation (Osaka); sold in the US by Sakura of America. Country of manufacture not stated: Sakura Japan's product page and its two 2026 press releases give size, weight, materials and JAN but no country of manufacture. Price: example listing. Released: Bic Camera lists the maker's release as late October 2025; Sakura's own pages we read don't date the launch.
Pentel EnerGel Infree gel pen (0.4 and 0.5 mm needle tip, 0.7 mm; BLN75TL): Made by Pentel Co., Ltd. (Japan). Made in Japan: Japanese retailer Maruzen Junkudo lists 原産国 日本 (country of origin: Japan) for the 0.5 mm black (BLN75TL-A). Pentel's Japanese product page doesn't state it. Source. Price: example listing.
Pentel Calme quiet-click ballpoint (0.35, 0.5 and 0.7 mm; BXA105): Made by Pentel Co., Ltd. (Japan). Country of manufacture not stated: Pentel's Japanese product page and the importer listings we read on October 26, 2026 don't state a country of manufacture. Price: example listing. Released: Japanese launch date reported by Impress Watch on October 8, 2021; Pentel added a 0.35 mm size later.
uni Style Fit build-your-own multi pen (3-color holder UE3H-208; 0.28, 0.38 and 0.5 mm gel refills): Made by Mitsubishi Pencil Co., Ltd.. Country of manufacture not stated: Mitsubishi Pencil's Japanese Style Fit pages, its January 2026 press release and the Monotaro listings we read don't state a country of manufacture. Check the packaging. Price: example listing. Released: Mitsubishi Pencil's January 15, 2026 press release says the Style Fit series has been sold since 2009; we found no exact launch date.
Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto build-your-own multi pen (4-color body LHKCG20C; 0.3, 0.4 and 0.5 mm refills): Made by Pilot Corporation (Japan). Country of manufacture not stated: Pilot's Japanese web catalog gives size, weight and materials for the Coleto bodies but not the country of manufacture. Price: example listing. Released: Pilot's own article on the Coleto dates its launch to 2005, with a 2-color body only.
OHTO GS01 aluminum needle-point ballpoint (0.7 mm; GS01-S7): Made by OHTO Co., Ltd. (Japan). Made in Japan: OHTO's Japanese product page for the GS01-B7 says MADE IN Japan; Modulor also lists the GS01 (sold there as Grand Standard) as made in Japan. Source. Price: example listing. Released: OHTO's Japanese news list: the GS01 was announced on January 5, 2021 and went on sale in early March 2021. In late October 2026 OHTO Japan released the GS01-B7 under a new code.
Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).
Key takeaways
On October 26, 2026, none of the eight was in its maker's US range: we checked uni's, Pilot's, Zebra's, Pentel's and Sakura's US sites, and found no OHTO US site.
Seven cost ¥440 (about US$2.80) or less in Japan; the aluminum OHTO GS01 lists at ¥1,000 (about US$6.30) before tax.
Several pens often called Japan-only are now sold by the makers' US arms: the uni Jetstream Edge, uni-ball One F, Kuru Toga Dive, Zebra Sarasa Mark On and Pentel Orenz Nero.
The uni-ball ZENTO isn't Japan-only: Mitsubishi Pencil says it debuted in North America before its February 3, 2025 Japanese launch, though uni's US store doesn't list the metal ZENTO Signature.
Five picks sit in our $ band (under $5) at US importers; the two multi pens, filled, and the OHTO GS01 are $$ ($5–20).
Which Japanese pens are hard to find in the US?
The eight below are sold in Japan but not by their makers’ US companies, so you buy them from importers. We checked each maker’s US site on October 26, 2026; none listed these models.
Best overall:Pilot Juice Up. Why it’s here: Pilot’s Synergy Tip mixes a needle point with a cone tip, and the pigment gel writes dark and fine in 0.3, 0.4 and 0.5 mm. Pilot’s US catalog has no Juice line at all.
Finest gel:Zebra Sarasa Nano. Why it’s here: a 0.3 or 0.38 mm Sarasa whose refill rides on a spring, which Zebra says softens the scratch of a fine tip. Zebra’s US store sells the Sarasa Clip, not the Nano.
For black-ink fans:Sakura Ballsign iD Single. Why it’s here: six shades of black, from Pure Black to Pencil Black, in 0.3, 0.4 and 0.5 mm, and a 2026 Japan Stationery Award design prize.
Colorful quick-dry: Pentel EnerGel Infree. Why it’s here: Pentel’s quick-drying EnerGel gel ink in a clear body and ten colors such as Rough Gray, Burgundy and Turquoise Blue; 0.4 and 0.5 mm needle tips and 0.7 mm.
Quiet click: Pentel Calme. Why it’s here: Pentel says its knock is 66% quieter than its earlier pens; an oil-based ballpoint in 0.35, 0.5 and 0.7 mm with a long, leather-look grip.
Build your own:uni Style Fit. Why it’s here: 3-, 4- and 5-color holders filled with uni-ball Signo gel refills in 0.28, 0.38 and 0.5 mm, plus Jetstream and pencil units.
Fine multi pen:Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto. Why it’s here: Hi-Tec-C needle-tip refills in 0.3, 0.4 and 0.5 mm, 33 gel colors, in 2- to 5-slot bodies.
Metal pen:OHTO GS01. Why it’s here: a made-in-Japan aluminum body with a 0.7 mm needle-point ballpoint refill that takes Parker-style refills.
