Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Brand: Tachikawa

Tachikawa T-3 G Pen Nib: The Broadest Manga Dip Nib

Compiled from 6 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Tachikawa T-3 G pen is a dip-pen nib that Tachikawa says draws the broadest line of its manga nibs and varies it easily with angle and pressure, though it takes some practice to control. It is sold in packs of 3, 10 and 100, and a 3-pack sits in our $ band (under $5).

On this page11 sections
Tachikawa T-3 G pen nib with a broad rolled shank, long taper, breather slot and slit, and a circle showing the tip enlarged
The G nib with its tip enlarged, drawn in proportion because Tachikawa gives no dimensions. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

Product facts

Product
Tachikawa Comic Pen T-3 G Pen, 3-pack (T3-3)
Brand
Tachikawa
Brand origin
Japan
Made in
Not stated*
Good for
Price range
$under $5 per item
Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by Tachikawa & Co., Ltd. (Iga, Mie, Japan). Country of manufacture not stated: Tachikawa's product page for the T-3 does not say where the nib is made. Its company page lists a domestic factory in Mie and overseas sites in Taiwan and Shaoxing, China, without saying which makes which product, so we don't state an origin. Source. Price: example listing.
  • How we test and disclose samples: How we test stationery.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • Tachikawa calls the T-3 the nib that writes the thickest line in its range, and says its easy line variation needs some practice to control.
  • Tachikawa lists a 3-pack (T3-3) at ¥400 (about US$2.50), a 10-pack in a plastic case (T3-10) at ¥1,300 (about US$8.20) and a box of 100 (T3-100) at ¥12,500 (about US$79), all before tax.
  • Tachikawa ranks its five manga nib shapes by line width: G, spoon, Nihonji, school, then maru, so the G is the broadest of the five.
  • Tachikawa's T-40, T-36 and T-25 holders take the G nib, and its holder page lists prices from ¥650 (about US$4.10) to ¥950 (about US$6.00).
  • Tachikawa says its nibs are harder than its sister brand Nikko, which it also makes, so a heavy hand may prefer the Tachikawa.

What is the Tachikawa T-3 G pen?

It is a dip-pen nib shaped for manga inking, the broadest of the five shapes in Tachikawa’s comic pen range. Tachikawa & Co., Ltd., founded in 1935 as a maker of steel pen nibs, pins and paper clips, sells it in the “Comic Pen” line.

Tachikawa’s page says the G draws the thickest line of any of its nibs. Because it also varies easily with angle and pressure, it says “a little getting used to” is needed to control it. We read the maker’s pages on November 2, 2026.

What are the specs?

Tachikawa publishes pack codes, pack sizes and prices, but no nib length or width. The drawing above and the one below are therefore in proportion, not to scale.

Spec Value (Tachikawa)
Model T-3 G pen
Line Broadest of the five shapes; strong variation with angle and pressure
Uses Manga characters and effect lines
3-pack (T3-3) ¥400 (about US$2.50), before tax
10-pack in plastic case (T3-10) ¥1,300 (about US$8.20), before tax
100-box (T3-100) ¥12,500 (about US$79), before tax
Material, length, width Not stated
Made in Not stated for the nib
A G nib at left drawing a line that swells from a hairline to a broad stroke and back, between a hairline and a broad line
The middle line swells with pressure and angle; the hairline above and the broad line below are the extremes. Drawn in proportion. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

How does the G nib draw a line?

Light pressure gives a thin line and more pressure a thicker one, in a single stroke. Tachikawa defines its “strong and weak” lines this way: the angle of the nib and how hard you press decide whether the line is thick or thin.

The maker says that variation is the reason professional manga artists still ink with a dip nib. It calls the dip pen a tool where your own handling becomes your own line.

Where does the G sit among Tachikawa’s nibs?

It is the broadest of five shapes. Tachikawa orders them from thickest to thinnest line as G, spoon, Nihonji, school and maru. Its T-44 Nihonji nib sits in the middle and draws one even line, while the maru nibs are the finest.

Tachikawa also makes the Nikko brand and says it is the softer of the two, based on what customers tell it. Its rule of thumb: choose Tachikawa if you press hard, Nikko if your hand gets tired.

Who is the Tachikawa T-3 G for?

