Compiled from 3 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research
Quick answer
The School of Life Writing Journal is a 210 × 148 mm softcover with rounded corners, an elastic closure and 192 pages of 100g paper, dot grid in Sage and lined in Burgundy. The London company's shop listed each at £16 (about US$21) on November 5, 2026, in our $$$ band. Where it is made is not stated.
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
Made by Campus London Limited (trading as The School of Life). Country of manufacture not stated: The maker's product pages and bellyband photos give no country of manufacture. Source. Price: example listing.
Colors: names per The School of Life Shop (Sage and Burgundy product pages and photos), checked November 5, 2026. Two colors are listed, each a separate product page. Tints were sampled from the maker's own photos. Tints are representative, not measured. Shops stock different colors.
Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).
Key takeaways
The School of Life lists 192 pages, 210 × 148 mm (the A5 format), a softcover with rounded corners, a bellyband and an elastic closure.
Two colors are listed: Sage with a dot grid and Burgundy with lines; the bellybands in the maker's photos print 100g paper.
The bellyband describes it as a home for thoughts, plans, reflections, dreams and doodles, and the shop files it under Calm and Work.
Each color was £16 (about US$21) in the maker's UK shop on November 5, 2026, in our $$$ band ($20 to $75).
The maker does not state a country of manufacture, the dot or line spacing, or fountain-pen performance, and we have not tested the paper.
What is The School of Life Writing Journal?
It is a softcover journal sold by The School of Life, a London company, in two colors with two page layouts. The School of Life’s shop is run by Campus London Limited, which its terms of service say trades as The School of Life. It also sells books and card sets, and files this journal under Calm and Work. We read the maker’s two product pages on November 5, 2026.
The pitch is writing as a route to self-knowledge: the maker calls it a place to capture and explore what might otherwise flap restlessly in the mind. The band around the cover says it is a home for thoughts, plans, reflections, dreams and doodles.
What are the size, paper and binding?
210 × 148 mm, 192 pages of 100g paper, a softcover with rounded corners, an elastic closure and a bellyband. These figures come from the product pages and the bellyband printed in the maker’s photos.
Spec
The School of Life says
Size
210 × 148 mm
Pages
192
Paper
100g paper, read from the bellyband in the photos
Cover
Softcover, rounded corners
Closure
Elastic, with a bellyband
Interior
Sage: dot grid. Burgundy: lined
Made in
Not stated
Price
£16 (about US$21) per color, UK shop, November 5, 2026
Price band
$$$ ($20 to $75)
The bellyband prints “100g” without a unit, and we read it as grams per square meter, the usual way to give paper weight; the product pages themselves give no weight. Our notebook sizes chart shows that 210 × 148 mm is the A5 format. The maker does not state the thickness or the weight of the book.
Is it dot grid or lined?
It depends on the color: Sage is dot grid and Burgundy is lined. The two product pages say so, and the bellybands in the photos read gridded and lined. Both pages also add “blank pages” after the ruling, and the maker does not say what that means, for example blank pages at the front or back. The dot or line spacing is not stated either.
Two: Sage and Burgundy, each on its own product page. Sage is a soft gray-green cover with a dark green elastic, and Burgundy is a deep red cover with a dark red elastic. We sampled the tints from the maker’s photos. The maker lists no other colors, and each color is a separate listing, so the layout does not come as a choice within one page.
Who is the Writing Journal for?
It suits people who want a plain journal with a stated page count and paper weight, because it lists 192 pages of 100g paper.
Journaling and planning: 192 pages with a dot grid in Sage or lines in Burgundy, and an elastic closure to keep it shut in a bag.
Skip it if you want a stated country of manufacture or a fountain-pen claim: the maker gives neither. For pens that suit this kind of paper, see our best pens for journaling.
Where is it made, and what does it cost?
Not stated, and £16 (about US$21) per color in the UK shop on November 5, 2026. That is in our $$$ band ($20 to $75). Both colors were in stock when we read the pages. We did not check overseas prices or other sellers, and prices change with shipping and tax.
192, per The School of Life's product pages for both colors. The bellybands in its photos also print 192 pages.
What size is it?
210 × 148 mm, which is the A5 format. The maker lists the size on both product pages and does not state a thickness.
Is the Writing Journal dot grid or lined?
It depends on the color. The Sage one is listed as dot grid and the Burgundy one as lined. Both listings add the words blank pages, which the maker does not explain.
What paper does it use?
The bellybands in the maker's photos read 100g paper, gridded in Sage and lined in Burgundy. The maker states no brand, finish or fountain-pen claim, and we have not tested it.
Does it have a closure or a pocket?
It has an elastic closure and a bellyband. The listings mention no pocket, ribbon or page numbers, so we do not claim any.
How much does it cost?
£16 (about US$21) for either color in the maker's UK shop on November 5, 2026. That is in our $$$ band ($20 to $75). Prices change, and we did not check overseas prices.
Where is it made?
Not stated. The School of Life's product pages and photos give no country of manufacture, so check the packaging.