Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Hobonichi Graph Notebook: A6 & A5 Pages, Grid & Paper

Compiled from 4 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Hobonichi Graph Notebook is a plain notebook made to match the Hobonichi Techo. The A6 is 148 × 105 × 8 mm with 240 pages; the A5 is 210 × 148 × 10 mm with 288. Both use Tomoe River paper with a 3.7 mm grid whose colour changes in four sections, open flat, and fit Hobonichi covers.

On this page10 sections
Hobonichi Graph Notebook in A5 and A6 lying open flat on grid pages, drawn to scale
Both sizes open flat; the A6 shows its red first section, the A5 its blue second (1 mm = 1 px).

Product facts

Product
Hobonichi Graph Notebook, A6 (240 pages) or A5 (288 pages), 3.7 mm grid
Brand
Hobonichi
Brand origin
Japan
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Tomoe River paper (planner grade), 3.7 mm grid
Released
2019*
Price range
$$$5–20 per notebook
Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Country of manufacture not stated: Hobonichi's Japanese and English store pages give size, weight, page count and paper but no country of manufacture, and we found no retailer spec sheet that states one. Check the back of the book. Price: example listing. Released: Hobonichi says it introduced the notebook in 2019 as the Hobonichi Plain Notebook and renamed it the Hobonichi Graph Notebook from the 2025 edition.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • Two sizes: A6 at 148 × 105 × 8 mm (about 117 g, 240 pages) and A5 at 210 × 148 × 10 mm (about 278 g, 288 pages), per Hobonichi.
  • The 3.7 mm grid changes colour (red, blue, green, purple) every 60 pages in the A6 and every 72 pages in the A5.
  • Hobonichi Japan lists the A6 at ¥990 (about US$6.30) and the A5 at ¥1,320 (about US$8.40) with tax; in the US it sits in our $$ band.
  • Hobonichi introduced it in 2019 and renamed it from Plain Notebook to Graph Notebook with the 2025 edition.
  • The A6 has about 181 Amazon US ratings averaging 4.6 stars and 200+ sales in the past month (October 22, 2026).

What is the Hobonichi Graph Notebook?

It is Hobonichi’s plain grid notebook: the same Tomoe River paper and 3.7 mm grid as the Hobonichi Techo, without any dates. Hobonichi says it added the notebook in 2019 because users asked for a notebook that felt just like their planner.

It comes in two sizes that match the planners: A6 like the Hobonichi Techo Original and A5 like the Hobonichi Cousin. Until the 2025 edition it was called the Hobonichi Plain Notebook, a name you’ll still see on older listings.

Hobonichi Graph Notebook specs

Spec A6 A5
Size 148 × 105 × 8 mm (5.8 × 4.1 × 0.3 in) 210 × 148 × 10 mm (8.3 × 5.8 × 0.4 in)
Weight About 117 g (4.1 oz) About 278 g (9.8 oz)
Pages 240 (120 sheets) 288 (144 sheets)
Grid 3.7 mm 3.7 mm
Grid colour sections 4 × 60 pages 4 × 72 pages
Paper Tomoe River (planner grade) Tomoe River (planner grade)
Japan price ¥990 (about US$6.30) ¥1,320 (about US$8.40)

Figures are from Hobonichi’s Japanese and English 2027 store pages, read on October 22, 2026. Hobonichi notes that sizes vary slightly from book to book.

Hobonichi Graph Notebook A6 and A5 pages drawn to scale, with page counts and the four grid colours
The two sizes and the four grid sections (1 mm = 1.15 px).

Why does the grid change colour?

So you can split one notebook into four parts and find them again. The grid prints in red, then blue, green and purple, switching every 60 pages in the A6 and every 72 pages in the A5.

Hobonichi suggests giving each section its own theme, such as work notes, reading notes, sketches and lists. The colour also makes it quicker to find an old page by flicking through, since you can see roughly where in the book you are.

How does it compare with other grid notebooks?

It’s thinner paper and more pages for its size than most grid notebooks, which makes it light but shows writing through the page.

