Rocketbook Core: Reusable Pages, Sizes & Scanning
The Rocketbook Core is a reusable notebook from Boston's Rocketbook, owned by BIC since December 2020. It comes in Letter size, 8.5 × 11 in with 32 pages, and Executive size, 6 × 8.8 in with 36 pages. You write with a Pilot FriXion pen, scan pages with the Rocketbook app, then wipe them clean with a damp cloth.
On this page
Product facts
- Product
- Rocketbook Core Reusable Smart Notebook (Letter 8.5 × 11 in, 32 pages · Executive 6 × 8.8 in, 36 pages)
- Brand
- Rocketbook
- Brand origin
- United States
- Made in
- Not stated*
- Material
- Reusable synthetic paper; spiral binding; scratch-resistant cover
- Released
- December 2016*
- Price range
- $$$$20–75 per notebook
Notes on these facts
- Made by Rocketbook (Boston), a BIC company since December 2020. Country of manufacture not stated: Rocketbook's product page and FAQ don't state a country of manufacture. In October 2026 OnTimeSupplies' spec sheets gave China (CN) for both the Executive (RKBERCAFR) and Letter (RKBLRCAFR) Core, while UK distributor TBSG had listed the United States of America (its page no longer loads for us). Check the label on your pack. Source. Price: example listing. Released: First sold as the Everlast through Kickstarter pre-orders in December 2016, shipping from April 2017 (Pocketables); reviews call the Core the former Everlast (Top Ten Reviews).
- Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026.
Key takeaways
- Two sizes: Letter at 8.5 × 11 in (21.6 × 27.9 cm) with 32 pages, and Executive at 6 × 8.8 in (15.2 × 22.4 cm) with 36 pages.
- Each set includes a 0.7 mm black Pilot FriXion pen and a microfiber towel; Rocketbook says other pens won't wipe off, but any FriXion pen, marker or highlighter works.
- BIC announced its purchase of Rocketbook on November 9, 2020 and, in a December 15, 2020 release from Clichy, France, said it had completed it for 40 million US dollars plus an earn-out.
- Rocketbook was founded in 2014 by Joe Lemay and Jake Epstein; BIC said it had 32 million US dollars in net sales in 2020, up 35%.
- Origin is unclear: Rocketbook doesn't state it, OnTimeSupplies' spec sheets give China for both a Letter and an Executive Core, and a UK distributor listed the USA.
What is the Rocketbook Core?
The Rocketbook Core is a spiral-bound notebook with synthetic, wipe-clean pages that you scan with a phone app and then reuse. You write with a Pilot FriXion pen, photograph the page with the free Rocketbook app, and wipe it clean with a damp cloth.
Rocketbook is a Boston company founded in 2014 by Joe Lemay and Jake Epstein. BIC bought it in a deal announced on November 9, 2020; BIC’s French release of December 15, 2020, “Finalisation de l’acquisition de Rocketbook”, says it completed the purchase for 40 million US dollars plus a payment tied to future performance.
Rocketbook Core specs
| Spec | Letter | Executive |
|---|---|---|
| Page size | 8.5 × 11 in (21.6 × 27.9 cm) | 6 × 8.8 in (15.2 × 22.4 cm) |
| Pages | 32 | 36 |
| Page styles | Dot grid or lined | Dot grid or lined |
| Binding | Spiral | Spiral |
| In the box | Notebook, 1 Pilot FriXion pen (0.7 mm, black), 1 microfiber towel | Same |
| Example item code | EVR2-L-RC-A (lined, black) | EVR-E-RC-A-FR (dot grid, black) |
| Brand owner | BIC (since December 15, 2020) | |
| Made in | Not stated by Rocketbook; retailer sheets conflict (China, USA) |
Sizes, page counts and box contents come from Rocketbook’s product page and FAQ; item codes from Staples and Quill listings.
How does a Rocketbook Core work?
Write with a FriXion pen, scan with the app, then wipe the page with a damp cloth. Rocketbook says ink from any Pilot FriXion pen, marker or highlighter takes only seconds to dry and bond to its pages. Other inks aren’t designed to come off.
The app sends scans to destinations you assign, such as Google Drive, Dropbox, Evernote, Box, OneNote, Slack, iCloud and email. Retailer copy says its OCR can name files and transcribe handwriting to text.
What changed in the Next Gen Core?
Rocketbook’s current “Next Gen” Core has a new cover and smaller scan code, but keeps the same sizes and FriXion system. Rocketbook’s announcement says the QR code was replaced with a smaller Data Matrix code to free up writing space.
It also lists a scratch-resistant, lightly textured cover and “premium reusable paper”. Grid pages now include Smart Titles and Smart Tags for naming and sorting files in the app.
Which size should you choose?
Choose Letter if you want full-size pages like a school notebook, and Executive if you carry it in a bag every day.
