Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Brand: Fonte (Komamono Lab)

Fonte Bottle Ink: Ten Gemstone Colors, 20 g Bottles

Compiled from 2 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

Fonte Bottle Ink is a line of 20 g water-based dye inks from Komamono Lab, the original-goods brand of Japan's Nippan. It has ten colors named after gemstones and their meanings, in a 27 by 72 mm glass bottle with a plastic lid. Komamono Lab lists each at ¥1,518 (about US$9.60) with tax.

On this page10 sections
Ten Fonte bottle ink bottles in a row, 27 by 72 mm each, above ten color chips, drawn to scale
The ten bottles at 1 mm = 3.2 px from Komamono Lab's 27 by 72 mm size, each with its ink tint. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

Product facts

Product
Fonte Bottle Ink, 20 g glass bottle, ten dye ink colors (Komamono Lab)
Brand
Fonte (Komamono Lab)
Brand origin
Japan
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Water-based dye ink in a glass bottle with a polypropylene lid
Price range
$$$5–20 per item
Colors

01 I Like YouMaker label wisteria; gemstone amethyst

Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by Nippan (Nippon Shuppan Hanbai Inc.), Japan, under its komamono lab brand. Country of manufacture not stated: Komamono Lab's Fonte page lists size, materials and price for the ink but not the country of manufacture. Price: example listing.
  • Colors: names per Komamono Lab (Japanese): Fonte brand page, bottle ink section, checked November 4, 2026. Names are translated from Komamono Lab's Japanese color names and the color word in brackets is the maker's own label. Tints were sampled by hand from the maker's color images, which show a pen scribble, and are representative. In two images the scribble and the maker's color word disagree (02 and 09), so check the ink on your paper. Tints are representative, not measured. Shops stock different colors.
  • How we test and disclose samples: How we test stationery.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • Komamono Lab lists ten Fonte inks, each a 20 g glass bottle 27 mm across and 72 mm high, filled with water-based dye ink.
  • Each color is named for a gemstone and the meaning attached to it, such as Amethyst for I Like You and Sanukite for Just Try It First.
  • Two pearl inks, Gold and Silver, are water-based pigment inks sold for mixing into the ten colors, at ¥1,980 (about US$12.50) with tax each.
  • An empty bottle of the same size costs ¥550 (about US$3.50) with tax and is for storing, sharing or mixing shimmer inks.
  • Komamono Lab gives no dry time, water resistance, sheen or pH, and we found no US retailer listing for the line on November 4, 2026.

What is Fonte Bottle Ink?

It is the bottled ink of Fonte, Komamono Lab’s customizable pen line. Komamono Lab is the original-goods brand of Nippan, the Japanese publisher distributor, and it sells the ink beside the line’s pens and caps. Its page says the colors are named for the meaning and prayer attached to the gemstone each one is modeled on, so each ink carries a short wish for the writer.

You pair it with a pen that takes a converter, such as the Fonte Skeleton Fountain Pen. We found no maker notice with a release date for the ink, so we do not state one.

Fonte Bottle Ink specs

Spec Value
Maker Nippan (Nippon Shuppan Hanbai), brand Komamono Lab, Japan
Contents 20 g of ink per bottle
Bottle Glass body, polypropylene lid; up to 27 mm across, 72 mm high
Ink Water-based dye (ten colors); water-based pigment (pearl gold and silver)
Dry time, water resistance, sheen Not stated
Price in Japan ¥1,380 (about US$8.70) before tax; ¥1,518 (about US$9.60) with tax per color

Everything is from Komamono Lab’s Japanese Fonte page, read November 4, 2026. The page gives no pH, no weight of the full bottle and no safety notes.

Three Fonte bottles at one scale: a colored dye ink, a gold pearl ink and an empty bottle, each 27 by 72 mm
The three bottle types share one size; lids and labels are drawn by eye. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

Which colors are there?

Ten, each named for a gemstone and its meaning. Our translations of Komamono Lab’s names, with the maker’s color word in brackets: 01 I Like You (wisteria, amethyst), 02 Straight and Strong (dark navy, sapphire), 03 Let’s Get Moving (pale blue, kyanite), 04 With a Wide Heart (verdigris, tourmaline), 05 Take a Break (dark green, malachite), 06 Take It Slowly (matcha, idocrase), 07 Supple (ochre, a stone the maker writes in katakana, romanized Oro Verdi), 08 Toward the Bright Side (reddish brown, mookaite), 09 Deep Breath (light brown, smoky quartz) and 10 Just Try It First (black, sanukite).

