Hobonichi Cover on Cover: Fit, Sizes & Back Pocket
The Hobonichi Cover on Cover is a clear PVC sleeve that slides over a Colors or printed cover on the A6 Original or A5 Cousin techo to protect it from wear. You can slip a photo or postcard underneath. It is 23 g in A6 and 40 g in A5, and it doesn't suit leather covers.
On this page
Product facts
- Product
- Hobonichi Cover on Cover (clear, A6 Original and A5 Cousin)
- Brand
- Hobonichi
- Brand origin
- Japan
- Made in
- Not stated*
- Material
- PVC
- Price range
- $$$5–20 for the cover or binder with its starter insert
- Rate it
Notes on these facts
- Made by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Country of manufacture not stated: Hobonichi's English and Japanese product pages list size, weight and PVC material but not the country of manufacture, and Yoseka's listing doesn't state it either. Price: example listing.
- How we test and disclose samples: How we test stationery.
- Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).
Key takeaways
- Hobonichi lists the A6 Original size at 177 × 257 mm (7.0 × 10.1 in) and 23 g, and the A5 Cousin size at 238 × 347 mm (9.4 × 13.7 in) and 40 g, both PVC.
- It is made for the Colors series and printed covers with butterfly stoppers; Hobonichi says leather, faux leather and thick-fabric covers may not fit and may discolor.
- The plain clear version has a slit so the cover's own back pocket stays usable; Hobonichi's striped version has no opening.
- Hobonichi's Japanese store lists the A6 at ¥550 (about US$3.50) and the A5 at ¥770 (about US$4.90) with tax; Yoseka, a US importer, listed both in our $$ band.
- It goes over the cover, never directly on the book, and Hobonichi offers free printable designs to put inside.
What is the Hobonichi Cover on Cover?
It is a clear sleeve that goes over a Hobonichi cover, not over the book. Hobonichi describes it as an optional extra covering that protects select techo covers from wear and tear. It also gives you a place to tuck photos, postcards and other decorations.
It comes in two sizes, one for the A6 Original and one for the A5 Cousin. Our Hobonichi Techo system guide shows how the books, covers and extras fit together.
What sizes and weights does it come in?
Two sizes: 177 × 257 mm and 23 g for the A6 Original, 238 × 347 mm and 40 g for the A5 Cousin. Both are PVC, and the sizes are Hobonichi’s laid-flat figures, which it says may vary slightly.
| Spec | A6 Original size | A5 Cousin size |
|---|---|---|
| Size laid flat (H × W) | 177 × 257 mm (7.0 × 10.1 in) | 238 × 347 mm (9.4 × 13.7 in) |
| Weight | 23 g | 40 g |
| Material | PVC | PVC |
| Hobonichi Japan price with tax | ¥550 (about US$3.50) | ¥770 (about US$4.90) |
Which Hobonichi covers does it fit?
It is made for the Colors series and printed covers. Hobonichi’s English page says it was measured for the A6 Original and A5 Cousin Colors and printed covers that have butterfly stoppers, and that other covers may not fit properly.
Its help page says the sleeve may feel tight or not go on over other covers.
It lists PVC, leather and PU (faux leather) as unsuitable materials, and the product page adds covers of thick fabric, which may change color. The help page lists the Liberty Fabrics series among the covers that suit it. Our Colors cover guide covers the cover it was cut for.
Can you still reach the back pocket?
Yes with the plain clear version, no with the striped one. Hobonichi says the clear sleeve has an opening at the back so the cover’s own pocket stays usable. Its Japanese page calls it a slit at the outer pocket.
The striped A6 version has no opening, Hobonichi says, and its white stripes change the look of a plain cover. If you use that pocket every day, pick the plain clear sleeve.
What versions and prices are there?