- Letter (8.5 × 11 in, 32 pages): the same page size as a Five Star 5 Subject sheet. Good for lecture notes, diagrams and meetings.
- Executive (6 × 8.8 in, 36 pages): slightly larger than A5 (148 × 210 mm) and about 56% of the Letter’s page area. It has 4 more pages, though each is smaller.
Because pages are wiped and reused, the page count matters less than on paper. It sets how much you can write before you need to scan and wipe.
How does the Rocketbook Core compare to a paper notebook?
The Core costs more up front than a paper notebook and needs FriXion pens, but you can reuse its pages. A paper notebook such as the Mead Composition Notebook works with any pen and keeps every page.
| Rocketbook Core (Letter) | Paper notebook | |
|---|---|---|
| Pages | 32, reusable | Fixed; used once |
| Pens | Pilot FriXion only | Any pen or pencil |
| Archive | Scans in the app or cloud | The notebook itself |
| Price band | $$$ ($20–75) | Usually $ to $$ |
If you prefer a permanent paper record, a Moleskine Classic or Leuchtturm1917 suits you better.
Where is the Rocketbook Core made?
Rocketbook doesn’t say, and retailer spec sheets disagree. In October 2026 the US office-supply distributor OnTimeSupplies listed China (CN) as the country of origin for both an Executive (RKBERCAFR) and a Letter (RKBLRCAFR) Core.
UK distributor TBSG had listed the United States of America for Letter and Executive sets, but its page no longer loads for us. Rocketbook’s product page and FAQ are silent, so check the label on the pack you buy.
Frequently asked questions
How many pages does a Rocketbook Core have?
The Letter-size Core has 32 pages and the Executive size has 36 pages, according to Rocketbook's product page. Some retailers list the Letter version as 16 sheets, which is the same 32 pages counted front and back.
What pens work with a Rocketbook Core?
Rocketbook says to use pens, markers and highlighters from the Pilot FriXion line, and each Core comes with a 0.7 mm black FriXion pen. Its FAQ says other pens will not wipe off the page.
How do you erase a Rocketbook?
Wipe the page with a damp cloth. Rocketbook includes a microfiber cloth with each Core; a spray bottle is sold separately.
How many times can you reuse a Rocketbook Core?
Rocketbook and its retailers describe the Core as endlessly reusable but don't give a number of cycles. We have not tested how the pages hold up over repeated wiping.
Does the Rocketbook app need an account or subscription?
Rocketbook describes the app as free. It scans pages and sends them to services such as Google Drive, Dropbox, Evernote, Box, OneNote, Slack, iCloud and email, and its OCR can name files and transcribe handwriting.
Who owns Rocketbook?
BIC, the French pen and lighter company, owns Rocketbook. BIC announced the deal on November 9, 2020 and announced its completion from Clichy, France, on December 15, 2020; Rocketbook stays a Boston-based brand.
Where is the Rocketbook Core made?
It isn't clear. Rocketbook doesn't say, a US office-supply distributor's spec sheets give China for both sizes, and a UK distributor listed the USA, so the label on your copy is the best answer.
Sources
- Rocketbook: Rocketbook Core (Next Gen) product page
- Rocketbook: Meet the New and Improved Rocketbook Notebooks (Next Gen changes)
- Rocketbook: FAQs (FriXion 0.7 mm pen included; other pens won't wipe off)
- BIC (AMF filing): Finalisation de l'acquisition de Rocketbook, Clichy, 15 décembre 2020 (closing of the Rocketbook acquisition, French release)
- BIC (AMF filing): Closing of the Rocketbook acquisition, December 15, 2020 (English release)
- BIC (GlobeNewswire): BIC acquisition of Rocketbook, November 9, 2020
- Hartford Business: BIC acquires Boston digital writing company
- Staples: Rocketbook Core 8.5 x 11, lined, 32 pages, black (EVR2-L-RC-A)
- Staples: Rocketbook Core 6 x 8.8, dot grid, 36 pages, black (EVR-E-RC-A-FR)
- Best Buy: Rocketbook Core Executive (6 x 8.8 in, 36 pages, FriXion pen and cloth)
- Quill: Rocketbook Core 8.5 x 11, lined, 32 pages (EVR2-L-RC-A)
- OnTimeSupplies: Rocketbook Core 8.8 x 6, dotted, black, RKBERCAFR (country of origin CN, October 2026)
- OnTimeSupplies: Rocketbook Core 11 x 8.5, dotted, black, RKBLRCAFR (country of origin CN)
- TBSG (UK): Rocketbook Core Executive Set, dot, black (country of origin USA)
- My Work Supply: Rocketbook Core 8.5 x 11 (app destinations and OCR)
- Quadient: Rocketbook Core Letter Set (synthetic reusable paper)
- Pocketables: Rocketbook Everlast announced on Kickstarter (December 2016)
- Top Ten Reviews: Rocketbook Core (formerly Everlast) review