The swatches on this page are sampled from the maker’s own images, which show a pen scribble beside each stone. Two disagree with the maker’s color word: 02 is called dark navy but the image shows a teal blue, and 09 is called light brown but looks dark brown. Neither is a defect we can confirm; it may be how the maker drew the swatch, so test the ink before you buy by color name alone.

What are the pearl inks and the empty bottle?

The pearl inks are mixers, not writing inks on their own. Komamono Lab sells Gold Pearl and Silver Pearl as water-based pigment inks to be mixed with the ten colors for a shimmer, at ¥1,800 (about US$11.40) before tax and ¥1,980 (about US$12.50) with tax. Pigment inks generally call for more careful cleaning than dye inks, so rinse the pen well after mixing; our fountain pen ink properties guide explains why.

The empty bottle is ¥500 (about US$3.20) before tax and ¥550 (about US$3.50) with tax, numbered 00. Komamono Lab says it is for storing or sharing ink and for mixing shimmer inks.

Who is Fonte Bottle Ink for?

It suits someone who likes giftable, named colors and already owns a pen that takes bottled ink. The ten colors share one price and one size, so choosing is about the name and the shade, not the spec. Anyone who needs a documented dry time, waterproofing or a safe-for-all-pens statement should look at an ink with those facts, such as those in our best fountain pen inks roundup, because Komamono Lab gives none of them.

Where is Fonte Bottle Ink made?

Komamono Lab doesn’t say. Its page lists contents, bottle size and materials but no country of manufacture. Nippan, its owner, is a Japanese company.

How much does it cost?

It sits in our $$ band ($5-20) at Japanese prices. The ten colors are ¥1,380 (about US$8.70) before tax and ¥1,518 (about US$9.60) with tax each; pearl inks are ¥1,980 (about US$12.50) with tax. Yoseka Stationery’s Fonte listings (pens and caps) did not include the ink when we checked on November 4, 2026, so we have no US price. Shipping and import costs would add to the yen price.

Frequently asked questions

How many colors does Fonte Bottle Ink come in?

Ten dye inks, numbered 01 to 10, plus two pearl inks (gold and silver) for mixing and an empty bottle numbered 00, according to Komamono Lab's Fonte page.

How big is a Fonte ink bottle?

Each bottle is 27 mm across at most and 72 mm high, and holds 20 g of ink. It is glass with a polypropylene lid.

Is Fonte ink a dye or a pigment ink?

The ten colors are water-based dye inks. The gold and silver pearl inks are water-based pigment inks, which Komamono Lab sells for mixing with the colors.

Is Fonte ink waterproof?

Komamono Lab doesn't say. Its page gives no water resistance, dry time or sheen, so test a line on your own paper before relying on it.

Can you use Fonte ink in other fountain pens?

Komamono Lab sells it for its own Fonte pens, which use a converter. The page makes no claim about other pens, and we have not tested it, so check your pen maker's ink advice.

What do the Fonte ink color names mean?

Komamono Lab names each color after a gemstone and what the stone is said to stand for: Amethyst is I Like You, Sapphire is Straight and Strong, Malachite is Take a Break and Sanukite is Just Try It First.

How much does Fonte Bottle Ink cost?

In Japan the colors are ¥1,380 (about US$8.70) before tax and ¥1,518 (about US$9.60) with tax per bottle. That is our $$ band ($5-20). We found no US price on November 4, 2026.

What is the empty Fonte bottle for?

Komamono Lab says it is for storing or sharing ink and for mixing shimmer inks. It is the same 27 by 72 mm size and costs ¥550 (about US$3.50) with tax.

Sources (2)

  1. Komamono Lab (Japanese): Fonte brand page, bottle ink section (ten dye inks ¥1,380 (about US$8.70), ¥1,518 (about US$9.60) with tax; 20 g; 27 x 72 mm; glass bottle, PP lid; water-based dye ink; gold and silver pearl pigment inks ¥1,980 (about US$12.50) with tax; empty bottle ¥550 (about US$3.50) with tax; color names and gemstone meanings; read November 4, 2026)
  2. Yoseka Stationery: Fonte Fountain Pen and Fonte Pen Cap listings (the Fonte pens the ink is sold for; no bottle ink listing found; checked November 4, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: fonte-bottle-ink.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.