Hobonichi Graph Notebook A6 Hobonichi Techo Original 2027 MUJI Planted Tree Paper Notebook B5
Size 148 × 105 mm 148 × 105 mm 252 × 179 mm
Pages 240 464 (dated) 72 (36 sheets)
Ruling 3.7 mm grid 3.7 mm grid 6 mm lines
Paper Tomoe River Tomoe River Planted-tree paper

Hobonichi sizes and pages are from its 2027 store pages; MUJI’s from MUJI USA. The planner holds dated pages; the notebook is all free grid, so it pairs well as a second book in the same cover.

Can you use fountain pens in it?

Yes, with care: Tomoe River is thin, so expect ghosting and slow drying with wet inks. Hobonichi’s own note on the paper says some pens and inks can bleed through, show from the back or take longer to dry, and suggests testing first or writing over a pencil board.

Our Tomoe River paper guide explains why the paper behaves this way. Fine gel pens and ballpoints are the safe choice if you want to use both sides of each sheet.

Does it fit a Hobonichi cover?

Yes: Hobonichi sizes it to match the A6 Original and A5 Cousin books and says you can use it in a techo cover. At 8 mm (A6) and 10 mm (A5) it is much thinner than the dated books, so it sits loosely in a cover on its own, or slides in beside a planner in a cover with two slots.

The cover pockets then hold pens or sticky notes, as Hobonichi suggests. For loose notes that tear out cleanly, see the Hobonichi Memo Pad Set instead.

It’s one of Hobonichi’s steadier sellers on Amazon US. On October 22, 2026, the A6 listing (ASIN B0B6TPN878) showed about 181 ratings averaging 4.6 stars and “200+ bought in past month”.

In the US it sits in our $$ band ($5–20), and Hobonichi’s English store ships it internationally. Hobonichi doesn’t state where it’s made, so check the back of the book if that matters to you.

Frequently asked questions

How many pages are in a Hobonichi Graph Notebook?

The A6 has 240 pages and the A5 has 288, per Hobonichi. That's 120 and 144 sheets of thin Tomoe River paper.

Is the Hobonichi Plain Notebook the same as the Graph Notebook?

Yes. Hobonichi renamed the Hobonichi Plain Notebook to the Hobonichi Graph Notebook from the 2025 edition; the grid pages are the same idea it introduced in 2019.

Does the Hobonichi Graph Notebook fit a Hobonichi Techo cover?

Yes. Hobonichi sizes it to match the A6 Original and A5 Cousin books and says you can use it in a techo cover. The A6 is 8 mm thick, thinner than the 2027 Original book.

What size is the grid in the Hobonichi notebook?

3.7 mm, the same grid as the Hobonichi Techo Original. The grid colour switches between red, blue, green and purple across four sections.

Can you use fountain pens in the Hobonichi Graph Notebook?

Yes, with care. Hobonichi warns that its Tomoe River planner paper can show bleed-through or ghosting and dry slowly with some pens and inks, and suggests testing first or using a pencil board.

Is the Hobonichi Graph Notebook made in Japan?

Hobonichi doesn't say. Its store pages list size, weight and paper only, so check the back of the book; Hobonichi itself is a Tokyo company.

How much does the Hobonichi Graph Notebook cost?

It sits in our $$ band ($5–20) in the US. In Japan, Hobonichi lists the A6 at ¥990 (about US$6.30) and the A5 at ¥1,320 (about US$8.40).

Sources (4)

  1. ほぼ日の方眼ノート(A6・A5) - ほぼ日手帳 2027 (Hobonichi Japanese store, read in full: added in 2019; A6 148 × 105 × 8 mm, about 117 g, 240 pages; A5 210 × 148 × 10 mm, about 278 g, 288 pages; 3.7 mm grid, colour changes every 60 / 72 pages; Tomoe River; ¥990–¥1,320)
  2. Hobonichi Graph Notebook A6 / A5 - Hobonichi Techo 2027 (Hobonichi English store, read in full: renamed from Plain Notebook from the 2025 edition; introduced in 2019; sizes, weights, US price range)
  3. 「ほぼ日の方眼ノート」登場! (Hobonichi Techo magazine, summer 2019 launch article)
  4. Amazon US: Hobonichi Techo Accessories Hobonichi Graph Notebook (A6), ASIN B0B6TPN878 (4.6 stars, 181 ratings, 200+ bought in past month, read October 22, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: hobonichi-graph-notebook.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.