Est. 2026 · Price: FreeEditor-at-large: The Hedgehog

Stationery Times

Brand: Tactile Turn

Tactile Turn Pencil: Titanium Side-Bolt Pencil

Compiled from 2 sources; we haven't tested this product ourselves yet. How we research

Quick answer

The Tactile Turn Pencil is a slim, all-metal mechanical pencil from Dallas maker Tactile Turn. A bolt on the side advances and retracts the lead. It uses a Schmidt DSM2007 mechanism, takes 0.5 or 0.7 mm lead, is 5.38 in long and costs US$119 in titanium, copper, bronze or zirconium.

On this page9 sections
Slim titanium Tactile Turn Pencil with a side bolt, a dark clip and a black eraser
The Tactile Turn Pencil in titanium, drawn in the proportion of its listed 5.38 in by 0.365 in. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.

Product facts

Product
Tactile Turn Pencil (titanium, 0.5 mm)
Brand
Tactile Turn
Brand origin
United States
Made in
Not stated*
Material
Titanium (also copper, bronze or zirconium), Schmidt DSM2007 mechanism
Price range
$$$$over $75 per pencil (multi-packs divided by the count)
Rate it
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate this product.
Notes on these facts
  • Made by Tactile Turn, Dallas, Texas. Country of manufacture not stated: The Pencil's product page has no made-in line. Tactile Turn's story page says its pens are machined in Dallas and lists "USA manufacturing", read November 3, 2026. Price: example listing.
  • How we test and disclose samples: How we test stationery.
  • Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026.

Key takeaways

  • Tactile Turn lists the Pencil at 5.38 in (about 137 mm) long and 0.365 in (about 9.3 mm) across.
  • A side bolt with a 6-32 thread pitch advances and retracts the lead; the mechanism is a Schmidt DSM2007.
  • It comes in titanium, copper, bronze and zirconium at the same US$119 price on November 3, 2026, in 0.5 or 0.7 mm.
  • Tactile Turn lists weights of 0.9 oz in titanium to 1.4 oz in copper in one spot and 1.0 to 1.7 oz in another, so we give both.
  • The first Tactile Turn pencils were made in 2018 and discontinued in 2020; this slimmer version replaced them.

What is the Tactile Turn Pencil?

It’s an all-metal mechanical pencil whose lead is advanced by a bolt on the side, not a push-button. Tactile Turn, a Dallas company founded in 2012, says it made pencils in 2018 and discontinued them in 2020 because they needed an update. The current version has a slimmer body, the side bolt and replaceable friction-fit erasers. Tactile Turn also makes pens, such as the bolt-action pen.

Tactile Turn Pencil specs

Spec Value
Maker Tactile Turn, Dallas, Texas
Length 5.38 in fully assembled (about 137 mm)
Diameter 0.365 in (about 9.3 mm)
Mechanism Schmidt DSM2007; side bolt, 6-32 thread pitch
Lead sizes 0.5 mm or 0.7 mm, extra lead pack included
Eraser Friction fit, on the back; 2 extras included
Clip Slim body with side-click milled clip
Weight (spec list) Titanium 0.9 oz, copper 1.4 oz, bronze 1.2 oz, zirconium 1.2 oz
Weight (material section) Titanium 1.0 oz, copper 1.7 oz, bronze 1.5 oz, zirconium 1.5 oz
US price US$119 in every material on November 3, 2026

The two weight lists on Tactile Turn’s own page disagree, and we could not tell which is right, so both are shown.

Which material should you choose?

Titanium is the one Tactile Turn recommends for a first purchase, and it is the lightest. The maker describes titanium as tough, lightweight and extremely corrosion resistant, and as its best-selling material. Copper is naturally antimicrobial and will darken with a patina. Bronze machines well and polishes bright or patinas. Zirconium is dark grey, harder to machine and one of the most expensive materials Tactile Turn works with, though all four materials share the same US$119 price on the Pencil page.

Left-handed and right-handed orientations are offered, and custom text can be added in four fonts.

How does it compare with other metal pencils?

It’s the only one here with a side bolt, and it is the lightest of the all-metal options. The figures come from the makers and our guides.

Tactile Turn Pencil Kaweco Special rOtring 600
Length 5.38 in (137 mm) 14 cm (5.5 in) 142 mm (5.6 in)
Advance Side bolt Push-button Push-button
Body Titanium, copper, bronze or zirconium Aluminium or brass Hexagonal metal
Price band $$$$ $$$ $$$

How much does it cost?

It sits in our $$$$ band (over $75): US$119 on November 3, 2026. A titanium Damascus bolt adds US$20 and a titanium Damascus clip US$99. The Pencil carries Tactile Turn’s lifetime warranty.

Where is the Tactile Turn Pencil made?

Tactile Turn is in Dallas, but the Pencil page itself doesn’t say where it is made. The company’s story page says its pens are machined in Dallas, with 14 Swiss lathes, so we mark the Pencil’s origin as not stated. For luxury pencils from other makers, see our CEO writing collection.

Frequently asked questions

How does the side bolt work?

Tactile Turn says a bolt on the side of the body advances and retracts the lead. The bolt uses a 6-32 thread pitch, and the mechanism inside is a Schmidt DSM2007.

Which lead sizes does it take?

0.5 mm or 0.7 mm. Tactile Turn says an extra pack of lead is included, and the page offers no price difference between the two sizes.

Does the Tactile Turn Pencil have an eraser?

Yes. It has a friction-fit eraser on the back, and Tactile Turn says two extra erasers are included. They are replaceable.

Is Tactile Turn the same as the older pencils from 2018?

No. Tactile Turn says it made pencils in 2018 and stopped in 2020 because they needed an update. The current version is slimmer and has the side bolt.

What do the upgrades cost?

On November 3, 2026 a titanium Damascus bolt was listed at an extra US$20 and a titanium Damascus clip at an extra US$99. Clip engraving was an extra US$10.

Is there a warranty?

Yes. The product page says everything Tactile Turn sells comes with a lifetime warranty and that it will make it right if something unexpected goes wrong.

Where can I find the matching pen?

Tactile Turn makes bolt-action pens in the same materials. See our guide to the Tactile Turn bolt-action pen for sizes and refills.

Sources (2)

  1. Tactile Turn: Pencil (US$119, materials, Schmidt DSM2007, 6-32 bolt, 5.38 in, 0.365 in, weights, lifetime warranty; read November 3, 2026)
  2. Tactile Turn: Our Story (Dallas, founded 2012, machined in Dallas; read November 3, 2026)

Plain-text version for AI agents: tactile-turn-pencil.md · Spotted an error? See how we check facts.