Best Stationery for Students (2027): A Nicer School Kit
Based on published specs, the best student kit for 2027 is a Zebra Sarasa Clip gel pen, a uni Jetstream 4&1 multi pen, Zebra Mildliner highlighters, a uni Kuru Toga pencil, a Tombow MONO Zero eraser, a KOKUYO Campus notebook, a KOKUYO Neo Critz case and a Hobonichi Weeks planner. Eight of the nine picks cost under $20 each.
On this page
Products compared
Zebra Sarasa Clip Retractable Gel Pen
uni Jetstream 4&1 Multi Pen
Zebra Mildliner double-ended highlighter
Uni Kuru Toga Standard mechanical pencil
Tombow MONO Zero eraser, round 2.3 mm tip
KOKUYO Campus Notebook, Semi-B5, 30 sheets
KOKUYO Neo Critz Pen Case, Regular Size
Hobonichi Techo Weeks 2027, English, January start
Kanmido Coco-Fusen Card M, COLOR Standard
| Product | Brand origin | Made in | Price range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zebra Sarasa Clip Retractable Gel Pen (0.3 / 0.4 / 0.5 / 0.7 / 1.0 mm; JJ15)Zebra | Japan | Japan* | Price range: $under $5 per item |
| uni Jetstream 4&1 Multi Pen (0.38 / 0.5 / 0.7 mm + 0.5 mm pencil; MSXE5-1000)uni-ball | Japan | Japan* | Price range: $$$5–20 per item |
| Zebra Mildliner double-ended highlighter (WKT7; US packs sold as Mildliner Double-Ended Creative Highlighter)Zebra | Japan | Japan or Mexico (varies by pack)* | Price range: $under $5 per item |
| Uni Kuru Toga Standard mechanical pencil (M5-450, 0.5 mm)uni | Japan | Japan* | Price range: $$$5–20 per item |
| Tombow MONO Zero eraser, round 2.3 mm tip (57305 / EH-KUR)Tombow | Japan | Japan* | Price range: $$$5–20 per item |
| KOKUYO Campus Notebook, Semi-B5, 30 sheets (NO-3BN 6 mm rule; NO-3BTN 6 mm dotted; NO-3ATN 7 mm dotted)KOKUYO | Japan | Japan* | Price range: $under $5 per item |
| KOKUYO Neo Critz Pen Case, Regular Size (F-VBF180)KOKUYO | Japan | Cambodia* | Price range: $$$5–20 per item |
| Hobonichi Techo Weeks 2027, English, January start (White Line: Black and other covers)Hobonichi | Japan | Japan* | Price range: $$$$20–75 per item |
| Kanmido Coco-Fusen Card M, COLOR Standard (CFC-1003)Kanmido | Japan | Not stated* | Price range: $$$5–20 per item |
Notes on these facts
- Zebra Sarasa Clip Retractable Gel Pen (0.3 / 0.4 / 0.5 / 0.7 / 1.0 mm; JJ15): Made by Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo); sold in the US by Zebra Pen Corporation. Made in Japan: per retailer spec sheets: FairPrice (Singapore) lists Japan for the 0.7 mm pen and the JF-0.5 refills, Carrefour UAE lists Japan for the Sarasa Push Clip, and SM Stationery (Philippines) says made in Japan. Zebra's Japanese and global product pages don't state a country of manufacture. Source.
- uni Jetstream 4&1 Multi Pen (0.38 / 0.5 / 0.7 mm + 0.5 mm pencil; MSXE5-1000): Made by Mitsubishi Pencil Co., Ltd.. Made in Japan: The Journal Shop lists Japan as the country of origin for the 0.5 mm 4&1. Mitsubishi Pencil's Japanese product page and press releases don't state it. Source. Released: Mitsubishi Pencil's February 17, 2011 press release says the Jetstream 4&1 first came out in November 2008.
- Zebra Mildliner double-ended highlighter (WKT7; US packs sold as Mildliner Double-Ended Creative Highlighter): Made by Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo); sold in the US by Zebra Pen Corporation. Made in Japan or Mexico (varies by pack): Hamster (Canada) lists Japan for the 5-pack MPN 78205, and Japanese-market retailers sell the WKT7 as made in Japan. Nordisco lists Mexico for the US 10-pack, item 78101, and Boston General Store lists a single Mildliner as made in Mexico. Zebra's Japanese product page doesn't state a country of manufacture, so check the pack. Source. Released: Launch year in Japan, per Zebra's company history and press releases (2009 launch, 15th anniversary in 2024).
