---
title: "Sheaffer 100: Metal Fountain Pen and Coffee Edition"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/sheaffer-100/"
description: "Sheaffer 100 fountain pen explained: lacquered metal body, snap cap, steel F or M nib, 138 mm, 29 g, Sheaffer cartridges, finishes and the brown Coffee Edition."
category: "Pens"
type: "Fountain pen"
published: 2026-10-22
updated: 2026-10-24
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 3
products:
  - name: "Sheaffer 100 fountain pen"
    brand: "Sheaffer"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Lacquered metal body, PVD or plated trim, stainless steel nib (Sheaffer catalog, Goulet)"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    model: "Sheaffer 100"
---

# Sheaffer 100: Metal Fountain Pen and Coffee Edition

> The Sheaffer 100 is Sheaffer's affordable metal fountain pen: a slim lacquered body with a snap cap, a stainless steel nib in fine or medium, and proprietary Sheaffer cartridges or a converter. Goulet measures 138.4 mm capped and 29 g. The matte brown Coffee Edition, with a cup-and-heart insignia on the cap, is its current best seller.

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/sheaffer-100/
- Category: Pens
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-22
- Updated: 2026-10-24

![Sheaffer 100 Coffee Edition fountain pen in matte brown with brown PVD trim, cap posted, drawn to scale at 150.4 mm](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/sheaffer-100-16x9.png)

*The Sheaffer 100 Coffee Edition posted, at Goulet's 150.4 mm, drawn at 1 mm = 5 px.* Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/sheaffer-100-cover.svg>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sheaffer 100 fountain pen | Sheaffer | United States | Not stated | Lacquered metal body, PVD or plated trim, stainless steel nib (Sheaffer catalog, Goulet) | – | $$$: $20–75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |

- Made in (Sheaffer 100 fountain pen): Not stated. Sheaffer's 2025–26 catalog and Goulet's listing don't state where the Sheaffer 100 is made, and we found no maker statement. Check the box or the barrel imprint.

### Sheaffer 100 fountain pen colors

- Body colors (12 standard, 1 special edition): Pearlised gradient with chrome trim (9376); Dark gunmetal lacquer with PVD gunmetal trim (9375); Matte brown lacquer with regal brown PVD trim (Coffee Edition) (special edition, matte, regal brown PVD nib, 9374); Coffee brown lacquer with PVD gold trim (9370); Glossy PVD gold with PVD gold trim (9372); Satin blue with lacquer PVD blue trim (satin, 9371); Glossy black lacquer with gold-tone trim (gloss, 9322); Glossy black lacquer with polished chrome plated trim (gloss, 9338); Bright chrome with polished gold tone trim (9340); Glossy blue lacquer with polished chrome plated trim (gloss, 9339); Matte black lacquer with chrome plated trim (matte, 9317); Brushed chrome with polished chrome trim (brushed, 9306); Glossy black lacquer with chrome top and polished chrome trim (gloss, 9313).
- Per Sheaffer 2025–26 catalog (https://www.kunszt.krakow.pl/katalogi_2026/Sheaffer_Catalog_-_2025-26.pdf), checked 2026-10-24. The 13 Sheaffer 100 finishes in Sheaffer's 2025–26 catalog, named as the catalog describes them, with Sheaffer's finish numbers; each comes with a fine or medium stainless steel nib. Goulet Pens sells the Coffee Edition (9374) as a limited edition. Tints were sampled from the catalog's product photos, with hand-picked values for glossy and metal finishes; the second tint shows a contrasting cap or grip. Shops stock different colors; check the listing.

## Key takeaways

- Goulet measures the Sheaffer 100 at 138.4 mm (5.45 in) capped, 150.4 mm (5.92 in) posted and 29 g.
- On October 22, 2026 the Coffee Edition was 12th on Goulet's best-seller list, with 52 reviews averaging 4.69 out of 5.
- Sheaffer's 2025–26 catalog lists 13 Sheaffer 100 finishes, each with a fine or medium stainless steel nib.
- It takes proprietary Sheaffer cartridges; Goulet measures 1.49 ml in a cartridge and 0.99 ml in the included converter.
- Sheaffer's catalog says the company was founded in 1913 by Walter A. Sheaffer, a jeweler in Fort Madison, Iowa.

## What is the Sheaffer 100?

**It's Sheaffer's entry-level metal fountain pen: slim, lacquered, with a snap cap and a steel nib.** Sheaffer's catalog calls it an affordable way to take writing "up a notch", with a modern design and balanced feel.

The current hit is the Coffee Edition. On October 22, 2026 it was 12th on Goulet Pens' best-seller list, where 52 buyers had rated it 4.69 out of 5.

## Sheaffer 100 specs

| Spec | Sheaffer 100 |
|---|---|
| Length capped | 138.4 mm (5.45 in) |
| Length posted | 150.4 mm (5.92 in) |
| Body length (with nib) | 119.2 mm (4.69 in) |
| Diameter | 10.8 mm body, 12.6 mm cap, 16.2 mm with clip |
| Grip | 9.5 mm, metal |
| Weight | 29 g (18 g body, 11 g cap) |
| Nib | Stainless steel, fine or medium |
| Filling | Proprietary Sheaffer cartridge or converter |
| Ink capacity | 1.49 ml cartridge, 0.99 ml converter |
| Cap | Snap-on, posts |

Measurements are Goulet's, taken on the Coffee Edition. Finishes, item codes and nib sizes come from Sheaffer's 2025–26 catalog.