Hobonichi’s Japanese store lists the plain sleeve at ¥550 (about US$3.50) for A6 and ¥770 (about US$4.90) for A5, with printed versions up to ¥880 (about US$5.60). The store listed these on October 30, 2026, tax included.
| Version | Price with tax |
|---|---|
| Plain clear, A6 Original | ¥550 (about US$3.50) |
| Stripes, A6 Original | ¥550 (about US$3.50) |
| Plain clear, A5 Cousin | ¥770 (about US$4.90) |
| Stripes, A5 Cousin | ¥770 (about US$4.90) |
| Printed designs, A6 and A5 | ¥720 (about US$4.60) to ¥880 (about US$5.60) |
Hobonichi limits the stationery order to 20 per item. It also offers free printable designs made to sit inside the sleeve, which it keeps in its Download City.
Should you buy it or a clear cover for Weeks?
Buy the Cover on Cover for an A6 or A5 book and the Weeks clear cover for a Weeks. They are cut for different books and carry different extras.
The Weeks Clear Cover adds a pen loop and two card pockets, while the Cover on Cover leaves the back pocket reachable and adds a photo window. Hobonichi sells a third clear cover for its HON hardcover books, which has its own sizes; see our Clear Cover HON guide.
Where is it made, and what does it cost in the US?
Hobonichi doesn’t say where it is made. Its English and Japanese pages give size, weight and PVC but no country of manufacture, and Yoseka’s listing doesn’t give one either.
Yoseka Stationery listed both the A6 and the A5 clear Cover on Cover in our $$ band ($5–20) on October 30, 2026. We haven’t tested the sleeve.
Frequently asked questions
Can you put the Cover on Cover straight onto a Hobonichi book?
No. Hobonichi says it is an extra covering for select techo covers and is not for use directly on the book. It goes over the cover, not the paper.
Does the Cover on Cover fit a leather Hobonichi cover?
Hobonichi advises against it. Its help page lists PVC, leather and faux leather covers as unsuitable, and its product page adds thick-fabric covers, because the materials may discolor or change.
What can you keep under the Cover on Cover?
Photos, postcards and other flat decorations, per Hobonichi. It also offers printable designs made for the sleeve, free in its Download City.
Does the Cover on Cover add much weight?
Hobonichi lists 23 g for the A6 Original size and 40 g for the A5 Cousin size. For scale, a 2027 Weeks book is about 133 g.
Is the Cover on Cover the same as the clear cover for Weeks?
No. The Weeks clear cover is a taller sleeve with a pen loop and card pockets. The Cover on Cover is cut for the A6 and A5 covers and has no loop.
Does the striped Cover on Cover leave the back pocket open?
No. Hobonichi says the striped A6 version has no opening at the back, while the plain clear version has a slit for the cover's pocket.
How much does the Cover on Cover cost?
Hobonichi's Japanese store lists the plain A6 at ¥550 (about US$3.50) and the A5 at ¥770 (about US$4.90) with tax. Yoseka, a US importer, sells both in our $$ band, $5–20.
Does the Cover on Cover fit older Hobonichi covers?
Mostly. Hobonichi's help page says the Original-size version works with past covers, though its design changed in 2013 so covers from 2012 or earlier may not fit well. The Cousin-size version fits covers from 2014 on, not 2013 or earlier.
Sources
- Hobonichi (English): Cover on Cover for A6 Original Cover (clear sleeve over select covers; back slit; Colors and printed covers with butterfly stoppers; H 177 × W 257 mm, 23 g, PVC; ¥550 with tax; read October 30, 2026)
- Hobonichi (English): Cover on Cover for A5 Cousin Cover (H 238 × W 347 mm, 40 g, PVC; ¥770 with tax; read October 30, 2026)
- Hobonichi (Japanese): Cover on Cover for the Original size (clear cover that protects from scratches and stains; slit at the outer pocket; photos in Download City; not for leather, PU or thick-fabric covers; ¥550 with tax; printed versions ¥720 to ¥880)
- Hobonichi (English): Cover on Cover for A6 Original Cover (Stripes) (no opening at the back; ¥550 with tax; read October 30, 2026)
- Hobonichi Techo Help Page: What covers are compatible with the Cover on Cover and Clear Cover? (Colors and printed covers; incompatible PVC, leather and PU)
- Yoseka Stationery: Hobonichi Cover on Cover, Clear, A6 (US listing in our $$ band; read October 30, 2026)
- Hobonichi Techo Help Page: Can the new Cover on Cover be used with older covers? (Hobonichi English FAQ; read in full)