- Uni Kuru Toga Standard mechanical pencil (M5-450, 0.5 mm): Made by Mitsubishi Pencil Co., Ltd.. Made in Japan: per retailer spec sheets (The Journal Shop: country of origin Japan; Bungu Store: made in Japan). Mitsubishi Pencil's Japanese product pages don't state it. Source.
- Tombow MONO Zero eraser, round 2.3 mm tip (57305 / EH-KUR): Made by Tombow Pencil Co., Ltd.. Made in Japan: STL Art Supply says the MONO Zero 2.3 mm eraser is made in Japan, and Officeworks in Australia lists Japan as the country of manufacture for its black round MONO Zero. Tombow's Japanese page doesn't state a country, and we found no reliable origin for the ER-KUR refills. Source.
- KOKUYO Campus Notebook, Semi-B5, 30 sheets (NO-3BN 6 mm rule; NO-3BTN 6 mm dotted; NO-3ATN 7 mm dotted): Made by KOKUYO Co., Ltd.. Made in Japan: KOKUYO's own global online store gives Country of Origin: Japan for the NO-3BN 3-pack and 10-pack and for the NO-3BTN and NO-3ATN dotted books. KOKUYO's Japanese catalog pages don't list origin; other Campus lines and sizes may differ. Source. Released: KOKUYO's Japanese chronicle: the Campus brand began with spiral notebooks in 1965; this perfect-bound Campus Note followed in 1975, and the current design is the fifth generation, from October 2011.
- KOKUYO Neo Critz Pen Case, Regular Size (F-VBF180): Made by KOKUYO Co., Ltd.. Made in Cambodia: per KOKUYO's own global online store for F-VBF180-2 (Navy × Blue) and F-VBF180-3 (Blue × Navy). The same store lists the Marucru as made in China, so origin can vary by model; check the label. Source. Released: Per Impress Kaden Watch's 2013 review, which says KOKUYO has sold the Neo Critz since 2006; we found no KOKUYO statement of the year.
- Hobonichi Techo Weeks 2027, English, January start (White Line: Black and other covers): Made by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Made in Japan: per retailer spec sheets for the 2027 Weeks (Sortdays and Milligram). Hobonichi's Japanese store page for White Line: Black gives size, weight, pages and materials but no country of manufacture. Source.
- Kanmido Coco-Fusen Card M, COLOR Standard (CFC-1003): Made by Kanmido Co., Ltd. (Meguro, Tokyo). Country of manufacture not stated: Kanmido's product page (read in full) and the retailer listings we found for the Card don't state a country. Retailers list two other Coco-Fusen products, the Mini and the Clip, as made in Japan. Released: First release of the Coco-Fusen Card, per Kanmido's March 15, 2024 press release; the current CFC-1003 design went on sale March 22, 2024.
- Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).
Key takeaways
- Three picks sit in our lowest band (under $5): the Zebra Sarasa Clip, a Zebra Mildliner and a KOKUYO Campus notebook; five more are in the $$ band ($5–20).
- The uni Jetstream 4&1 packs black, red, blue and green ballpoints and a 0.5 mm pencil into one 148.8 mm (5.9 in) body.
- The uni Kuru Toga turns its lead about 9° per stroke, a full turn every 40 strokes, so the point stays sharp through a page of notes.
- The KOKUYO Campus Semi-B5 is 252 × 179 mm (about 9.9 × 7 in) with 30 sheets; the 6 mm ruling fits 35 lines a page.
- The Hobonichi Weeks 2027 is 186 × 95 × 11 mm and about 133 g in its White Line cover, with weekly pages from November 30, 2026 to January 2, 2028.
What is the best stationery for students?
On published specs, the best student kit for 2027 is built from Japanese school favorites: a Zebra Sarasa Clip gel pen, a uni Jetstream 4&1, Zebra Mildliners, a uni Kuru Toga, a KOKUYO Campus notebook and a KOKUYO Neo Critz case. These are the nicer versions of the basics, not novelty supplies, and most cost under $20 each. There’s no single #1: each pick is the best-documented version of one school basic, chosen to work together.
- Best gel pen: Zebra Sarasa Clip. Why it’s here: Japan’s best-selling gel pen for 14 straight years, per Zebra, in five tip sizes from 0.3 to 1.0 mm.
- Best multi pen: uni Jetstream 4&1. Why it’s here: four ballpoint colors plus a 0.5 mm pencil in one 148.8 mm body, so one pen covers notes, corrections and diagrams.
- Best highlighter: Zebra Mildliner. Why it’s here: a highlighter and a writing tip on one pen, a 4.0 mm chisel and a 1.0–1.4 mm bullet, in 40 muted colors.
