Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Hobonichi Techo vs Jibun Techo: Daily Pages or 24 Hours

Compiled from 8 sources; we haven't tested these products ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Hobonichi Techo is a page-a-day book: one 3.7 mm grid page per day, in A6 (Original) or A5 (Cousin). The KOKUYO Jibun Techo is a weekly planner with seven columns crossed by a 24-hour timeline, in a 217 × 136 mm A5 Slim set of three books. Pick Hobonichi to journal, Jibun Techo to time-block.

On this page10 sections
Hobonichi Techo Original (A6) and Cousin (A5) next to a KOKUYO Jibun Techo First Kit (A5 Slim), closed and drawn to scale
Two page-a-day books and one 24-hour weekly kit, at one scale.

Products compared

  1. Hobonichi Techo Original A6, closed and opened flat on two daily pages with a 3.7 mm gridNo. 1Hobonichi Techo Original Book, A6, 2027$$$Read the guide →
  2. Hobonichi Cousin 2027 A5, closed and open flat on two daily pages, drawn to scaleNo. 2Hobonichi Techo Cousin Book 2027, A5, English, January start$$$Read the guide →
  3. KOKUYO Jibun Techo First Kit 2027: the LIFE and IDEA booklets, the closed kit and the DIARY open on a weekly spreadNo. 3KOKUYO Jibun Techo First Kit 2027 (DIARY + LIFE + IDEA), A5 Slim$$$Read the guide →
ProductBrand originMade inPrice range
Hobonichi Techo Original Book, A6, 2027 (English or Japanese; January or April start)HobonichiJapanNot stated*Price range: $$$$20–75 per notebook
Hobonichi Techo Cousin Book 2027, A5, English, January startHobonichiJapanJapan*Price range: $$$$20–75 per notebook
KOKUYO Jibun Techo First Kit 2027 (DIARY + LIFE + IDEA), A5 SlimKOKUYOJapanJapan*Price range: $$$$20–75 per notebook
Notes on these facts
  • Hobonichi Techo Original Book, A6, 2027 (English or Japanese; January or April start): Made by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Country of manufacture not stated: Hobonichi's Japanese store listing for the 2027 English Original gives size, weight, pages and paper but no country of manufacture (it names one only for a free charm, made in China), and we found no retailer spec sheet that states it for the Original Book. Hunter Paper Co. says its Original Avec book is made in Japan by Hobonichi, but that is a different product. Check the back of the book. Released: Hobonichi's history page gives October 5, 2001 as the release date of the first edition, the 2002 Techo.
  • Hobonichi Techo Cousin Book 2027, A5, English, January start: Made by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Made in Japan: per Boston General Store's 2027 Cousin listing, which files it in its Made in Japan collection. Hobonichi's Japanese store page for the 2027 English Cousin gives size, weight, pages and paper but no country of manufacture (it names one only for a free charm, made in China). Source.
  • KOKUYO Jibun Techo First Kit 2027 (DIARY + LIFE + IDEA), A5 Slim: Made by KOKUYO Co., Ltd.. Made in Japan: KOKUYO's global online store gives Country of Origin: Japan for the 2027 First Kit and the 2027 DIARY and Biz; The Journal Shop and Nomado also say Japan. KOKUYO's Japanese product page doesn't list the field. Source. Released: Impress Watch (July 2019) says the Jibun Techo has been sold since 2013; other Japanese articles give 2011 or 2012 for its first appearance. The 2027 edition went on sale from mid-September 2026, per KOKUYO's August 7, 2026 press release.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • Sizes: Hobonichi Original 148 × 105 × 15 mm (A6), Cousin 210 × 148 × 18 mm (A5); Jibun Techo First Kit 217 × 136 mm (A5 Slim).
  • The 2027 Original has 464 pages and the Cousin 544, each with 377 daily pages; the Jibun Techo DIARY has 112 sheets.
  • Hobonichi uses Tomoe River paper with a 3.7 mm grid; KOKUYO uses its own THIN PAPER in the DIARY and IDEA books and doesn't publish a weight.
  • Japanese list prices: Original ¥2,860 (about US$18) and Cousin ¥4,620 (about US$29) with tax; Jibun Techo First Kit ¥5,000 (about US$32) before tax.
  • All three sit in our $$$ band ($20–75) in the US; Hobonichi's books come without a cover, while the First Kit includes a clear PVC cover.

Is the Hobonichi Techo or the Jibun Techo better?

The Hobonichi Techo is better for journaling and the Jibun Techo is better for planning your week by the hour. Both are Japanese planners on thin, light paper with English-speaking fan bases, but they’re built around different pages.

The Hobonichi Techo Original and the A5 Hobonichi Cousin give each day a full grid page. The KOKUYO Jibun Techo First Kit gives each week one spread of seven columns crossed by 24 hours, plus two extra books.

How do they compare?

The Cousin and the Jibun Techo are close in height; the Jibun Techo is narrower and splits its pages differently.

Hobonichi Original Hobonichi Cousin Jibun Techo First Kit
Size A6, 148 × 105 × 15 mm (5.8 × 4.1 in) A5, 210 × 148 × 18 mm (8.3 × 5.8 in) A5 Slim, 217 × 136 mm (8.5 × 5.4 in)
Main layout One page a day One page a day plus vertical weeks Weekly vertical, 24 hours
Pages 464 544 DIARY 112 sheets, plus LIFE and IDEA
Paper Tomoe River S, 3.7 mm grid Tomoe River S, 3.7 mm grid KOKUYO THIN PAPER; MIO PAPER in LIFE
Cover Sold separately Sold separately Clear PVC cover included
Weight About 195 g About 445 g Not published
Japan list price ¥2,860 (about US$18) with tax ¥4,620 (about US$29) with tax ¥5,000 (about US$32) before tax
Made in Not stated Japan Japan (KOKUYO global store)
Price band $$$ $$$ $$$

Figures are from Hobonichi’s Japanese store and KOKUYO’s Japanese product pages for the 2027 editions.

