Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Brand: Namiki

Namiki Yukari Royale Collection: 6 Raised Maki-e Pens

Compiled from 6 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Namiki Yukari Royale Collection is six fountain pens from Pilot's maki-e brand with graceful motifs in Togidashi-Taka maki-e, where the design is raised and then burnished. Each has an 18K No.20 nib in F, M or B. Namiki publishes no sizes or prices; we place it in our $$$$ band (over $75) by analogy.

On this page10 sections
Three Namiki Yukari Royale pens in black lacquer with gold flecks and wave lines, pink blossoms and green leaves
Yukari Royale pens drawn by eye: Namiki publishes no sizes, and the flowers and waves stand in for the real designs. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

Product facts

Product
Namiki Yukari Royale Collection Noshi Bundle Fountain Pen (FNK-50M-TAB)
Brand
Namiki
Brand origin
Japan
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Lacquer body with Togidashi-Taka maki-e, 18K gold nib (core body material not stated)
Price range
$$$$over $75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count)
Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by Pilot Corporation (Namiki is Pilot's maki-e brand). Country of manufacture not stated: Namiki's Kokkokai page says its maki-e studio is inside Pilot's Hiratsuka plant in Kanagawa and that artisans make the lacquerware around the country, but no Yukari Royale page prints a country of manufacture. Check the box or the pen. Source.
  • How we test and disclose samples: How we test stationery.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026.

Key takeaways

  • Namiki lists six Yukari Royale pens: Noshi Bundle, Lioness and Cubs, Parrot with Peach, Peony, Night Scene of Pavilion and Frog (FNK-30M to FNK-50M article numbers).
  • Five use Togidashi-Taka maki-e and Night Scene of Pavilion uses the more elaborate Shishiai-Togidashi-Taka; all have an 18K No.20 nib in F, M and B.
  • Namiki contrasts the line with the deeper designs of the Emperor Collection and says 'Yukari' means the connection and relationships between people.
  • Each pen is credited to a named artisan on Namiki's pages.
  • Namiki's pages give no dimensions, weight, filler or price, and we found no dealer price we could read on November 2, 2026.

What is the Namiki Yukari Royale Collection?

It is the graceful-motif, raised-maki-e line of Namiki, Pilot’s maki-e fountain pen brand. Namiki sets it against the deep designs of the Emperor Collection and says the name comes from “yukari”, the Japanese word for the connection and relationships between people. It says the pens show grace through Togidashi-Taka maki-e, which it translates as burnished-raised maki-e. We read Namiki’s English site on November 2, 2026. For where the brand came from, see Pilot’s history.

Which six pens does Namiki list?

Noshi Bundle, Lioness and Cubs, Parrot with Peach, Peony, Night Scene of Pavilion and Frog.

Design Article number Technique Nib Nib types
Noshi Bundle FNK-50M-TAB Togidashi-Taka No.20, 18K F, M, B
Lioness and Cubs FNK-50M-SSK Togidashi-Taka No.20, 18K F, M, B
Parrot with Peach FNK-45M-MMO Togidashi-Taka No.20, 18K F, M, B
Peony FNK-45M-BN Togidashi-Taka No.20, 18K F, M, B
Night Scene of Pavilion FNK-30M-RO Shishiai-Togidashi-Taka No.20, 18K F, M, B
Frog FNK-35M-KAE Togidashi-Taka No.20, 18K F, M, B

Each page names an artisan for the design. Namiki spells the Peony page’s technique without the hyphen; we treat it as the same Togidashi-Taka.

How is Togidashi-Taka maki-e made?

The scene is burnished flat first, then the main design is built up in relief, then it is finished like flat maki-e. Namiki’s technique page says that after the background and other elements are done in Togidashi maki-e, the main design gets more emphasis with lacquer and charcoal powder, and is then finished with the same methods as Hira (flat) maki-e: gold and silver powders sprinkled on lacquer, more layers of lacquer, then burnishing. Namiki says the result gives an impression of stately opulence. Night Scene of Pavilion uses Shishiai-Togidashi-Taka, which Namiki calls the highest level of maki-e, combining raised and burnished work. It says a maki-e pen takes more than three months, and some pass through the lacquer, draw, sprinkle and polish cycle as many as 130 times, but gives no count for these six.

