Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

King Jim twip: The Folding Book Clip for Studying

Compiled from 4 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The King Jim twip (ツイップ, FBC10) is a folding book clip that holds a book open with two independent side clips on a telescoping arm. It fits A6 to B5 books, folds to 160 × 33 × 31 mm and weighs 60 g. Windowed clips keep text visible, and pages turn without unclipping. It won a 2026 Good Design Award.

On this page10 sections
King Jim twip book clip in black drawn to scale, fully open at 439 mm and folded at 160 mm, with an inset of a windowed clip
Open and folded at 1 mm = 1.55 px from King Jim's sizes; clip shapes drawn by eye.

Product facts

Product
King Jim twip folding book clip (FBC10)
Brand
King Jim
Brand origin
Japan
Made in
Not stated*
Material
POM and ABS (King Jim)
Released
February 2026
Price range
$$$5–20 per item
Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by King Jim Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Country of manufacture not stated: King Jim's online store page and the G Mark entry give size, weight, materials and price but no country of manufacture; King Jim's corporate site was down for maintenance when we checked on October 23, 2026. Price: example listing.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • King Jim lists the twip at 160 × 33 × 31 mm folded and up to 439 mm wide open, weighing about 60 g.
  • The clips sit about 224 to 364 mm apart, fit A6 to B5 books and open up to about 31 mm, per King Jim.
  • King Jim's store sells it for ¥1,540 (about US$9.70) including tax, in blue, white and black.
  • It went on sale February 18, 2026 and won a Good Design Award 2026 (26G030127).
  • On October 23, 2026 Amazon.com listed all three colors (FBC10-B, -W and -BK) from import sellers.

What is the King Jim twip?

It’s a book clip that grips an open book from the left and right edges, so it stays open while you write. King Jim calls it a study-focused (学習特化型) book clip; its model number is FBC10.

The two clips sit on a telescoping arm with a hinge in the middle. Folded, it is 160 mm long, about the size of a pen, and it weighs about 60 g.

How big is it, and what books does it fit?

King Jim lists 160 × 33 × 31 mm folded and up to 439 mm wide open, for A6 to B5 books.

King Jim twip (FBC10) King Jim’s figure
Folded 160 × 33 × 31 mm (6.3 × 1.3 × 1.2 in)
Fully open 439 × 27 × 31 mm (17.3 × 1.1 × 1.2 in)
Distance between clips About 224 to 364 mm (8.8 to 14.3 in)
Clip opening Up to about 31 mm (1.2 in)
Weight About 60 g
Book sizes A6 to B5
Material POM and ABS

A B5 book open flat is 364 mm across, which matches the clips’ widest span. Letter-size US workbooks are wider than B5, so they are outside what King Jim lists.

King Jim twip widths to scale: 160 mm folded, clips 224 to 364 mm apart, 439 mm fully open, against a 364 mm B5 spread and a 210 mm A6 spread
The clip span covers a B5 spread; King Jim lists A6 as the smallest size.

How do you turn pages without unclipping?

Press a clip in until it clicks; it then stays open, so you slide the next page under it and keep going. King Jim notes this works when the book’s two halves are balanced enough not to close by themselves.

Each clip has a window and rotates 180°, so the text under it stays readable, King Jim says. Because the clips are separate, a book with far more pages on one side still sits flat.

What award did it win?

A Good Design Award 2026, award number 26G030127. The judges wrote that even as study goes paperless, people still need to hold a page open, and praised how easily it folds to carry; they also mention cooking and reading.

King Jim’s store adds that it placed second in the reskilling category of Japan’s 文房具総選挙 2026 (Stationery General Election). The G Mark entry credits designer Taiji Kamise, who also designed the Midori XS Compact Scissors; see all Good Design Award 2026 stationery winners.

How does it compare with other ways to hold a book open?

The twip holds the whole spread for writing; a bookmark or bookend doesn’t. Book Darts mark a line on a page, and the CARL Book Tilt keeps closed books upright on a shelf.

Choose the twip for textbooks, workbooks and recipes you work from at a desk; it is not a stand, so the book still lies flat.

How much is it, and can you buy it in the US?

King Jim’s store lists it at ¥1,540 (about US$9.70) including tax; the G Mark entry gives ¥1,400 (about US$8.90) before tax. Import copies fall in our $$ band ($5–20).

On October 23, 2026 Amazon.com listed the twip in black (FBC10-BK), white (FBC10-W) and blue (FBC10-B) from import sellers. King Jim’s own store ships only within Japan.

Where is the twip made?

King Jim doesn’t say on the pages we read. Its store page and the G Mark entry give no country of manufacture, and King Jim’s corporate site was down for maintenance on October 23, 2026; King Jim is based in Tokyo.

Frequently asked questions

How do you turn pages with the twip on?

Push a clip in until it clicks and it stays open, King Jim says, so you can slip the next page under it without unclipping; this works when the book's two sides are balanced enough not to close on their own.

Will the twip hold a thick textbook open?

King Jim says the separate left and right clips hold books steady even when one side has many more pages, and each clip opens to about 31 mm. It lists A6 to B5 books.

Can the twip hold a cookbook?

Probably, if it is B5 or smaller. The Good Design judges mention cooking and reading as uses beyond study, but King Jim only lists A6 to B5.

What does twip stand for?

King Jim doesn't explain the name. The Amazon.com listings call it a folding book clip that twists to secure textbooks.

How much does the twip weigh?

About 60 g, per King Jim, which is light enough for a pen pouch.

Is the King Jim twip made in Japan?

King Jim doesn't say on the pages we read. King Jim is a Tokyo company; check the package for the country of manufacture.

Sources (4)

  1. King Jim online store: 折りたたみブッククリップ「ツイップ」 (specs, ¥1,540, colors, features; read October 23, 2026)
  2. King Jim online store: FBC10 product data (variant codes and JAN: FBC10-B 4971660064380, FBC10-W 4971660064366, FBC10-BK 4971660064373)
  3. G Mark gallery: 折りたたみブッククリップ「ツイップ」, Good Design Award 2026 (26G030127; launch February 18, 2026; ¥1,400 before tax)
  4. Amazon.com: King Jim FBC10-BK Folding Book Clip (listing seen October 23, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: king-jim-twip-book-clip.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.