Compiled from 8 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research
Quick answer
The Nikko G is a Japanese dip-pen nib made by Tachikawa for manga inking. Tachikawa says it writes the thickest line of its nibs and varies that line easily, but takes some getting used to. It is sold as 3, 10 or 100 nibs, in our $ band (under $5 a nib), and fits Tachikawa's free-size holders.
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
Made by Tachikawa Pin Mfg. Co., Ltd. (Tachikawa). Made in Japan: Tachikawa's Mie factory page (Japanese) says its products come from that factory and that it keeps key work, such as the hand-sharpened blades that cut the nib slit, in Japan as far as it can. It also says sourcing materials abroad is common and it is no exception, so the steel's origin is not stated. Source. Price: example listing.
Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).
Key takeaways
On November 2, 2026 Tachikawa listed the Nikko G at ¥400 (about US$2.50) for 3 nibs and ¥1,300 (about US$8.20) for 10, both before tax: about ¥130 (about US$0.82) a nib in the 10-pack.
Tachikawa says the G writes the thickest line of the nibs it sells and that getting the line variation you want takes some practice.
Tachikawa's FAQ says the 3-, 10- and 100-nib packs hold the same nib; only the count, packaging and price differ.
Tachikawa says its Nikko nibs are made softer than its Tachikawa-brand nibs, so they bend more easily under pressure.
Tachikawa's company page says it is one of only 2 makers in Japan of the Maru, G and Spoon nibs that professional cartoonists still use.
What is the Nikko G pen nib?
It is a pointed steel dip nib for manga inking, sold under the Nikko name by Tachikawa. You push it into a holder, dip it in ink and write; there is no ink reservoir.
Tachikawa Pin Mfg. says it began in 1935 as a maker of steel pen nibs, pins and clips, and that it is one of only two makers in Japan of the Maru, G and Spoon nibs, in its Tachikawa and Nikko brands, that professional cartoonists still use. Nikko is one of its two nib brands; the other carries the Tachikawa name. We read Tachikawa’s Japanese product pages on November 2, 2026 and translated them.
NG-3 (3 nibs), NG-10 (10, in a plastic case), NG-100 (100, boxed)
List price before tax
¥400 (about US$2.50) for 3; ¥1,300 (about US$8.20) for 10; ¥12,500 (about US$79) for 100
Line
Thickest of Tachikawa’s nibs, with easy line variation
Suggested use
Manga characters and effect lines
Nib size, weight, metal
Not stated on Tachikawa’s page
Maker
Tachikawa Pin Mfg. Co., Ltd., Mie factory, Japan
Tachikawa’s prices exclude tax, and we read them on November 2, 2026. The 10-nib pack works out at about ¥130 (about US$0.82) a nib. Tachikawa doesn’t name the metal or any plating for the G, so we don’t either; its history page says only that the company began with steel nibs.
How does the Nikko G write?
Tachikawa says it makes the widest line of its nibs and shows pen pressure easily, but it takes practice. The page describes a G as easy to vary from a thin line to a thick one by angle and pressure, and warns that getting the variation you want takes some getting used to. Its FAQ is blunter: the G needs a good deal of practice.
Tachikawa describes line strength as the way the nib’s angle and your pressure let you draw both thick and thin lines. It doesn’t publish line widths in millimeters.
Is a Nikko G softer than a Tachikawa G?
Yes, according to Tachikawa: Nikko nibs are made softer and Tachikawa-brand nibs harder. Its FAQ says that makes a Nikko nib easier to flex, and asks you to choose by your drawing style and habits.
That matters when you pick a G for pressure work. Reviewers disagree about the flex of the Tachikawa G, which is why our roundup leads with the Nikko.
Who is the Nikko G for?
It suits people who want to ink with a wide, pressure-sensitive line. Tachikawa lists it for manga characters and effect lines.
Drawing and sketching: Tachikawa lists the G for manga characters and effect lines and says it writes the thickest line of its 5 Nikko comic nibs.
Artists: Tachikawa says professional cartoonists use G nibs, and sells the Nikko G from ¥400 (about US$2.50) for 3 nibs.
Skip it if you want an even, easy-going line from the first stroke: Tachikawa points beginners to its Nihonji nib instead.
Which holder does it need?
Any of Tachikawa’s free-size holders. Its T-25, T-36 and T-40 and the premium TAMO wood holder take every Tachikawa and Nikko nib, including the G.
Tachikawa also sells the N-20, a wood holder for flat nibs, but marks it as discontinued and sold only while stock lasts. Its Maru-only holder, the N-17, is in the same state. Nibs and holders are separate purchases.
Should you buy 3, 10 or 100?
Three to try, ten for regular use. The nib is identical in each pack, per Tachikawa’s FAQ, so the choice is price and storage.
Pack
Code
Price before tax
3 nibs
NG-3
¥400 (about US$2.50)
10 nibs, plastic case
NG-10
¥1,300 (about US$8.20)
100 nibs
NG-100
¥12,500 (about US$79)
If you also want a thinner line, the Nikko Maru nib writes Tachikawa’s thinnest.
Where is the Nikko G made?
By Tachikawa in Japan. Tachikawa’s Mie factory page says its products come from that factory and that the blades that cut each nib’s slit are ground by hand. We found no US price from a source we can read, and Japanese shop prices change, so check before you order.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Nikko G a flex nib?
It varies its line with pressure, but Tachikawa gives no flex rating. Its page says the line variation is easy to produce and takes some practice to control.
How many Nikko G nibs come in a pack?
Three, ten or one hundred. Tachikawa's codes are NG-3, NG-10 and NG-100, and its FAQ says all three hold the same nib.
Why does Tachikawa sell both Nikko and Tachikawa G nibs?
They differ in hardness. Tachikawa says Nikko nibs are made softer and Tachikawa-brand nibs harder, so the Nikko bends more easily; it suggests choosing by your drawing style and habits.
What holder does the Nikko G fit?
Tachikawa's free-size holders (T-25, T-36, T-40 and the premium wood holder) take every Tachikawa and Nikko nib. Its flat-nib holder, the N-20, also takes the G but is sold only while stock lasts.
Does the Nikko G come with a case?
The 10-nib pack comes in a plastic case that Tachikawa says is handy for storing the nibs. The 3-nib pack is a small bag.
How much does the Nikko G cost in the US?
We found no US retailer price from a source we can read. Tachikawa's own price was ¥400 (about US$2.50) for 3 nibs before tax on November 2, 2026, and our dip-pen roundup carries a UK retailer's price.
Is the Nikko G good for beginners?
Tachikawa says the G needs a good deal of practice and recommends its Nihonji nib to people new to dip pens. A G is still a common first nib for drawing.