Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Brand: Pentel

Pentel Dual Metallic Ballpoint: 14 Glitter Gel Colors

Compiled from 3 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Pentel Dual Metallic is a 1.0 mm glitter gel-ink ballpoint whose colored dye and glitter are different colors, so a line changes with the angle and the paper. Pentel made it a standard line on October 31, 2025, in 14 colors and three sets, at ¥275 (about US$1.70) a pen.

On this page11 sections
A schematic Pentel Dual Metallic ballpoint with red glitter and a 1.0 mm ball, with an inset of a stroke across black and white paper
A schematic stand-in: Pentel publishes no body size, so the pen is not to scale; tints are representative. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

Product facts

Product
Pentel Dual Metallic ballpoint 1.0 mm (K110-D series; 14 colors, K110-DA Black + Metallic Red shown)
Brand
Pentel
Brand origin
Japan
Made in
Not stated*
Released
October 2025*
Price range
$under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count)
Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by ASTRUM Corporation (Tokyo), called Pentel Co., Ltd. until April 1, 2026; Pentel remains the brand. Country of manufacture not stated: Pentel's Japanese product page and release don't state a country of manufacture. Price: example listing. Released: Standard-line release date per Pentel Japan's October 16, 2025 release; limited editions came earlier.
  • How we test and disclose samples: How we test stationery.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • Pentel Japan lists 14 colors (model K110) with a 1.0 mm ball, at ¥275 (about US$1.70) each with tax; the 7-color sets are ¥1,925 (about US$12) and the 14-color set ¥3,850 (about US$24).
  • Pentel's October 16, 2025 release says it launched in Europe and the US in 2016 and sold as five yearly limited editions in Japan from 2017 to 2021 before becoming standard.
  • Pentel priced it at ¥253 (about US$1.60) a pen in that release; its product page now says ¥275 (about US$1.70).
  • Pink + Metallic Pink, Silver and Gold use the same color for ink and glitter; the other 11 colors pair two.
  • Yoseka listed each pen in our $ band (under $5) on October 30, 2026.

What is the Pentel Dual Metallic ballpoint?

It is a glitter gel-ink pen whose line has two colors: a dye color and a differently colored glitter. Pentel’s Japanese page says the dye and the glitter pigment are combined in different colors, so the line changes with the viewing angle and the paper. On white paper the dye shows; on black, the glitter does.

Pentel puts it in its Inktopia Series with Milky and MATTEHOP. The brush-pen version is covered in our Dual Metallic Brush guide.

What are the specs?

A 1.0 mm ball, 14 colors and a ¥275 (about US$1.70) price are all Pentel lists. It gives no body size, weight or ink-capacity figures, so we don’t either.

Spec Value
Model K110-D series (K110-DA to K110-DZ, DMD to DMZ)
Ball 1.0 mm
Ink Gel ink with dye color and glitter pigment (Pentel)
Colors 14
Price (Japan) ¥275 (about US$1.70) each with tax
Original or Fantasy set ¥1,925 (about US$12)
14-color set ¥3,850 (about US$24)
The fourteen Dual Metallic inks: seven Original colors and seven Fantasy colors, each shown as a dye swash on white and glitter on black
The 14 inks Pentel lists, in representative tints. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

What colors does it come in?

Fourteen, split into an Original seven and a Fantasy seven. Original: Black + Metallic Red, Blue + Metallic Green, Green + Metallic Blue, Orange + Metallic Yellow, Pink + Metallic Pink, Violet + Metallic Blue and Silver.

Fantasy: Turquoise Green + Metallic Red and Green, Light Green + Metallic Blue and Red, Blue Gray + Metallic Blue and Silver, Light Pink + Metallic Green and Gold, Light Violet + Metallic Red and Blue, Silver + Metallic Copper and Green, and Gold. The first name is the dye. Pink + Metallic Pink, Silver and Gold use one color for both, per Pentel.

When did it launch?

It launched abroad in 2016 and became a standard Japanese line on October 31, 2025. Pentel’s October 16, 2025 release says it came out in Europe and the US in 2016 as a pen for greeting cards. In Japan it sold as limited editions each year from 2017 to 2021.

After five limited runs, Pentel picked its popular colors for the 14 now sold. It also made holographic paper cases for the sets, with a trick inside for folding a miniature box.

Does the price match the release?

No: the release said ¥253 (about US$1.60) and the product page now says ¥275 (about US$1.70). The release gave that price a pen, and ¥1,771 (about US$11) and ¥3,542 (about US$22) for the sets, all with tax.

The product page lists ¥275 (about US$1.70) a pen, ¥1,925 (about US$12) and ¥3,850 (about US$24) for the sets. We read that as a later price rise, but Pentel doesn’t say so.

Who is it for?

Anyone decorating dark paper, cards or planner pages. Glitter pigment is opaque, so the line stays visible on black, kraft and colored card where an ordinary gel ink would vanish.

Because every color shares the same 1.0 mm ball, the choice is about color pairs, not line width. If you want to compare against other sparkle options, read on.

Is it better than other glitter pens?

It’s for decoration, not for taking notes. A 1.0 mm gel ball lays a wide line, and Pentel suggests it for notebooks, cards, illustrations, gift wrapping and fan goods.

For opaque ink on dark paper without glitter, see our white gel pens roundup, and for a permanent metallic marker our Sharpie Metallic guide.

Where is it made, and what does it cost in the US?

Pentel doesn’t state where it is made. Its pages give prices and materials but no country.

Yoseka listed the pens in our $ band (under $5) on October 30, 2026, with Original, Fantasy and 14-color sets alongside them. In Japan it lists at ¥275 (about US$1.70).

Frequently asked questions

Does the Dual Metallic write on black paper?

Yes. Pentel says the glitter color stands out on black or other dark paper, while on white paper the dye color is the more vivid one.

How big is the ball?

1.0 mm for every color. Pentel's page lists no other size, so this is a bold line rather than a fine one.

Is the Dual Metallic refillable?

Pentel lists no refill for it, and its product page gives no refill code. Treat it as a pen you replace.

Is it the same as the Dual Metallic Brush?

No. Pentel calls the brush a series mate with the same colors plus new ones, but it is a separate brush pen with its own models, sold at a higher price.

What are the Original and Fantasy sets?

Pentel's two sets of seven: Original holds the classic pairs plus Silver, Fantasy holds six lighter pairs plus Gold. A 14-color set combines both.

Is the ink waterproof or permanent?

Pentel makes no claim on the pages we read. Don't use it for documents that must not smudge or fade.

Where is the Dual Metallic made?

Pentel doesn't say. Its pages give materials and prices but no country, so we mark it Not stated.

Sources (3)

  1. Pentel Japan (Japanese): Dual Metallic product page (14 colors, K110 models and JANs, 1.0 mm ball, ¥275 with tax, sets ¥1,925 and ¥3,850, Inktopia Series; read October 30, 2026)
  2. Pentel Japan (Japanese): news release, October 16, 2025 (standard launch on October 31, 2025; 2016 launch for greeting cards in Europe and the US; limited editions 2017-2021; ¥253 pens and ¥1,771 and ¥3,542 sets with tax)
  3. Yoseka Stationery: Pentel Dual Metallic Ballpoint Pen 1.0mm (14 colors, Original, Fantasy and 14-color sets; read October 30, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: pentel-dual-metallic-ballpoint.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.