How did we choose these picks?
We compiled them from published sources, not hands-on testing: each maker’s Japanese page for the current model and price, each maker’s US site to confirm it’s absent, and US importer listings. We left out pens the makers now sell in the US, and pens already in our best Japanese pens list.
How do the picks compare?
Seven are everyday pens under ¥500 (about US$3.20) in Japan; the GS01 is the one metal pen.
Pick
Type
Tip sizes
Japan list price
Band
Pilot Juice Up
Gel
0.3, 0.4, 0.5 mm
¥275 (about US$1.70)
$
Zebra Sarasa Nano
Gel
0.3, 0.38 mm
¥220 (about US$1.40)
$
Sakura Ballsign iD Single
Gel
0.3, 0.4, 0.5 mm
¥440 (about US$2.80)
$
Pentel EnerGel Infree
Gel
0.4, 0.5, 0.7 mm
¥275 (about US$1.70)
$
Pentel Calme
Oil-based ballpoint
0.35, 0.5, 0.7 mm
¥198 (about US$1.30); some colors ¥165 (about US$1.00)
$
uni Style Fit
Multi pen (gel)
0.28, 0.38, 0.5 mm
Holder from ¥220 (about US$1.40), refills ¥110 (about US$0.70)
$$
Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto
Multi pen (gel)
0.3, 0.4, 0.5 mm
4-color body ¥220 (about US$1.40)
$$
OHTO GS01
Metal ballpoint
0.7 mm
¥1,000 (about US$6.30) before tax
$$
Japanese prices include tax unless noted, from the makers’ pages read October 26, 2026. Bands are typical US importer prices per pen; the multi pens are banded filled.
What about the uni-ball ZENTO Signature?
ZENTO isn’t a Japan-only line: Mitsubishi Pencil’s January 2025 release says it debuted in North America before going on sale in Japan on February 3, 2025. uni’s US store has sold ZENTO refills since 2024 and now lists the ZENTO, the ZENTO Standard multi pen and the ZENTO Flow.
What the US store didn’t list on October 26, 2026 was the metal, magnetic-cap uni-ball ZENTO Signature, Japan’s top model at ¥3,300 (about US$21). So the Signature is an import, but the line isn’t Japan-only.
Which “Japan-only” pens are now sold in the US?
Several pens that once needed an importer are now in the makers’ US stores. On October 26, 2026, uni’s US store listed the uni Jetstream Edge in 0.28 and 0.38 mm, the uni-ball One F and One P, and the Kuru Toga Dive pencil.
Zebra’s US store sold the Sarasa Mark ON and Pentel of America the Orenz Nero. Zebra’s US bLen is a 0.7 mm gel pen, though; the Japanese bLen is a ballpoint that still comes from importers.
How do you buy Japan-only pens from the US?
Order from a US importer that stocks Japanese-market pens; every pick here was listed by Yoseka Stationery in Brooklyn on October 26, 2026. Tokyo Pen Shop in Iowa carried the Calme and Ballsign iD too, and JetPens stocks many of them; refills are sold separately.
Expect to pay more than in Japan: in our US vs Japan price index, US gel pens cost a median 1.46 times their Japanese list price, and Amazon import sellers came closest to Japanese prices.
If you travel, Japan’s tax-free shopping becomes a refund from November 1, 2026: you pay the tax in the shop and claim it back after a customs check when you leave, per the Japan Tourism Agency.
Frequently asked questions
What pens are only sold in Japan?
Many Japanese models never join their makers' US ranges. On October 26, 2026 these eight were missing from the US sites we checked: Pilot Juice Up and Hi-Tec-C Coleto, Zebra Sarasa Nano, Sakura Ballsign iD Single, Pentel EnerGel Infree and Calme, uni Style Fit and OHTO GS01. Importers still sell them.
Why are some Japanese pens not sold in the US?
Each maker's US company chooses its own, smaller range: Pilot's US catalog centers on the G2, Dr. Grip, Precise, Acroball and FriXion, and Zebra's US store on the Sarasa Clip, F-301 and Mildliner. The makers don't publish why a model stays in Japan.
Where can I buy Japanese pens in the US?
From importers: Yoseka Stationery in Brooklyn, Tokyo Pen Shop in Iowa and JetPens sell Japanese-market pens online, and Japanese sellers list many on Amazon.com. Our price index found Amazon import sellers came closest to Japanese prices.
Is the uni-ball ZENTO a Japan-only pen?
No. Mitsubishi Pencil says ZENTO debuted in North America before its Japanese launch on February 3, 2025, and uni's US store sells the ZENTO, ZENTO Standard multi pen and ZENTO Flow. Only the metal ZENTO Signature was missing from it on October 26, 2026.
Is the Jetstream Edge sold in the US?
Yes. On October 26, 2026, uni's own US store listed the uniball JETSTREAM Edge in 0.28 mm with a black body and 0.38 mm in Prussian Blue, so it is no longer an import-only pen.
Are Japan-only pens more expensive in the US?
Usually. In our October 2026 index of 60 Japanese items, gel pens cost a median 1.46 times their Japanese list price in the US. Japan-only pens add an importer's margin, though most picks here still sit under $5.
Can I buy Japanese pens tax-free in Japan?
Visitors can, at tax-free shops. From November 1, 2026, you pay the consumption tax in the shop and get it refunded after a customs check when you leave, on purchases of 5,000 yen or more before tax per store per day, per the Japan Tourism Agency.