![Sheaffer 100 drawn to scale: 138.4 mm capped, 119.2 mm uncapped and 150.4 mm posted, 29 g](https://stationerytimes.com/images/sheaffer-100-lengths.svg)

*Posting the cap adds about 31 mm to the body, per Goulet's measurements.*

## What is the Sheaffer 100 Coffee Edition?

**A matte coffee-brown version with brown PVD trim and a coffee cup on the cap.** Sheaffer's catalog describes a dark coffee brown gradient in a matte texture, regal brown PVD accents and nib, and a cup-and-heart insignia on top of the cap.

The catalog lists it among Sheaffer's new editions, as a fountain pen (E0937443 fine, E0937453 medium), a rollerball and a ballpoint. Goulet sells it as a limited edition and says it comes in a gift box with a Sheaffer converter and cartridges.


## Which Sheaffer 100 finish should you choose?

**The finishes differ only in color and trim; the pen is the same.** Sheaffer's 2025–26 catalog lists 13, including:

- **New:** Coffee Edition (matte brown, regal brown PVD), dark gunmetal lacquer with PVD gunmetal trim, and a pearlised gradient with chrome.
- **Gold-toned:** coffee brown lacquer with PVD gold trim, glossy PVD gold, glossy black with gold-tone trim, and bright chrome with gold-tone trim.
- **Chrome-trimmed:** glossy black, matte black, glossy blue and brushed chrome, among others.

The regular coffee brown with gold trim (9370) is a different, glossier pen from the matte Coffee Edition (9374).

## What ink does the Sheaffer 100 use?

**Sheaffer's own cartridges, or bottled ink through the Sheaffer converter.** Goulet lists the cartridges as proprietary, so standard international cartridges won't fit; it measures 1.49 ml in a cartridge and 0.99 ml in the converter.

That's less than the 1.76 ml a piston-filling TWSBI ECO holds. Our [fountain pen filling guide](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/how-to-fill-a-fountain-pen/) explains proprietary and standard cartridges.

## How does the Sheaffer 100 compare with the Pilot Metropolitan?

**They are close in size and price; the Sheaffer is slimmer and slightly heavier.** Figures for the Metropolitan come from our guide.

| | Sheaffer 100 | [Pilot Metropolitan](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/pilot-metropolitan/) |
|---|---|---|
| Body | Lacquered metal | Brass |
| Length capped / posted | 138.4 / 150.4 mm | 138 / 153 mm |
| Weight | 29 g | 26.0 g |
| Body diameter | 10.8 mm | 13 mm |
| Nibs | F, M | F, M, 1.0 stub |
| Cartridges | Sheaffer | Pilot |

For more pens at this price, see our [best fountain pens for beginners](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-fountain-pens-for-beginners/), and for Sheaffer's history, the [vintage fountain pens](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/vintage-fountain-pens/) guide covers the Balance and Snorkel.

## Where is the Sheaffer 100 made?

**Sheaffer doesn't say in the sources we read.** Sheaffer's catalog says the company was founded in 1913 by Walter A. Sheaffer, a jeweler in Fort Madison, Iowa, but neither the catalog nor Goulet names the country where the 100 is made today, so check the packaging.

## Frequently asked questions

### What cartridges does the Sheaffer 100 take?

Sheaffer's own proprietary cartridges, not standard international ones, per Goulet. A Sheaffer converter comes in the gift box for bottled ink.

### Is the Sheaffer 100 Coffee Edition a limited edition?

Goulet sells it as a limited edition; Sheaffer's 2025–26 catalog lists it among its new editions, with matching rollerball and ballpoint versions.

### Is the Sheaffer 100 heavy?

Moderately: Goulet measures 29 g, 18 g of it in the metal body, which is a little heavier than a Pilot Metropolitan.

### What nib sizes does the Sheaffer 100 come in?

Fine and medium stainless steel. On the Coffee Edition the nib has a regal brown PVD finish to match the trim.

### Does the Sheaffer 100 cap post?

Yes. Goulet says the snap cap posts securely, making the pen 150.4 mm long.

### What warranty does a Sheaffer pen have?

Sheaffer's catalog describes a two-year international warranty against manufacturing defects; claims start with an online warranty form on Sheaffer's website.

### Is the Sheaffer 100 made in the USA?

Sheaffer began in Iowa, but the sources we read don't say where today's Sheaffer 100 is made, so check the packaging.

## Sources

- [Sheaffer: The 2025–26 Collection catalog (Sheaffer 100 finishes and item codes; Coffee Edition; company history; warranty), hosted by a Polish distributor](https://www.kunszt.krakow.pl/katalogi_2026/Sheaffer_Catalog_-_2025-26.pdf)
- [Goulet Pens: Sheaffer 100 Fountain Pen, Coffee Edition (Limited Edition) (technical specs, proprietary cartridges, 52 reviews; read October 22, 2026)](https://www.gouletpens.com/products/sheaffer-100-fountain-pen-coffee-edition)
- [Goulet Pens: Best sellers (Sheaffer 100 Coffee Edition 12th on October 22, 2026)](https://www.gouletpens.com/collections/best-sellers)
