Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar 2027: Three Sizes

Compiled from 5 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar 2027 is a monthly wall calendar whose pages are coated so you can write with a dry-erase marker and wipe it clean. It comes in Full (438 × 395 mm), Medium (310 × 240 mm) and a standing With Pocket size, includes a magnetic marker, and costs ¥1,980 (about US$13) to ¥3,190 (about US$20) in Japan.

On this page10 sections
Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar 2027 in Full, Medium and With Pocket sizes drawn to scale, with the dry-erase marker
The three sizes at 1 mm = 0.5 px.

Product facts

Product
Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar 2027: Full, Medium and With Pocket
Brand
Hobonichi
Brand origin
Japan
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Coated paper with a polypropylene surface; PVC holder; tin toolbar (Full and Medium)
Released
2026*
Price range
$$$$20–75 per item
Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Country of manufacture not stated: Hobonichi's Japanese and English store pages give sizes, weights and materials for all three sizes but no country of origin. Source. Price: example listing. Released: Hobonichi labels the 2027 edition 2027 NEW in its Hobonichi Techo 2027 stationery lineup.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • Hobonichi lists Full at 438 × 395 mm (17.2 × 15.6 in) with 52.5 × 50 mm day squares and Medium at 310 × 240 mm.
  • The With Pocket desk version stands 172 × 177 × 95 mm and adds a yearly calendar and a 2-page message board.
  • Every size has 12 monthly pages running January to December 2027 and comes with a magnetic whiteboard marker.
  • Japan prices are ¥3,190 (about US$20), ¥2,640 (about US$17) and ¥1,980 (about US$13) with tax.
  • Hobonichi says it has been LOFT's best-selling calendar in Japan for 21 years since launch.

What is the Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar 2027?

It’s a monthly calendar printed on whiteboard-coated pages, so plans written with a dry-erase marker can be wiped and rewritten as often as you like. Hobonichi, the maker of the Hobonichi Techo, sells it as a “family communication tool” for shared schedules and messages.

Hobonichi says it has been the best-selling calendar at LOFT, the Japanese stationery chain, for 21 years since launch. Each year an artist makes the month numerals; for 2027 they are ceramic pieces by Yuko Suga.

Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar 2027 sizes

Spec Full Medium With Pocket
Size 438 × 395 mm (17.2 × 15.6 in) 310 × 240 mm (12.2 × 9.4 in) 172 × 177 × 95 mm standing (6.8 × 7 × 3.7 in)
Day square (W × H) 52.5 × 50 mm 31.5 × 35 mm 24 × 20 mm
Pages 12 12 12 + yearly calendar + 2-page message board
Weight About 540 g About 245 g About 126 g
Includes Marker, tin toolbar Marker, tin toolbar Fine marker
Japan price ¥3,190 (about US$20) ¥2,640 (about US$17) ¥1,980 (about US$13)

All three run January to December 2027 and list Japanese national holidays, major days, the 24 solar terms and moon phases.

One day square of each Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar size to scale: 52.5 × 50, 31.5 × 35 and 24 × 20 mm
One day square of each size at 1 mm = 3 px.

Which size should you choose?

Full for a family wall, Medium for one person’s desk area, With Pocket for a desk with no wall. Hobonichi says Full is the classic size, almost unchanged since launch, and suggests Medium for personal plans like a student’s study schedule.

The Full’s day square, 52.5 × 50 mm, fits several short lines in marker; the With Pocket’s 24 × 20 mm square holds a word or two, which is why it ships with a Fine marker.

How do you use it day to day?

Write with the included marker, wipe with its eraser, and tear off the month along the perforation when it ends. The tin toolbar on the Full and Medium holds the magnetic marker, and Hobonichi suggests using magnets on it to pin receipts or notes.

Hobonichi warns that the surface may darken after a lot of rewriting; a wet wipe or damp cloth cleans it. It also says to store the marker flat so the ink keeps flowing.

Is it right for US buyers?

Yes, if you can live with Japanese holidays printed on it; the dates and grid are universal. It doesn’t mark US holidays, so add yours in marker.

Hobonichi’s own store ships it abroad, priced in our $$$ band ($20–75) for the Medium. For a paper desk calendar instead, see the MD Desk Calendar 2027; for decorative wall art, the Rifle Paper Co. 2027 Wall Calendar.

What are the downsides?

Japanese holidays, a marker that needs storing flat, and a surface that can darken after a lot of rewriting. Hobonichi lists all three in its notes, and suggests cleaning with a damp cloth.

The With Pocket’s day squares are small, and its pages detach from the ring rather than tearing off along a perforation, because of the file pocket, per Hobonichi.

The ceramic month numerals by Yuko Suga are a matter of taste: they change every year, and the 2027 set is sculptural rather than plain type.

Where is it made?

Hobonichi doesn’t give a country of origin on its store pages, so we list it as Not stated. Hobonichi Co., Ltd. is based in Tokyo; its Hobonichi Techo lineup shares the same store.

Frequently asked questions

How does the Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar work?

Each month's page has a whiteboard surface, so you write plans with the included marker and wipe them off when they change. At the end of a month you tear the page off along its perforation.

What size is the Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar?

Full is 438 × 395 mm (17.2 × 15.6 in), Medium 310 × 240 mm (12.2 × 9.4 in) and With Pocket 172 × 177 × 95 mm when standing, per Hobonichi.

Does the Hobonichi whiteboard calendar show US holidays?

No. Hobonichi lists Japanese national holidays, major days such as Valentine's Day and Mother's Day, the 24 solar terms and moon phases.

Can you use any dry-erase marker on it?

Hobonichi includes its own magnetic marker with an eraser. It doesn't name other markers; test another brand in a corner first, and wipe with a damp cloth if the surface darkens.

What is the toolbar on the Hobonichi calendar?

A white tin strip, 100 × 20 mm, that comes with the Full and Medium. It holds the magnetic marker, and magnets on it can pin notes or receipts.

Where is the Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar made?

Hobonichi doesn't say on its store pages, so we list it as Not stated.

Sources (5)

  1. ほぼ日ホワイトボードカレンダー2027 フルサイズ (Hobonichi Japanese store: 438 × 395 mm, day 52.5 × 50 mm, 12 sheets, about 540 g, coated paper with polypropylene surface, PVC holder, tin toolbar 100 × 20 mm, marker, Japanese holidays, solar terms, moon phases, perforated; LOFT calendar no. 1 for 21 years; ¥3,190 in the store's item data; read October 24, 2026)
  2. ほぼ日ホワイトボードカレンダー2027 ミディアム (Hobonichi Japanese store: 310 × 240 mm, day 31.5 × 35 mm, about 245 g; ¥2,640)
  3. ほぼ日ホワイトボードカレンダー2027 ファイルポケットつき (Hobonichi Japanese store: 172 × 177 × 95 mm standing, day 24 × 20 mm, 12 sheets + message board + yearly calendar, about 126 g, Fine marker; ¥1,980)
  4. Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar 2027, Full Size (Hobonichi English store: specs in inches, Japanese National Holidays)
  5. Hobonichi Whiteboard Calendar 2027, Medium (Hobonichi English store, US price shown in our $$$ band)

Plain-text version for AI agents: hobonichi-whiteboard-calendar-2027.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.