Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Hobonichi Techo Planner 2027: English A6 Daily Book

Compiled from 4 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Hobonichi Techo Planner 2027 is an English-language A6 page-a-day book designed with Sonya Park of Arts&Science. It measures 148 × 105 × 15 mm, weighs about 190 g and has 448 pages of Tomoe River paper with a 4 mm grid and a charcoal-and-red design. Hobonichi lists it at ¥3,410 (about US$22).

On this page10 sections
Hobonichi Techo Planner 2027, an A6 book, closed and opened on two daily pages with a 4 mm grid
The Planner closed and open on a daily spread, drawn to scale (1 mm = 1.4 px).

Product facts

Product
Hobonichi Techo 2027 Planner Book, A6, English, January start, Monday start
Brand
Hobonichi
Brand origin
Japan
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Tomoe River paper, thread-sewn binding; matte cover with subtle foil pressing
Released
September 2026*
Price range
$$$$20–75 per notebook
Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Country of manufacture not stated: Hobonichi's store page for the 2027 Planner gives size, weight, pages and paper but no country of manufacture (it names one only for a free charm, made in China), and we found no retailer spec sheet that states it for this book. Check the back of the book. Price: example listing. Released: Hobonichi put its 2027 lineup on sale on September 1, 2026.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • Hobonichi lists the 2027 Planner at 148 × 105 × 15 mm (5.8 × 4.1 × 0.6 in), about 190 g and 448 pages.
  • It uses a 4 mm grid, against the 3.7 mm grid of the Original, and has 377 daily pages for January 1 to December 31, 2027.
  • Monthly calendars run from December 2026 to March 2028 (32 pages), and there are 14 memo pages but no weekly pages.
  • Hobonichi's store lists it at ¥3,410 (about US$22) with tax; US sellers put it in our $$$ band ($20–75).
  • It is English only, Monday start, and fits any Original (A6) cover.

What is the Hobonichi Techo Planner 2027?

The Planner is Hobonichi’s English-language A6 page-a-day book with a simplified layout designed by Sonya Park of Arts&Science. Hobonichi describes it as refined to be easy to use in any country and language, with a charcoal-gray and red color scheme and bonus pages of its own.

It is the same size and paper as the Hobonichi Techo Original, so it fits the same covers. The differences are the grid, the design and the extra pages.

Hobonichi Techo Planner 2027 specs

Spec Value
Size A6, 148 × 105 × 15 mm (5.8 × 4.1 × 0.6 in)
Weight About 190 g (6.7 oz)
Pages 448
Daily pages January 1–December 31, 2027 (377)
Monthly calendars December 2026–March 2028 (32 pages)
Yearly index December 2026–March 2028 (8 pages)
Weekly pages None
Memo pages 14
Grid 4 mm
Paper, binding Tomoe River, thread-sewn (opens flat to 180°)
Language, week start English, Monday
List price (Japan) ¥3,410 (about US$22), with tax
Made in Not stated

All figures are from Hobonichi’s store page for the 2027 English Planner Book.

How is the Planner different from the Original?

The Planner has a larger 4 mm grid, a cleaner charcoal-and-red design, one quote per two-page spread and its own bonus pages. The Original has a 3.7 mm grid and 16 more pages.

Planner 2027 Original 2027 (English)
Grid 4 mm 3.7 mm
Pages 448 464
Weight About 190 g About 195 g
List price (Japan) ¥3,410 (about US$22) ¥2,860 (about US$18)
The Planner's 4 mm grid and the Original's 3.7 mm grid magnified to scale
A 4 mm square is about 8% wider than a 3.7 mm one.

The larger grid suits people who write bigger or who found the Original’s grid fussy. The cover is matte, foil-pressed with the Japanese characters for “techo” and the Arts&Science key logo, and the spine carries 2027 and a HOBO logo in gold.

What is on each daily page?

Each day has its own page with the date, a 4 mm grid, a moon phase and a mini monthly calendar on every two-page spread. Hobonichi also lists the day of the year and the week number.

A page at the start of each month helps you plan ahead, and a blank spread at the front gives a free area as you start the book. Bonus pages include international size charts, an ultimate packing list, My 100, Japanese sandwiches, hard-to-translate Japanese words and a map of Hobonichi’s Kanda and Jinbocho neighborhood.

Is the Planner good for fountain pens?

It uses the same thin Tomoe River planner paper as the Original, so fine nibs work best. Hobonichi warns that depending on the ink and pen, writing can bleed through or dry slowly, and suggests a pencil board or blotting paper.

Read our Tomoe River paper guide for how the paper behaves, and our Hobonichi lineup guide for every 2027 book.

Which Hobonichi should you choose?

Choose the Planner for a cleaner English layout and a bigger grid, the Original for the classic design, and the Original avec for two lighter half-year books. All three are A6 and take the same covers. If you want weekly pages, look at the Hobonichi Cousin instead.

Where is the Hobonichi Planner made?

Hobonichi doesn’t state where the Planner book is made, so we list it as “Not stated”. The store page names a country only for a free bonus charm (China). Hobonichi Co., Ltd. is a Tokyo company; check the back of your book.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Hobonichi Planner and the Original?

Both are A6 page-a-day books in English. The Planner has a 4 mm grid, a simplified charcoal-and-red design by Arts&Science and 448 pages; the Original has a 3.7 mm grid and 464 pages.

Does the Hobonichi Planner have weekly pages?

No. Hobonichi lists no weekly pages in the 2027 Planner: it has yearly calendars, monthly calendars, 377 daily pages and 14 memo pages.

Does the Hobonichi Planner fit Original covers?

Yes. Hobonichi lists the Original (A6) techo cover as the compatible cover for the Planner book.

Who designed the Hobonichi Planner?

Sonya Park, owner of the select shop and brand Arts&Science, directed the design, per Hobonichi's store.

Is the Hobonichi Planner good for fountain pens?

It uses the same thin Tomoe River planner paper as the Original. Hobonichi warns that some inks may bleed through or dry slowly, so test your pen first; we haven't tested the 2027 book.

How much does the Hobonichi Planner 2027 weigh?

About 190 g without a cover, per Hobonichi, slightly lighter than the 195 g Original.

Sources (4)

  1. Hobonichi Techo 2027 English Planner Book A6 size / Daily / Jan start / Mon start (Hobonichi store: Sonya Park of Arts&Science, 148 × 105 × 15 mm, about 190 g, 448 pages, 4 mm grid, date ranges, memo and bonus pages, ¥3,410; read October 22, 2026)
  2. 手帳本体 プランナー 2027 (Hobonichi Japanese store, same product page in Japanese)
  3. 手帳本体 オリジナル 英語版 2027 (Hobonichi Japanese store: Original, 148 × 105 × 15 mm, about 195 g, 464 pages, 3.7 mm grid, ¥2,860)
  4. Hobonichi Techo NEWS: 2027 lineup on sale September 1, 2026

Plain-text version for AI agents: hobonichi-techo-planner-2027.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.