Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Brand: HappySelf

HappySelf Junior Journal: A5, 128 Pages, Ages 6-12

Compiled from 5 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The HappySelf Junior Journal is a 12-week daily gratitude and feelings journal for children aged 6 to 12. It is A5 with 128 pages of 100 gsm responsibly sourced paper, soft lie-flat binding, an elastic and a ribbon. HappySelf, a UK maker, sells it for £24.90 (about US$33), in our $$$ band ($20–75).

On this page11 sections
HappySelf Junior Journal drawn at A5 size: closed yellow cover, open daily spread and the back with its elastic
The journal closed, open and from the back at 1 mm = 1.33 px (HappySelf says only "A5", so ISO A5 is assumed); the interior, elastic and ribbon are drawn by eye. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

Product facts

Product
HappySelf Junior Journal (A5)
Brand
HappySelf
Brand origin
United Kingdom
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Soft cover, 100 gsm responsibly sourced paper, lie-flat soft binding
Good for
Price range
$$$$20–75 per notebook
Colors

HappySelf Yellow

Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by HappySelf (The HappySelf Journal). Country of manufacture not stated: The product page, FAQs, Our Story and Our Ethos pages we read give no country of manufacture. The shop says it ships from warehouses in the USA, UK and EU. Check the label on your copy. Source. Price: example listing.
  • Colors: names per HappySelf (variant list and product photos), checked November 4, 2026. The product page lists one color, HappySelf Yellow; the FAQ says limited-edition colors also exist but names none. The tint was sampled from the flat cover in HappySelf's own product photo. Tints are representative, not measured. Shops stock different colors.
  • How we test and disclose samples: How we test stationery.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).

Key takeaways

  • HappySelf lists the Junior Journal as A5 with 128 pages of 100 gsm responsibly sourced paper, soft binding that lies flat, and an elastic and ribbon; it gives no millimetre size.
  • It runs 12 full weeks of undated daily pages plus a front section to fill in any time, so a missed day does not break the book.
  • The maker's recommended age range is 6 to 12, with little writing per page and room to draw; it says younger children may need help.
  • HappySelf listed it at £24.90 (about US$33) on November 4, 2026, in our $$$ band ($20–75), in HappySelf Yellow.
  • HappySelf does not say where the journal is printed and we haven't tested the paper; the 5-star rating and the design award are the maker's own claims.

What is the HappySelf Junior Journal?

It is a short daily journal for children aged 6 to 12 that asks for gratitude, feelings and a look back at the day. HappySelf, a UK maker, says the book is based on methods shown to promote happiness and healthy habits, and that each day needs only a few minutes. We read the maker’s product page on November 4, 2026.

In its Our Story page the founder describes making the journal for her own children after failing to find one, testing it with dozens of children aged 6 to 12 and sending it to print in summer 2018. It is the original book in the range: HappySelf later added Teen and Grown-Up editions.

What size, pages and paper does it have?

HappySelf lists A5, 128 pages and 100 gsm responsibly sourced paper in a soft, lie-flat binding. The listing gives no millimetre size or thickness, so the table shows what it states.

Spec HappySelf says
Size A5 (no measurements given)
Pages 128
Paper 100 gsm, responsibly sourced; pencil, pen and crayon friendly
Binding Soft, lies flat
Extras Elastic closure and ribbon bookmark
Dating Undated
Length 12 full weeks
Price £24.90 (about US$33) on November 4, 2026

Our drawing uses ISO A5, 148 × 210 mm, because HappySelf names only the paper size; our notebook sizes chart shows how brands differ. HappySelf also says it kept the book to 12 weeks because testers preferred it and a longer book would have been too bulky or heavy for small hands.

Which ages are the HappySelf journals for?

HappySelf recommends it for ages 6 to 12, and its range splits by age. The My First Journal covers 3 to 6, the Junior 6 to 12 and the Teen 12 and up; the Grown-Up edition is for adults and gives no age.

Bars showing the age ranges of HappySelf's My First, Junior and Teen journals on a years scale
The age ranges HappySelf lists, to scale in years; the Teen bar is cut at 17.5 for the drawing only. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

What is inside the 12 weeks?

