Compiled from 7 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research
Quick answer
The Nikko Maru (N-659) is a Japanese dip-pen nib made by Tachikawa for fine manga detail. Tachikawa says it writes the thinnest line of its nibs, yet still lets you vary that line, and suits faces, eyes and hair. It comes as 2, 10 or 100 nibs, in our $ band (under $5 a nib).
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
Made by Tachikawa Pin Mfg. Co., Ltd. (Tachikawa). Made in Japan: Tachikawa's Mie factory page (Japanese) says its products come from that factory and that it keeps key work, such as the hand-sharpened blades that cut the nib slit, in Japan as far as it can. It also says sourcing materials abroad is common and it is no exception, so the steel's origin is not stated. Source. Price: example listing.
Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).
Key takeaways
Tachikawa lists the Nikko Maru at ¥480 (about US$3.00) for 2 nibs and ¥2,300 (about US$14.60) for 10, both before tax on November 2, 2026: ¥230 (about US$1.46) a nib in the 10-pack.
Tachikawa says it writes the thinnest line of its 5 Nikko comic nibs and can still vary line strength, and recommends it for faces, eyes and hair.
The 10-nib pack comes in a plastic storage case; Tachikawa's FAQ says the 2-, 10- and 100-nib packs hold the same nib.
Tachikawa's FAQ says the older Maru with no surface plating was discontinued in March 2012 and won't be made again.
Tachikawa says its Nikko nibs are made softer than its Tachikawa-brand nibs, so they bend more easily.
What is the Nikko Maru pen nib?
It is a slim, rolled steel dip nib for the finest lines in manga inking, sold under the Nikko name by Tachikawa. Maru means round in Japanese, and Tachikawa’s photo shows a narrow tube rather than the flat spoon shape of its G.
Tachikawa Pin Mfg. says it began in 1935 as a maker of steel pen nibs, pins and clips, and that it is one of only two makers in Japan of the Maru, G and Spoon nibs that professional cartoonists still use. Its English page calls the Maru a mapping pen. We read its Japanese product pages on November 2, 2026 and translated them.
If you would rather start with a wider nib, see our Nikko G guide.
Nikko Maru pen nib specs
Spec
Nikko Maru (N-659)
Pack codes
N659-2 (2 nibs), N659-10 (10, in a plastic case), N659-100 (100, boxed)
List price before tax
¥480 (about US$3.00) for 2; ¥2,300 (about US$14.60) for 10; ¥22,500 (about US$142) for 100
Line
Thinnest of Tachikawa’s nibs, with line variation
Suggested use
Manga characters (especially faces, eyes and hair), effect lines, backgrounds
Nib size, weight, metal
Not stated on Tachikawa’s page
Maker
Tachikawa Pin Mfg. Co., Ltd., Mie factory, Japan
Tachikawa’s prices exclude tax and were read on November 2, 2026. The 10-nib pack works out at ¥230 (about US$1.46) a nib. Tachikawa doesn’t name the metal for the Maru.
How does the Nikko Maru write?
Tachikawa says it writes its thinnest line and still lets you vary the strength of that line. It recommends the Maru for details such as faces, eyes and hair, and also lists effect lines and backgrounds.
Tachikawa explains line strength as the way angle and pressure let one nib draw both thick and thin lines. It gives no line width in millimeters, and the strokes above are schematic.
Why did Tachikawa stop the older Maru?
Tachikawa says it ended the older Maru, the kind without surface plating, in March 2012 and has no plan to make it again. Its FAQ gives that answer to a reader asking where the old type went.
The FAQ doesn’t describe the current nib’s plating, so we don’t. If you find an unplated Maru in a shop, it is old stock.
Is a Nikko nib softer than a Tachikawa nib?
Yes, per Tachikawa: Nikko nibs are made softer and Tachikawa-brand nibs harder. A softer nib bends more easily under pressure, and Tachikawa asks you to pick by your drawing style and habits.
Who is the Nikko Maru for?
It suits people drawing small, fine details with a pen that still reacts to pressure. Tachikawa names faces, eyes and hair.
Drawing and sketching: Tachikawa lists the Maru for fine detail such as faces, eyes and hair and says it writes its thinnest line.
Artists: Tachikawa says professional cartoonists use Maru nibs, and sells the Nikko Maru from ¥480 (about US$3.00) for 2 nibs.
Skip it if you want a wide, bold line: Tachikawa says its G nib writes the thickest.
Which holder does it fit?
Tachikawa’s free-size holders, or its Maru-only holder while stock lasts. The T-25, T-36, T-40 and TAMO wood holders take every Tachikawa and Nikko nib. The N-17 is a holder made for the Tachikawa 99 Maru, 77 Soft Maru and the Nikko Maru, and Tachikawa marks it as sold only while stock lasts.
Tachikawa separates holders into three kinds: Maru-only, flat-nib-only and free-size. A flat-nib holder such as the N-20 won’t take a Maru.
Should you buy 2, 10 or 100?
Two to try, ten for regular use. Every pack holds the same nib, according to Tachikawa’s FAQ.
Pack
Code
Price before tax
2 nibs
N659-2
¥480 (about US$3.00)
10 nibs, plastic case
N659-10
¥2,300 (about US$14.60)
100 nibs
N659-100
¥22,500 (about US$142)
For an even, medium line that suits a first dip pen, see the Nikko Nihonji nib.
Where is the Nikko Maru made?
By Tachikawa in Japan. Tachikawa’s Mie factory page says its products come from that factory and that the blades that cut each nib’s slit are ground by hand. We found no US price from a source we can read; yen prices change, so check before you order.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Nikko Maru the same as a mapping pen nib?
Tachikawa's English page uses the term for it. Its Japanese name means round pen, and the nib is a slim rolled tube rather than a flat spoon shape.
How thin a line does the Nikko Maru write?
Tachikawa calls it the thinnest line of its nibs but gives no width in millimeters. It also says you can vary the line strength.
Does the Maru fit a normal pen holder?
Yes, a free-size holder. Tachikawa's T-25, T-36, T-40 and TAMO holders take every Nikko and Tachikawa nib. Its Maru-only holder, the N-17, is sold only while stock lasts.
How many Nikko Maru nibs come in a pack?
Two, ten or one hundred. Tachikawa's codes are N659-2, N659-10 and N659-100, and its FAQ says every pack holds the same nib.
Is a Maru harder to use than a G nib?
Tachikawa doesn't rank them. It says dip pens take time to master and that the G in particular needs a lot of practice; for a first nib it points to the Nihonji.
Does the Nikko Maru cost more than the G?
Yes, per nib. On November 2, 2026 Tachikawa's 10-nib pack was ¥2,300 (about US$14.60) for the Maru and ¥1,300 (about US$8.20) for the G, before tax.
Where can you buy the Nikko Maru in the US?
We found no US price from a source we can read. Tachikawa's own site lists prices in yen and we didn't check its stockists.