Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Sheaffer 100: Metal Fountain Pen and Coffee Edition

Compiled from 3 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Sheaffer 100 is Sheaffer's affordable metal fountain pen: a slim lacquered body with a snap cap, a stainless steel nib in fine or medium, and proprietary Sheaffer cartridges or a converter. Goulet measures 138.4 mm capped and 29 g. The matte brown Coffee Edition, with a cup-and-heart insignia on the cap, is its current best seller.

On this page10 sections
Sheaffer 100 Coffee Edition fountain pen in matte brown with brown PVD trim, cap posted, drawn to scale at 150.4 mm
The Sheaffer 100 Coffee Edition posted, at Goulet's 150.4 mm, drawn at 1 mm = 5 px.

Product facts

Product
Sheaffer 100 fountain pen
Brand
Sheaffer
Brand origin
United States
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Lacquered metal body, PVD or plated trim, stainless steel nib (Sheaffer catalog, Goulet)
Price range
$$$$20–75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count)
Colors

Pearlised gradient with chrome trim9376

Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Country of manufacture not stated: Sheaffer's 2025–26 catalog and Goulet's listing don't state where the Sheaffer 100 is made, and we found no maker statement. Check the box or the barrel imprint. Price: example listing.
  • Colors: names per Sheaffer 2025–26 catalog, checked October 24, 2026. The 13 Sheaffer 100 finishes in Sheaffer's 2025–26 catalog, named as the catalog describes them, with Sheaffer's finish numbers; each comes with a fine or medium stainless steel nib. Goulet Pens sells the Coffee Edition (9374) as a limited edition. Tints were sampled from the catalog's product photos, with hand-picked values for glossy and metal finishes; the second tint shows a contrasting cap or grip. Tints are representative, not measured. Shops stock different colors.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026.

Key takeaways

  • Goulet measures the Sheaffer 100 at 138.4 mm (5.45 in) capped, 150.4 mm (5.92 in) posted and 29 g.
  • On October 22, 2026 the Coffee Edition was 12th on Goulet's best-seller list, with 52 reviews averaging 4.69 out of 5.
  • Sheaffer's 2025–26 catalog lists 13 Sheaffer 100 finishes, each with a fine or medium stainless steel nib.
  • It takes proprietary Sheaffer cartridges; Goulet measures 1.49 ml in a cartridge and 0.99 ml in the included converter.
  • Sheaffer's catalog says the company was founded in 1913 by Walter A. Sheaffer, a jeweler in Fort Madison, Iowa.

What is the Sheaffer 100?

It’s Sheaffer’s entry-level metal fountain pen: slim, lacquered, with a snap cap and a steel nib. Sheaffer’s catalog calls it an affordable way to take writing “up a notch”, with a modern design and balanced feel.

The current hit is the Coffee Edition. On October 22, 2026 it was 12th on Goulet Pens’ best-seller list, where 52 buyers had rated it 4.69 out of 5.

Sheaffer 100 specs

Spec Sheaffer 100
Length capped 138.4 mm (5.45 in)
Length posted 150.4 mm (5.92 in)
Body length (with nib) 119.2 mm (4.69 in)
Diameter 10.8 mm body, 12.6 mm cap, 16.2 mm with clip
Grip 9.5 mm, metal
Weight 29 g (18 g body, 11 g cap)
Nib Stainless steel, fine or medium
Filling Proprietary Sheaffer cartridge or converter
Ink capacity 1.49 ml cartridge, 0.99 ml converter
Cap Snap-on, posts

Measurements are Goulet’s, taken on the Coffee Edition. Finishes, item codes and nib sizes come from Sheaffer’s 2025–26 catalog.

Sheaffer 100 drawn to scale: 138.4 mm capped, 119.2 mm uncapped and 150.4 mm posted, 29 g
Posting the cap adds about 31 mm to the body, per Goulet's measurements.

What is the Sheaffer 100 Coffee Edition?

A matte coffee-brown version with brown PVD trim and a coffee cup on the cap. Sheaffer’s catalog describes a dark coffee brown gradient in a matte texture, regal brown PVD accents and nib, and a cup-and-heart insignia on top of the cap.