Three cross-sections of a pen body: raised lacquer mounds, gold powder on them, then layered over and burnished
Togidashi-Taka in three steps, heights exaggerated: raise the design, sprinkle gold, then layer lacquer and burnish. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

What is the nib like?

An 18K gold No.20 nib in F, M or B. That is the same nib size Namiki gives the No.20 Urushi pens, and between the No.10 of the Yukari Collection and the No.50 of the Emperor. Namiki gives no flex or feel notes and no millimetre size for the nib.

How big is it, and how does it fill?

Namiki doesn’t say. None of the six pages gives a length, diameter, weight or filling system. Namiki says its Emperor pens come in clip and no-clip types, but the Yukari Royale pages say nothing about clips.

What does it cost?

Namiki lists no prices, and we have no dealer price we can quote. Yoseka, our usual US source, put up a bot check on November 2, 2026, and we did not work around it. Our $$$$ band (over $75) rests only on the prices we read for other Namiki lines on October 31, so confirm the price with an authorized dealer. The Chinkin Collection also has a Peony, a different pen with a No.50 nib.

Where is it made?

Namiki’s pages don’t print a country. Its Kokkokai page says the maki-e studio is in Pilot’s Hiratsuka plant in Kanagawa, and that artisans from inside and outside the company make lacquerware around the country. We list the origin as not stated.

Frequently asked questions

How many pens are in the Namiki Yukari Royale Collection?

Six on Namiki's English site: Noshi Bundle, Lioness and Cubs, Parrot with Peach, Peony, Night Scene of Pavilion and Frog.

What do the Yukari Royale article numbers look like?

They run FNK-50M-TAB, FNK-50M-SSK, FNK-45M-MMO, FNK-45M-BN, FNK-30M-RO and FNK-35M-KAE. Namiki doesn't explain the codes, so we don't read meaning into the numbers.

What is Togidashi-Taka maki-e?

Namiki describes it as finishing the scene with burnished maki-e, then giving the main design more emphasis with lacquer and charcoal powder, and finishing it like flat maki-e. The result is a raised design under a burnished surface.

How is the Yukari Royale different from the Yukari Collection?

Namiki lists the Yukari Royale pens with a No.20 nib, while our Yukari Collection guide records a No.10 nib for that line. The Royale name comes from the same Japanese word, yukari; see the Yukari guide for the other line.

How is it different from the Emperor Collection?

Namiki sets the graceful motifs of the Yukari Royale against the deep designs of the Emperor Collection. The Emperor pens have a No.50 nib and an ink-stopping function; the Yukari Royale pens have a No.20 nib.

How big is a Namiki Yukari Royale pen?

Namiki gives no dimensions or weight for any Yukari Royale pen, and we found no dealer page we could read that does. We can't give a length.

How much does a Namiki Yukari Royale pen cost?

Namiki lists no prices and we found no dealer price for the Yukari Royale pens that we could quote. We put it in our $$$$ band (over $75) only because every other Namiki line we priced on October 31, 2026 sat far above $75; this is not a quote for this line.

Sources (6)

  1. Namiki: Yukari Royale Collection (six pens, collection description; read November 2, 2026)
  2. Namiki: Yukari Royale Noshi Bundle (technique, article number, nib size and types, artisan; read November 2, 2026)
  3. Namiki: Yukari Royale Night Scene of Pavilion (Shishiai-Togidashi-Taka, article number; read November 2, 2026)
  4. Namiki: Yukari Royale Peony (article number and technique; read November 2, 2026)
  5. Namiki: Techniques supporting Namiki (Togidashi-Taka, Shishiai-Togidashi-Taka and Hira maki-e; read November 2, 2026)
  6. Namiki: People who make Namiki, Kokkokai (the artisan group and the Hiratsuka studio; read November 2, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: namiki-yukari-royale-collection.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.