Page sizes to scale at 1 mm = 1.1 px: Hobonichi Original A6 105 × 148 mm with one day per page, Hobonichi Cousin A5 148 × 210 mm with one day per page, and Jibun Techo A5 Slim 136 × 217 mm with a week across a spread on a 24-hour timeline
The three page sizes at one scale, with how each one divides time.

How are the pages laid out?

Hobonichi gives you a day; the Jibun Techo gives you a week of hours. A Hobonichi daily page has a 3.7 mm grid with, in the Cousin, a time scale and checkboxes; the Original’s daily section runs 377 pages from January 1 to December 31, 2027.

KOKUYO’s DIARY puts seven day columns across a spread with a 24-hour timeline, so you log sleep, work and exercise as blocks. Its monthly pages run from November 2026 to March 2028.

What do you get in the box?

One book from Hobonichi; three books, a cover and a ruler from KOKUYO. Hobonichi sells the book on its own and covers separately, which is part of its appeal.

KOKUYO’s First Kit adds LIFE, a booklet for records you keep for years, and IDEA, a 40-sheet 3 mm grid notebook at 210 × 125 mm, plus a ruler, all in a clear PVC cover with a pen holder. When IDEA fills up you swap in a refill.

Which paper handles fountain pens and markers?

Both use thin paper so a full year stays light; we haven’t tested either with fountain pens yet. Hobonichi uses Tomoe River, switched to Tomoe River S from the 2024 edition; our Tomoe River paper guide explains why fountain pen users like it.

KOKUYO says its THIN PAPER resists show-through and stays flat when you rub out erasable ink. Neither maker publishes a paper weight for the 2027 books.

Which should you buy for 2027?

Buy a Hobonichi if you want a daily journal; buy the Jibun Techo if you plan by the hour.

  • Hobonichi Original: the portable A6 page-a-day book, light enough for a bag.
  • Hobonichi Cousin: A5 daily pages plus vertical weeks, the closest Hobonichi gets to the Jibun Techo.
  • Jibun Techo First Kit: a 24-hour weekly planner with life-log and idea books in one cover.

Our Hobonichi lineup explainer covers the Weeks and 5-Year models too, and best planners for 2027 compares Western options.

Where are they made?

KOKUYO’s global store lists the Jibun Techo First Kit as made in Japan, and retailers list the Cousin as made in Japan. Hobonichi’s store doesn’t state a country for the Original book, so check the back of the book.

Frequently asked questions

Hobonichi vs Jibun Techo: which is better for journaling?

The Hobonichi. It gives every day its own grid page, while the Jibun Techo's weekly columns leave room for a few lines a day plus a timeline.

Which is better for time-blocking?

The Jibun Techo. Each weekly spread crosses seven day columns with a 24-hour timeline. The Hobonichi Cousin's vertical weekly pages are the closest Hobonichi equivalent.

Does the Jibun Techo use Tomoe River paper?

Not in the 2027 edition. KOKUYO says the DIARY and IDEA books use its own THIN PAPER, made to resist show-through, and the LIFE book uses MIO PAPER.

Is there an English Jibun Techo?

KOKUYO's 2027 product pages we read are Japanese and don't list an English edition, though the dates and numbers are easy to follow. Hobonichi sells English editions of the Original and Cousin.

Will a Hobonichi cover fit the Jibun Techo?

No. The Jibun Techo is A5 Slim, 217 × 136 mm, which is 12 mm narrower and a little taller than the A5 Cousin, so it needs a Jibun Techo or A5 Slim cover.

When do the 2027 planners go on sale?

Hobonichi put its 2027 lineup on sale on September 1, 2026; KOKUYO's August 7, 2026 press release put the 2027 Jibun Techo range on sale from mid-September 2026.

Which is lighter to carry?

The Hobonichi Original, at about 195 g and A6. The A5 Cousin weighs about 445 g; KOKUYO doesn't publish a weight for the First Kit.

Sources (8)

  1. 手帳本体オリジナル 英語版 - ほぼ日手帳 2027 (Hobonichi Japanese store: 2027 English Original, 148 × 105 × 15 mm, about 195 g, 464 pages, ¥2,860)
  2. オリジナル - 手帳タイプ別ガイド - ほぼ日手帳 2027 (Hobonichi guide: 3.7 mm grid, Tomoe River, thread-sewn binding)
  3. 手帳本体カズン 英語版 - ほぼ日手帳 2027 (Hobonichi Japanese store: 210 × 148 × 18 mm, about 445 g, 544 pages, 106 weekly pages, ¥4,620)
  4. カズン - 手帳タイプ別ガイド - ほぼ日手帳 2027 (Hobonichi guide: vertical weekly pages only in the Cousin)
  5. Hobonichi Techo NEWS: 2027 lineup on sale September 1, 2026
  6. ジブン手帳2027(ファーストキット)A5スリム 1月始まり ホワイト (KOKUYO Japan: ニ-JF1W-27, ¥5,000 before tax, 217 × 136 mm, 112 sheets, THIN PAPER and MIO PAPER)
  7. ジブン手帳ファーストキット (KOKUYO Japan First Kit page: A5 Slim and B6 Slim kits, refills)
  8. ジブン手帳 IDEA A5スリム (KOKUYO Japan: 210 × 125 mm, 40 sheets, 3 mm grid, THIN PAPER)

Plain-text version for AI agents: hobonichi-techo-vs-jibun-techo.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.