- Best mechanical pencil: uni Kuru Toga. Why it’s here: the lead turns about 9° per stroke, so the line stays even through long notes.
- Best eraser: Tombow MONO Zero. Why it’s here: its 2.3 mm round tip erases one letter in a formula without touching the rest, which a block eraser can’t.
- Best notebook: KOKUYO Campus. Why it’s here: Semi-B5 is roomier than A5 but smaller than US letter, with 35 lines a page at 6 mm, in our lowest band.
- Best pencil case: KOKUYO Neo Critz. Why it’s here: a case that becomes a pen stand on the desk, holding about 14 pens per retailers.
- Best planner: Hobonichi Weeks 2027. Why it’s here: slim enough to carry every day, a 95 mm wide weekly of 240 pages that fits a blazer or bag pocket.
- Best sticky notes: Kanmido Coco-Fusen Card. Why it’s here: 105 film notes of 32 × 11 mm in a credit-card-size case that lives in a planner or wallet.
How did we choose these picks?
We compiled these picks from published sources, not hands-on testing: makers’ Japanese specs and claims, Unsharpen and retailer listings, US availability and price band. We chose the nicer version of each school basic and kept most under $20.
How do the student picks compare?
Three picks cost under $5, five sit in our $$ band ($5–20) and only the planner reaches $$$ ($20–75).
| Pick | Product | Key spec | Price band | Made in |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gel pen | Zebra Sarasa Clip | 0.3–1.0 mm; 141 mm (5.6 in), 10.9 g | $ | Japan |
| Multi pen | uni Jetstream 4&1 | 4 colors + 0.5 mm pencil; 148.8 mm (5.9 in) | $$ | Japan |
| Highlighter | Zebra Mildliner | 4.0 mm chisel + 1.0–1.4 mm bullet; 40 colors | $ | Japan or Mexico |
| Pencil | uni Kuru Toga M5-450 | 0.5 mm; 142 mm (5.6 in), 10 g | $$ | Japan |
| Eraser | Tombow MONO Zero | 2.3 mm tip; 120 mm (4.7 in) | $$ | Japan |
| Notebook | KOKUYO Campus | 252 × 179 mm (9.9 × 7 in); 30 sheets | $ | Japan |
| Pencil case | KOKUYO Neo Critz | 85 × 50 × 195 mm (3.3 × 2.0 × 7.7 in) | $$ | Cambodia |
| Planner | Hobonichi Weeks 2027 | 186 × 95 × 11 mm (7.3 × 3.7 × 0.4 in); 133 g (White Line cover) | $$$ | Japan |
| Sticky notes | Kanmido Coco-Fusen Card M | 84 × 53.5 mm (3.3 × 2.1 in) case; 105 notes | $$ | Not stated |
Sizes come from each maker’s Japanese site, except the Kuru Toga (Unsharpen) and the MONO Zero (Hobonichi’s store); see each guide for the sources.
Which pen should a student use for notes?
Use the Sarasa Clip if you like smooth, dark gel lines, and the Jetstream 4&1 if you switch colors a lot or want a pencil in the same pen. The Sarasa Clip’s 0.5 mm takes the JF-0.5 refill, and the 4&1 takes SXR-80 refills in 0.38, 0.5 or 0.7 mm.
Gel ink is wetter, so left-handed students may prefer the 4&1’s Jetstream ballpoint ink. Our best pens for note-taking roundup compares more options.
Do you need a mechanical pencil and an eraser?
For math and science, yes: a 0.5 mm Kuru Toga for working and a MONO Zero for clean fixes cover most problem sets. Mitsubishi Pencil lists the plastic Standard at ¥495 (about US$3.10) in Japan, and Tombow lists the MONO Zero at ¥495 (about US$3.10), both with tax.
The MONO Zero clicks out less than 1 mm of eraser at a time, per Tombow, and refills with ER-KUR sticks.
What size notebook is best for school?
A Semi-B5 Campus is roomier than A5 but smaller than US letter, which makes it a good all-subject size. KOKUYO lists 6 mm ruling with 35 lines and 7 mm ruling with 30 lines; pick 6 mm for small handwriting.
KOKUYO’s Japanese list price for the NO-3BN is ¥210 (about US$1.30) before tax, so a stack of one per subject stays cheap.
Is a planner worth it for students?
A weekly planner helps most when you have many deadlines, and the Hobonichi Weeks is slim enough to carry every day. Its weekly pages run from November 30, 2026 to January 2, 2028, with the week on the left and grid paper on the right.