The catalog lists it among Sheaffer’s new editions, as a fountain pen (E0937443 fine, E0937453 medium), a rollerball and a ballpoint. Goulet sells it as a limited edition and says it comes in a gift box with a Sheaffer converter and cartridges.

Which Sheaffer 100 finish should you choose?

The finishes differ only in color and trim; the pen is the same. Sheaffer’s 2025–26 catalog lists 13, including:

  • New: Coffee Edition (matte brown, regal brown PVD), dark gunmetal lacquer with PVD gunmetal trim, and a pearlised gradient with chrome.
  • Gold-toned: coffee brown lacquer with PVD gold trim, glossy PVD gold, glossy black with gold-tone trim, and bright chrome with gold-tone trim.
  • Chrome-trimmed: glossy black, matte black, glossy blue and brushed chrome, among others.

The regular coffee brown with gold trim (9370) is a different, glossier pen from the matte Coffee Edition (9374).

What ink does the Sheaffer 100 use?

Sheaffer’s own cartridges, or bottled ink through the Sheaffer converter. Goulet lists the cartridges as proprietary, so standard international cartridges won’t fit; it measures 1.49 ml in a cartridge and 0.99 ml in the converter.

That’s less than the 1.76 ml a piston-filling TWSBI ECO holds. Our fountain pen filling guide explains proprietary and standard cartridges.

How does the Sheaffer 100 compare with the Pilot Metropolitan?

They are close in size and price; the Sheaffer is slimmer and slightly heavier. Figures for the Metropolitan come from our guide.

Sheaffer 100 Pilot Metropolitan
Body Lacquered metal Brass
Length capped / posted 138.4 / 150.4 mm 138 / 153 mm
Weight 29 g 26.0 g
Body diameter 10.8 mm 13 mm
Nibs F, M F, M, 1.0 stub
Cartridges Sheaffer Pilot

For more pens at this price, see our best fountain pens for beginners, and for Sheaffer’s history, the vintage fountain pens guide covers the Balance and Snorkel.

Where is the Sheaffer 100 made?

Sheaffer doesn’t say in the sources we read. Sheaffer’s catalog says the company was founded in 1913 by Walter A. Sheaffer, a jeweler in Fort Madison, Iowa, but neither the catalog nor Goulet names the country where the 100 is made today, so check the packaging.

Frequently asked questions

What cartridges does the Sheaffer 100 take?

Sheaffer's own proprietary cartridges, not standard international ones, per Goulet. A Sheaffer converter comes in the gift box for bottled ink.

Is the Sheaffer 100 Coffee Edition a limited edition?

Goulet sells it as a limited edition; Sheaffer's 2025–26 catalog lists it among its new editions, with matching rollerball and ballpoint versions.

Is the Sheaffer 100 heavy?

Moderately: Goulet measures 29 g, 18 g of it in the metal body, which is a little heavier than a Pilot Metropolitan.

What nib sizes does the Sheaffer 100 come in?

Fine and medium stainless steel. On the Coffee Edition the nib has a regal brown PVD finish to match the trim.

Does the Sheaffer 100 cap post?

Yes. Goulet says the snap cap posts securely, making the pen 150.4 mm long.

What warranty does a Sheaffer pen have?

Sheaffer's catalog describes a two-year international warranty against manufacturing defects; claims start with an online warranty form on Sheaffer's website.

Is the Sheaffer 100 made in the USA?

Sheaffer began in Iowa, but the sources we read don't say where today's Sheaffer 100 is made, so check the packaging.

Sources (3)

  1. Sheaffer: The 2025–26 Collection catalog (Sheaffer 100 finishes and item codes; Coffee Edition; company history; warranty), hosted by a Polish distributor
  2. Goulet Pens: Sheaffer 100 Fountain Pen, Coffee Edition (Limited Edition) (technical specs, proprietary cartridges, 52 reviews; read October 22, 2026)
  3. Goulet Pens: Best sellers (Sheaffer 100 Coffee Edition 12th on October 22, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: sheaffer-100.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.