Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Brand: Sakura

Sakura Pen-Touch: Opaque Paint Marker, 3 Tip Sizes

Compiled from 2 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Sakura Pen-Touch is an opaque paint marker that writes on cardstock, plastic, wood, glass, porcelain, paper and metal. Blick lists three tips: extra fine 0.7 mm, fine 1.0 mm and medium 2.0 mm. Sakura calls the paint archival quality, waterproof and fade resistant, but not permanent on glass or ceramics. Most single markers were US$4.37 at Blick.

On this page12 sections
Three gold paint lines drawn at the Pen-Touch tip widths of 0.7, 1.0 and 2.0 mm
The three Pen-Touch tips as gold lines (drawn at 1 mm = 10 px). Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

Product facts

Product
Sakura Pen-Touch paint marker (extra fine, fine, medium)
Brand
Sakura
Brand origin
Japan
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Opaque and metallic paint ink, low odor and xylene free (Sakura of America)
Good for
Price range
$under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count)
Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by Sakura Color Products Corporation (Osaka); sold in the US by Sakura of America. Country of manufacture not stated: Sakura of America's Pen-Touch page (read November 2, 2026) and Blick's listing give no country of manufacture, so check the package. Sakura Color Products is an Osaka company; its Japanese site did not connect from our network on November 2, 2026. Price: example listing.
  • How we test and disclose samples: How we test stationery.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • Blick lists three tip sizes: extra fine 0.7 mm, fine 1.0 mm and medium 2.0 mm.
  • Sakura says the paint is archival quality, chemically stable, waterproof and fade resistant, and permanent on most surfaces but not on glass or ceramics.
  • Sakura lists 7 surfaces, from cardstock and paper to glass, porcelain, wood, plastic and metal, and says to shake the marker with the cap on and press the tip once to start the paint.
  • The paint is low odor and xylene free, and the marker meets the ASTM and ACMI non-toxicity standards, per Sakura.
  • Most single Pen-Touch markers were US$4.37 at Blick on November 2, 2026, in our $ band.

What is the Sakura Pen-Touch?

It is a paint marker for bold, opaque marks. Sakura of America describes it as making bold marks in shiny metallics and bright colors on crafts: holiday ornaments, cards, invitations, or a note on a wine bottle. It writes on cardstock, plastic, wood, glass, porcelain, paper and metal, in opaque and metallic colors.

We read Sakura’s page and Blick’s listing on November 2, 2026. Our best paint markers roundup covers the wider field.

What are the specs?

Three tip sizes and a paint chamber are what the sources state.

Spec Value (Sakura of America, Blick)
Tips Extra fine 0.7 mm, fine 1.0 mm, medium 2.0 mm (Blick)
Paint Opaque and metallic; archival quality, waterproof, fade resistant
Surfaces Cardstock, plastic, wood, glass, porcelain, paper, metal; best on non-absorbent surfaces
Permanence Permanent on most surfaces; not permanent on glass or ceramics
Formula Low odor, xylene free; ASTM and ACMI non-toxicity
Price US$4.37 for most singles (Blick, November 2, 2026)

Not stated: marker length, paint volume, drying time, country of manufacture.

How do you get the paint flowing?

Shake it, then press the tip once. Sakura says to shake the marker with the cap on to mix the color, and before use to depress the tip in an upright position to release any internal pressure. The paint then flows from the chamber directly to the tip.

Who is the Pen-Touch for?

It suits people who add bright or metallic marks to journals, cards and crafts.

  • Journaling and planning: Sakura lists scrapbooks and journals among its uses, with opaque and metallic paint in 0.7, 1.0 and 2.0 mm tips.

Skip it for long writing or for glass and ceramics you need to last: Sakura says the paint is not permanent on them.

Which colors and sets are there?

Metallic, classic, fluorescent and ultraviolet. Blick lists single markers in gold, silver, copper, black, white, fluorescent yellow, orange, red and pink, and ultraviolet, which glows under a black light. Its sets include three metallics (copper, gold, silver), four fluorescents, three ultraviolets in different tips, and a set of seven in fine tips: black, blue, green, purple, red, white and yellow. The fluorescent sets carry maker color numbers 302, 305, 319 and 320.

What is the paint good for?

It covers surfaces ordinary pens skip. Sakura calls the paint archival quality, chemically stable, waterproof and fade resistant, and says it shows best on non-absorbent surfaces such as coated paper.

It lists signs and posters, invitations and cards, and borders on card edges, and adds industrial marking of parts, pipes, tubing, sheet metal and wiring.

What are its limits?

Glass, ceramics and washed fabric. Sakura says the paint is not permanent on glass or ceramics, and not recommended for fabrics intended to be washed or evaluated for cosmetic use on skin. It also gives no drying time. For a fine 0.25 to 0.45 mm dye line instead, see the Sakura MicroPerm.

Are sets cheaper than single markers?

Yes, per marker. On November 2, 2026 Blick listed a set of three metallics at US$10.77 and a set of four fluorescents at US$14.36, both about US$3.59 a marker, against US$4.37 for most singles.

The set of five assorted medium markers was US$10.72 (about US$2.14 each) and the set of seven fine markers US$15.76 (about US$2.25 each). A few medium singles were lower at US$2.96 and US$3.38. Check which tip a set holds before you buy.

Where is it made, and what does it cost?

Sakura doesn’t say where it is made. Neither Sakura of America’s page nor Blick’s listing names a country.

Most single markers were US$4.37 at Blick on November 2, 2026, in our $ band (under $5); sets cost more. Prices change; check the listing.

Frequently asked questions

What tip sizes does the Pen-Touch have?

Blick lists extra fine at 0.7 mm, fine at 1.0 mm and medium at 2.0 mm.

Can you write on glass with it?

Yes, Sakura lists glass among the surfaces, but it also says the paint is not permanent on glass or ceramics.

Is the paint waterproof and fade resistant?

Sakura calls it archival quality: chemically stable, waterproof and fade resistant. Blick adds that this applies to most colors.

How do you start the paint flowing?

Shake it with the cap on to mix the color, then press the tip down in an upright position to release pressure, per Sakura.

Which surface does it show best on?

Sakura says it shows best on non-absorbent surfaces such as coated paper.

What colors does it come in?

Blick lists gold, silver, copper, black, white, four fluorescents and an ultraviolet ink, plus sets that add blue, green, purple, red and yellow.

Is it only a craft marker?

No. Sakura also lists industrial uses such as marking and identifying parts, pipes and tubing, sheet metal and wiring.

Where is the Sakura Pen-Touch made?

Sakura doesn't say. The brand is Japanese and the US distributor is Sakura of America; check the package for a country.

Sources (2)

  1. Sakura of America: Pen-Touch (surfaces, shake and press, archival paint, permanence limits, low odor, xylene free, ASTM and ACMI, uses; read November 2, 2026)
  2. Blick Art Materials: Sakura PenTouch Paint Markers and Sets (tip sizes 0.7, 1.0 and 2.0 mm, color names, set contents, prices; read November 2, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: sakura-pen-touch-paint-marker.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.