It suits manga and comic inkers who want thick-to-thin lines from one nib.

  • Drawing and sketching: Tachikawa lists manga characters and effect lines as the uses for the T-3, and ranks it the broadest of its five nib shapes.

Skip it if you want a line that never changes: Tachikawa says the G needs some practice to control, and its T-44 Nihonji nib gives an even line instead.

Which holder do you need?

Any of Tachikawa’s free pen holders: T-40, T-36 or T-25. The maker’s holder page lists them as taking its and Nikko’s maru, G, spoon, school and Nihonji nibs. It lists the T-40 at ¥950 (about US$6.00), the T-36 at ¥780 (about US$4.90) and the T-25 at ¥650 (about US$4.10), all before tax on November 2, 2026.

For more on the holder most people pair with it, see our Tachikawa T-40 free pen holder guide. For a wider shortlist of nibs and holders, see best dip pens for beginners.

How do you look after a G nib?

Wipe it, rinse it, dry it completely and store it with rust-proof paper. Tachikawa’s steps are to wipe off most of the ink with a tissue, swish the nib through water without stirring it hard, wipe it dry, then seal it away from damp with the brown paper that came with it.

Tachikawa says leftover water causes rust, and in humid weather it suggests a thinner-type solvent, with ventilation.

Where is it made, and what does it cost?

Tachikawa’s page doesn’t say where this nib is made. Its company page lists a Mie factory in Japan and sites in Taiwan and Shaoxing, China, so we leave the origin as not stated.

On November 2, 2026 the 3-pack was ¥400 (about US$2.50), which works out near ¥133 (about US$0.84) per nib, in our $ band (under $5). The 10-pack and 100-box bring that down to ¥130 (about US$0.82) and ¥125 (about US$0.79) a nib.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Tachikawa G nib good for beginners?

Only if you want to learn line variation. Tachikawa says the T-3 is easy to vary but needs some practice to control, and it recommends its T-44 Nihonji nib, which draws one even line, for dip-pen beginners.

What do you use a G nib for?

Tachikawa lists manga characters and effect lines. Its page says the use list is only a guide and tells you to choose by your own drawing style.

How many nibs come in a pack?

Three in a small bag (T3-3), ten in a plastic storage case (T3-10) or a box of 100 (T3-100). Tachikawa lists all three on the same page.

Which holder does the T-3 fit?

Tachikawa's T-40, T-36 and T-25 free pen holders all list the G nib, along with maru, spoon, school and Nihonji nibs from Tachikawa and Nikko. Tachikawa gives no nib width or shank size.

Is Tachikawa harder than Nikko?

According to Tachikawa, yes. It says customer feedback calls Tachikawa nibs harder than Nikko, and suggests Tachikawa if you press hard and Nikko if your hand tires.

How do you stop a dip nib rusting?

Tachikawa says to wipe off the ink, swish the nib through water, dry it thoroughly and seal it with the brown rust-proof paper it came with. Leftover water is the cause of rust.

Does the nib have a coating?

Tachikawa's T-3 page doesn't say. It describes its separate T-600 nib as chrome-colored and rust resistant, so don't assume the same finish on the G.

How much does one nib cost?

About ¥133 (about US$0.84) each in the 3-pack, ¥130 (about US$0.82) in the 10-pack and ¥125 (about US$0.79) in the box of 100, by Tachikawa's list prices before tax on November 2, 2026.

Sources (6)

  1. Tachikawa (Japanese): Comic Pen T-3 G Pen, 3-pack (maker description, uses, pack codes and prices; read November 2, 2026)
  2. Tachikawa (Japanese): T-3 G Pen, 10-pack (plastic storage case; read November 2, 2026)
  3. Tachikawa (Japanese): features by brand and nib type (Tachikawa and Nikko hardness, five shapes by line width; read November 2, 2026)
  4. Tachikawa (Japanese): nib care (wiping, rinsing, drying, rust-proof paper; read November 2, 2026)
  5. Tachikawa (Japanese): pen holders (T-40, T-36, T-25 compatibility and prices; read November 2, 2026)
  6. Tachikawa (Japanese): company information (founded 1935, Mie factory, overseas sites; read November 2, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: tachikawa-t-3-g-pen-nib.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.