Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Brand: Taccia

Taccia Ukiyo-e Ink Version 2: Hiroshige and Utamaro

Compiled from 4 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

Taccia Ukiyo-e Ink Version 2 is a set of eight fountain pen ink colors in 40 ml glass bottles, four inspired by the painter Hiroshige and four by Utamaro, each boxed with their artwork. Taccia says it recreated the colors the artists used. Pen Chalet listed a bottle at US$20 on November 5, 2026.

On this page10 sections
Eight Taccia Ukiyo-e Ink Version 2 bottles in one row: four Hiroshige colors on the left and four Utamaro colors on the right
All eight 40 ml bottles, Hiroshige colors on the left and Utamaro colors on the right; drawn by eye, colors from the label discs. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

Product facts

Product
Ukiyo-e Ink Version 2 (40 ml)
Brand
Taccia
Brand origin
Japan and the United States
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Glass bottle in a coated cardboard box (per Pen Chalet); ink type not stated
Price range
$$$5–20 per item
Colors

Hiroshige Asahanada

Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by TACCIA (maker's US site: Taccia USA, run by Eshlons Corp.). Country of manufacture not stated: The maker's product page gives no country of manufacture. Pen Chalet calls the brand Japanese-American. Source. Price: example listing.
  • Colors: names per Taccia USA (maker's Ukiyo-e Ink Version 2 page and product photos), checked November 5, 2026. Names are the maker's; the English glosses in the guide come from Pen Chalet. Tints were sampled from the colored disc on each bottle label in the maker's photos, not from ink on paper, so the written color will differ. Tints are representative, not measured. Shops stock different colors.
  • How we test and disclose samples: How we test stationery.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • There are 8 colors: Hiroshige Asahanada, Ruri, Nakamurasaki and Ainezu, and Utamaro Benizakura, Aomurasaki, Usuzumi and Umemurasaki.
  • Taccia says it recreated the colors Hiroshige and Utamaro used and put their masterpieces on the packaging; Version 1 covered Hokusai and Sharaku.
  • Each bottle holds 40 ml; Pen Chalet listed one at US$20 (about US$0.50 per ml) and a 4 ml sample at US$6.40 (US$1.60 per ml) on November 5, 2026.
  • Atlas Stationers listed the same colors at US$32 each that day, all out of stock; Pen Chalet marked several colors special order.
  • The maker's page does not say whether the ink is dye or pigment, and gives no water-resistance or dry-time figure; we have not tested it.

What is Taccia Ukiyo-e Ink Version 2?

It is a boxed set of eight ink colors named for two Edo-period print artists. Ukiyo-e is the Japanese woodblock-print genre; the Taccia pen brand’s first Ukiyo-e inks drew on Hokusai and Sharaku, and Version 2 turns to Hiroshige, known for birds, flowers and landscapes, and Utamaro, who specialized in portraits of beautiful women. Taccia says it recreated the colors the artists used and put their masterpieces on the packaging. We read the maker’s US page and two US retailers on November 5, 2026.

Which eight colors are in it?

Four are named for Hiroshige and four for Utamaro.

Maker’s name Pen Chalet’s English gloss
Hiroshige Asahanada Sky blue
Hiroshige Ruri Lapis lazuli
Hiroshige Nakamurasaki Red purple
Hiroshige Ainezu Blue gray
Utamaro Benizakura Crimson cherry blossom
Utamaro Aomurasaki Blue purple
Utamaro Usuzumi Light black
Utamaro Umemurasaki Plum purple

The tints in the fact card come from the colored disc on each bottle label in the maker’s photos, not from ink on paper, so a written line will look different. For how ink behaves on different paper, see fountain pen ink properties explained.

How does a bottle compare with a sample?

A 40 ml bottle costs about a third as much per ml as the 4 ml sample. Pen Chalet listed the bottle at US$20.00 (US$0.50 per ml) and the sample at US$6.40 retail (US$1.60 per ml) on November 5, 2026, so a sample is a cheap way to test a color.

Bar chart of Pen Chalet price per millilitre: 40 ml bottle at 20 dollars is 50 cents, 4 ml sample at 6.40 dollars is 1.60 dollars
US dollars per millilitre at Pen Chalet retail prices, November 5, 2026. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

The maker’s page does not give the bottle volume or say whether the ink is dye or pigment; Pen Chalet lists glass 40 ml bottles in coated cardboard boxes. The maker’s separate Sunaoiro ink is described as a water-based dye ink, but that is a different line.