A daily page, plus a front section a child fills in whenever they like. HappySelf describes the book as encouraging children to express gratitude, reflect on their emotions and think about their actions, with fun doodling pages for exploring feelings. Its feature list includes:

  • Pages with little writing and room for different handwriting styles or drawing answers.
  • Doodling pages to explore emotions and develop self-awareness.
  • A bound-in elastic and ribbon to keep the journal private and mark the page.
  • An undated layout, so you start any day and use it daily or in your own pattern.

HappySelf publishes no sample page layout on the product page, so we can’t say how much room a daily page gives. Our drawing shows a layout by eye only.

How does a child use it day to day?

HappySelf’s advice is to fill it in with the child. It says the pages are designed with little writing, but recommends parents sit with the child and even act as scribe if they are tired or dislike writing, so the focus stays on the conversation and reflection rather than handwriting. Because the pages aren’t dated, HappySelf says it is easy to keep going after a missed day.

For adults who want the same format, see the HappySelf Grown-Up Journal; for a different adult gratitude book, see our Five Minute Journal guide.

Who is the Junior Journal for?

It suits a child aged about 6 to 12 whose parent wants a short, structured daily habit in an A5 book, because HappySelf builds the 12-week plan and a front section into 128 pages of 100 gsm paper.

  • Journaling and planning: HappySelf lists 12 weeks of undated daily pages, 128 pages of 100 gsm paper and a front section a child can fill in at any time.

Skip it for a child under about 6, where HappySelf points to its My First edition, or for a teen, who has the Teen edition.

What colors does it come in, and what does it cost?

One listed color, HappySelf Yellow. The FAQ says limited-edition colors also exist but names none. The tile above shows a tint sampled from HappySelf’s product photo; screens vary.

On November 4, 2026 the Junior Journal was £24.90 (about US$33 at US$1.32 to the pound, October 2026 rates) on happyselfjournal.com, in our $$$ band ($20–75). The shop’s product data listed it as available, though the page also carries a back-in-stock sign-up form, so confirm stock at checkout. HappySelf says it ships from the USA, UK and EU, and that you pay any customs charges. It lists free UK shipping for three or more journals. We did not check retailers.

Where is it made, and how good is the evidence?

Not stated. No page we read gives a country of manufacture. The “rated 5 stars based on over 700 reviews”, “recommended by paediatricians, psychologists and teachers” and “Gold Award winner, Junior Design Award 2020/21” lines are HappySelf’s own claims, and we did not verify them.

Frequently asked questions

How many pages does the HappySelf Junior Journal have?

128 pages, per the specs on HappySelf's product page. The page does not say whether that counts both sides of each leaf, so we read it as pages, not sheets.

How long does the Junior Journal last?

HappySelf says 12 full weeks of daily pages plus a section at the front a child can fill in at any time. The pages are undated, so skipping a day does not leave a gap.

Can a six-year-old use it alone?

HappySelf says children at the younger end of 6 to 12 may need guidance, and recommends filling it in with the child, even acting as scribe, so the conversation matters more than the writing.

What can children write on the pages with?

HappySelf says the paper is pencil, pen and crayon friendly. We haven't tested it, so try a felt tip on the last page before you rely on it.

What size is the Junior Journal?

HappySelf lists A5 and gives no measurements. ISO A5 is 148 × 210 mm, but check against the real book because brands vary.

How does it differ from the Teen and Grown-Up editions?

The Junior has 128 pages and a child-friendly, illustrated design. HappySelf says the Teen edition has 175 pages, less illustration and a weekly structure; the Grown-Up edition has 128 pages for adults.

Is there a US edition?

HappySelf's FAQ says US English versions are sold on happymejournal.com and ship only within the USA. We did not read that site, so check its price and stock there.

Where is the HappySelf Junior Journal made?

Not stated. HappySelf ships from warehouses in the USA, UK and EU, but its pages give no country of manufacture.

Sources (5)

  1. HappySelf (official shop): Junior Journal (description, specs, £24.90, colors, FAQ; read November 4, 2026)
  2. HappySelf (official shop): Our Story (the founder's account of the journal going to print in summer 2018 after testing with dozens of children aged 6 to 12; read November 4, 2026)
  3. HappySelf (official shop): Our Ethos (school and charity programmes; read November 4, 2026)
  4. HappySelf (official shop): Teen Journal (175 pages, ages 12+; read November 4, 2026)
  5. HappySelf (official shop): My First Journal (ages 3 to 6, 16.6 × 24 cm; read November 4, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: happyself-junior-journal.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.