Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Moleskine Reporter Notebook: Top-Opening Pocket Book

Compiled from 4 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Moleskine Reporter is a pocket notebook that flips open at the top, like a reporter's pad. The soft-cover Pocket is 9 × 14 cm (3.5 × 5.5 in) with 192 ruled pages of ivory 70 g/m² acid-free paper; the last 24 are detachable. It has rounded corners, an elastic closure and an expandable back pocket.

On this page11 sections
Black Moleskine Reporter pocket notebook, closed with its elastic and flipped open at the top on ruled ivory pages, drawn to scale
Closed, and flipped open at the top like a reporter's pad (1 mm = 0.9 px).

Product facts

Product
Moleskine Classic Reporter Notebook, Soft Cover, Pocket, Ruled, Black
Brand
Moleskine
Brand origin
Italy
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Soft cardboard cover, ivory 70 g/m² acid-free FSC paper
Price range
$$$5–20 per notebook
Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by Moleskine S.r.l. (D'Ieteren Group). Country of manufacture not stated: Moleskine's Italian and US product pages for the Reporter (read October 22, 2026) give no country of manufacture, and neither does the Amazon US listing. Retailers list the Moleskine Classic hard covers as made in China; check the band on your Reporter. Source. Price: example listing.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • Pocket size: 9 × 14 cm (3.5 × 5.5 in), the same footprint as a Moleskine Classic Pocket.
  • 192 ruled pages of ivory, acid-free 70 g/m² paper; the last 24 pages are detachable.
  • It's bound along the top edge, so it flips open upward and lies flat at 180°.
  • Moleskine Italy lists the soft-cover Reporter at €18 (about US$20); Amazon US usually sells it in our $$ band.
  • Its Amazon US listing had 651 ratings on October 22, 2026.

What is the Moleskine Reporter Notebook?

It’s Moleskine’s top-opening pocket notebook: the Classic notebook’s paper and size, bound along the short top edge so it flips up like a reporter’s pad. Moleskine files it under its Classic collection as the Classic Reporter Notebook.

The point of a top binding is writing in your hand. You hold the book by its spine, flip finished pages over the top, and the binding never gets in the way of a left- or right-handed writer.

Moleskine Reporter specs

Spec Pocket, soft cover
Size 9 × 14 cm (3.5 × 5.5 in)
Pages 192, ruled
Detachable pages Last 24
Paper Ivory, acid-free, 70 g/m², FSC-certified
Binding Top edge; opens 180° and lies flat
Cover Soft cover, rounded corners
Extras Elastic closure, expandable back pocket, “In case of loss” page
Price €18 (about US$20) in Italy; our $$ band in the US

Specs are from Moleskine’s US and Italian pages and the Amazon US listing, read on October 22, 2026. Moleskine’s US store listed it at US$21 that day; Amazon’s price was lower, inside our $$ band ($5–20).

How does the Reporter compare to the Classic Pocket?

Same page size and paper, different hinge. The Reporter turns pages upward on a top binding; the Moleskine Classic Notebook turns them sideways like a book.

Moleskine Reporter and Classic Pocket drawn to scale, open: the Reporter flips up at the top, the Classic opens sideways
Same 9 × 14 cm page, two directions to open (1 mm = 1 px).
Reporter (Pocket, soft) Classic Pocket (hard) Cahier Journal
Opens Upward (top binding) Sideways Sideways
Pages 192 192 80 (Large)
Detachable pages Last 24 Not listed Last 16
Cover Soft, elastic Hard, elastic Card, no elastic

What’s inside the cover?

The same extras as other Classic notebooks: an “In case of loss” page, an expandable pocket in the back and a short history of Moleskine. The current Reporter also ships with a reusable paper band, which Moleskine calls the B-SIDE, printed with extra tools.

The pocket is a gusseted paper sleeve inside the back cover, big enough for receipts or business cards. The 24 detachable pages sit just in front of it, so you can tear one out without disturbing the bound notes.

How do you write in a top-opening notebook?

Hold it by the bottom edge, write down the page, then flip the finished page up and over the top binding. Because the binding is above your hand, it never digs into your wrist, which is why top-bound pads are the reporter’s tool.

On a desk, a top-bound book also sits straight in front of you rather than taking up the width of two pages. That makes the Reporter a tidy choice for meeting notes on a crowded table.

Who is the Reporter for?

People who write standing up or one-handed: interviews, site notes, shopping lists and to-do lists. A top-bound book is easier to hold steady without a desk, and the detachable back pages let you hand someone a note.

If you want a sturdier pocket book with a rigid cover, look at the KOKUYO Sokuryo Yacho; for a waterproof one, Field Notes Expedition.

Yes: Moleskine labels it a best seller, and its Amazon US listing had 651 ratings on October 22, 2026. Moleskine also sells it as a hard cover.

Where is the Moleskine Reporter made?

Moleskine doesn’t state it on its product pages, and the Amazon listing doesn’t either. Retailers list Moleskine’s Classic hard covers as made in China, but we couldn’t confirm the Reporter, so check the paper band. Moleskine itself is based in Milan, Italy.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Moleskine Reporter and the Classic notebook?

The binding edge. The Reporter is bound along the top and flips up like a reporter's pad; the Classic is bound on the left and opens like a book. The Pocket sizes match at 9 × 14 cm, and the Classic Pocket hard cover also has 192 pages.

How many pages does the Moleskine Reporter have?

192 ruled pages in the soft-cover Pocket, per the Amazon listing; the last 24 are detachable.

Is the Moleskine Reporter hard or soft cover?

Both exist: this guide covers the soft cover, and Moleskine also sells a hard-cover Classic Reporter.

Does the Moleskine Reporter lie flat?

Moleskine says it opens 180° and lies flat, which matters more on a top-bound book you write on in your hand.

Is the Moleskine Reporter good for fountain pens?

Its 70 g/m² ivory paper is the standard Moleskine sheet, which is thin for wet fountain pen inks. We haven't tested the Reporter yet; try a fine nib on a detachable back page.

Is the Moleskine Reporter made in Italy?

Moleskine is an Italian brand based in Milan, but its product pages don't say where the Reporter is made. Retailers list Moleskine's Classic hard covers as made in China; check the paper band on your Reporter.

Sources (4)

  1. Moleskine US: Classic Reporter Notebook, Soft Cover, Black (official page, read October 22, 2026: Pocket 3.5 × 5.5 in, ruled, rounded corners, elastic, 24 detachable pages, ivory 70 g/m² acid-free paper, expandable pocket, opens 180°, FSC; US$21.00)
  2. Moleskine Italia: Taccuino Reporter Classic (Italian page: Pocket 9 × 14 cm, 70 g/m² ivory acid-free paper, €18.00)
  3. Moleskine: Classic Reporter Notebook Hard Cover, Black (hard-cover version)
  4. Amazon US: Moleskine Reporter Notebook, Pocket, Ruled, Black, Soft Cover (651 ratings; 192 pages, 24 detachable; 70 gsm; read October 22, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: moleskine-reporter-notebook.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.