What came before Version 2, and what else does Taccia sell?

Version 1 covered Hokusai and Sharaku. The maker says the first Ukiyo-e inks took their colors from those two artists, and Atlas Stationers lists eight Version 1 colors, four for each name. Taccia’s separate Sunaoiro ink is a 40 ml water-based dye ink in 13 colors named Kuro, Tsuchi, Cha, Daidai, Aka, Momo, Ebi, Murasaki, Ao, Aoguro, Sora, Midori and Uguisu. Those names are the maker’s; we did not read a price or review for Sunaoiro.

How easy are the colors to find?

Not all eight are on the shelf at once. On November 5, 2026 Pen Chalet listed seven of the eight colors, leaving out Utamaro Umemurasaki, and marked four of them (Hiroshige Asahanada, Ruri and Ainezu, and Utamaro Benizakura) as special orders. It says special orders typically ship in 15 to 30 business days, and occasionally take one to three months. Atlas Stationers listed every Version 2 color that day but had all of them out of stock.

Who is the Ukiyo-e Ink Version 2 for?

It suits people who choose an ink for the art behind its color, because each bottle ships in a box printed with the artist’s work.

Skip it if you need a stated water resistance or dry time: the maker publishes neither, and we have not tested it.

What does it cost, and where is it made?

It sits in our $$ band ($5 to $20) at Pen Chalet. On November 5, 2026 Pen Chalet listed a 40 ml bottle at US$20.00, with several colors marked special order, which it says can ship in 15 to 30 business days. Atlas Stationers listed each color at US$32 that day, all out of stock, which would put it in the $$$ band. Prices change, and we did not check other sellers.

Where it is made is not stated on the pages we read. For other inks to compare, see our best fountain pen inks roundup.

Frequently asked questions

What does Taccia Ukiyo-e Ink Version 2 include?

Eight fountain pen ink colors released after Version 1, inspired by two more Edo-period print artists, Hiroshige and Utamaro. Taccia says it recreated the colors they used and printed their masterpieces on the boxes.

Which colors are in it?

Hiroshige Asahanada, Ruri, Nakamurasaki and Ainezu, and Utamaro Benizakura, Aomurasaki, Usuzumi and Umemurasaki. Pen Chalet glosses them as sky blue, lapis lazuli, red purple, blue gray, crimson cherry blossom, blue purple, light black and plum purple.

How big is a bottle?

40 ml in a glass bottle, per Pen Chalet, which also sells a 4 ml sample of each color. The maker's page lists the colors but not the volume.

What was Version 1?

The maker says the first version dealt with Hokusai and Sharaku. Version 2 moved on to Hiroshige and Utamaro.

Is it a dye or pigment ink?

Not stated on the maker's page. The maker's separate Sunaoiro ink is described as a water-based dye ink, but the Ukiyo-e page says nothing, so we cannot say.

Is it waterproof, and how fast does it dry?

The maker publishes no water-resistance or dry-time figure for this line, and we have not tested it. Treat any ink of unknown type as water-soluble until you test a page.

How much does it cost?

On November 5, 2026 Pen Chalet listed a 40 ml bottle at US$20.00 and a 4 ml sample at US$6.40 retail (US$4.80 on sale). Atlas Stationers listed each color at US$32 that day, out of stock. Prices change.

Where is it made?

Not stated. The maker's US site is run by Eshlons Corp. and does not give a country of manufacture for the ink.

Sources (4)

  1. Taccia USA (maker): Ukiyo-e Ink Version 2, color names, SKUs and the Hiroshige and Utamaro story (read November 5, 2026)
  2. Pen Chalet (US retailer): 2nd Version Ukiyo-e (40 ml) ink, price, English color glosses and special-order notes (read November 5, 2026)
  3. Pen Chalet (US retailer): 2nd Version Ukiyo-e 4 ml sample, retail and sale price (read November 5, 2026)
  4. Atlas Stationers (US retailer): Taccia Ukiyo-e 40 ml bottled inks, US$32 each, out of stock (read November 5, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: taccia-ukiyo-e-ink-version-2.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.