For a cheaper option, skip the planner and use the Campus notebook’s first pages as a weekly list.
What does the whole kit cost?
Expect most of the kit to cost under $20 per item at US retail, with the Hobonichi Weeks as the one $$$ item. KOKUYO’s Japanese list price for the Neo Critz Regular is ¥1,800 (about US$11) before tax, and Kanmido lists the Coco-Fusen Card M at ¥627 (about US$4) with tax.
Where is this stationery made?
Six of the nine picks are listed as made in Japan, the Neo Critz Regular is made in Cambodia per KOKUYO’s global store, and Kanmido doesn’t state an origin for the Coco-Fusen Card. The Mildliner is made in Japan, but some US packs are listed as made in Mexico, so check the pack.
Frequently asked questions
What school supplies are worth paying more for?
The things you use all day: a pen, a mechanical pencil and a case that stands up on the desk. A uni Kuru Toga or a Jetstream 4&1 costs a few dollars more than a basic pen or pencil but stays in our $$ band ($5–20).
Is the Zebra Sarasa Clip good for note-taking?
It is a popular choice: Zebra says it has been Japan's best-selling gel pen for 14 years running, and it comes in five tip sizes from 0.3 to 1.0 mm. Pick 0.4 or 0.5 mm for small handwriting in a notebook.
Do Mildliner highlighters work as pens?
Yes, for headings and underlining. Each Mildliner has a 4.0 mm chisel tip for highlighting and a 1.0–1.4 mm bullet tip at the other end, per Zebra Japan.
Why do Japanese students use the Kuru Toga?
Because the lead turns as you write. Mitsubishi Pencil's mechanism rotates it about 9 degrees each time you lift the tip, so the point wears to a cone instead of a flat wedge, and the series has led Japanese mechanical pencil sales for years.
What size is a Japanese school notebook?
The standard KOKUYO Campus is Semi-B5, 252 × 179 mm (about 9.9 × 7 in). That is a little smaller than a US letter-size notebook and fits a backpack sleeve easily.
Is the Hobonichi Weeks good for a student planner?
It suits students who plan by the week: it is slim, about 133 g, with a week on the left and grid paper on the right. It costs more than our other picks, in our $$$ band ($20–75).
How many pens fit in a KOKUYO Neo Critz?
Retailers say the Regular Neo Critz holds about 14 pens. The Large size, 90 × 55 × 205 mm, also takes a pencil and an 18 cm ruler, per KOKUYO.
Sources
- ゼブラ株式会社: ジェルボールペン サラサクリップ (Zebra Japan product page: sizes, 141.0 mm, 11.0 mm, 10.9 g, ¥132, model codes, JAN)
- 「サラサクリップ3C/2+S レトロ・シック」8月6日に数量限定発売 (Zebra press release, July 22, 2026: 14 years No. 1, 1.4 billion pens)
- ジェットストリーム 多機能ペン 4&1 MSXE5-1000 (Mitsubishi Pencil Japan product page: tip sizes, 0.5 mm pencil, ¥1,100)
- ゼブラ株式会社: ラインマーカー マイルドライナー (Zebra Japan product page: 40 colors, 4 mm / 1.0–1.4 mm tips, 141.5 mm, ¥132)
- 三菱鉛筆: クルトガ スタンダードモデル (Mitsubishi Pencil product page: Kuru Toga Engine)
- 三菱鉛筆: クルトガ スタンダードモデル ラインナップ (Mitsubishi Pencil lineup: M5-450 / M3-450, ¥495)
- モノゼロ (Tombow Japan product page, MONO Zero: 2.3 mm round tip, under 1 mm per click, refills, prices)
- キャンパスノート B5 B罫・6mm 30枚 (KOKUYO Japan product page: NO-3BN, 252 × 179 mm, 35 lines, 30 sheets, ¥210 before tax)
- ネオクリッツ ペンケース ネイビー×ブルー (KOKUYO Japan product page: F-VBF180-2, 85 × 50 × 195 mm, ¥1,800 before tax)
- ネオクリッツ ラージサイズペンケース (KOKUYO Japan product page: F-VBF181-2, 90 × 55 × 205 mm, pencil and 18 cm ruler)
- ホワイトライン ブラック [weeks] - ほぼ日手帳 2027 (Hobonichi Japanese store: 186 × 95 × 11 mm, about 133 g, 240 pages, ¥2,860–¥2,970)
- Hunter Paper Co.: Hobonichi Weeks 2027 White Line: Black, January start (date ranges)
- Kanmido: ココフセンカード (case 84 × 53.5 mm; M 32 × 11 mm × 105 notes; ¥627)