Best Pencil Cases: Stand-Up, Slim & Leather
On published specs, the KOKUYO Neo Critz Regular is the best pencil case for most people: an 85 × 50 × 195 mm fabric case that holds about 14 pens and stands up as a pen stand. Pick the EASTHILL for school, the Sooez for capacity, the DELFONICS Quitterie for slimness and the Rickshaw Sinclair Model R for fountain pens.
On this page
Products compared
KOKUYO Neo Critz Pen Case, Regular Size
LIHIT LAB Smart Fit ACTACT Stand Pen Case
EASTHILL Big Capacity Pencil Case
Sooez Large Pencil Case Pouch, 5 Compartments
DELFONICS Quitterie Pen Case
Rickshaw Bagworks x Nock Co. Sinclair Model R Pen Case
Galen Leather Zippered 10 Slots Pen Case
Five Star Zipper Pencil Pouch, Fits 3-Ring Binders, Assorted Colors
| Product | Brand origin | Made in | Price range |
|---|---|---|---|
| KOKUYO Neo Critz Pen Case, Regular Size (F-VBF180)KOKUYO | Japan | Cambodia* | Price range: $$$5–20 per case |
| LIHIT LAB Smart Fit ACTACT Stand Pen Case (A-7692)LIHIT LAB | Japan | Not stated* | Price range: $$$5–20 per case |
| EASTHILL Big Capacity Pencil CaseEASTHILL | Not stated | China* | Price range: $$$5–20 per case |
| Sooez Large Pencil Case Pouch, 5 Compartments (Amazon ASIN B0C5JVQTMR)Sooez | China | Not stated* | Price range: $$$5–20 per case |
| DELFONICS Quitterie Pen Case (Classic)DELFONICS | Japan | Japan* | Price range: $$$5–20 per case |
| Rickshaw Bagworks x Nock Co. Sinclair Model R Pen Case (Cordura Black)Rickshaw Bagworks | United States | United States* | Price range: $$$$20–75 per case |
| Galen Leather Zippered 10 Slots Pen CaseGalen Leather | Turkey | Turkey* | Price range: $$$$20–75 per case |
| Five Star Zipper Pencil Pouch, Fits 3-Ring Binders, Assorted Colors (50642)Five Star | United States | China* | Price range: $under $5 per case |
Notes on these facts
- KOKUYO Neo Critz Pen Case, Regular Size (F-VBF180): Made by KOKUYO Co., Ltd.. Made in Cambodia: per KOKUYO's own global online store for F-VBF180-2 (Navy × Blue) and F-VBF180-3 (Blue × Navy). The same store lists the Marucru as made in China, so origin can vary by model; check the label. Source. Released: Per Impress Kaden Watch's 2013 review, which says KOKUYO has sold the Neo Critz since 2006; we found no KOKUYO statement of the year.
- LIHIT LAB Smart Fit ACTACT Stand Pen Case (A-7692): Made by LIHIT LAB, Inc.. Country of manufacture not stated: LIHIT LAB's catalog and online store, Plaza Japan, Stationery Space and the 2019 review we read don't give a country of origin. LIHIT LAB is a Japanese company; check the label or packaging.
- EASTHILL Big Capacity Pencil Case: Made by ANGOO (per Amazon's item details). Made in China: per retailer spec sheets (Desertcart's copy of the Amazon listing and an eBay listing's item specifics), which blocked our reader when we rechecked on October 20, 2026. Amazon US's own item details name ANGOO as the manufacturer but don't give a country. EASTHILL has no brand site we could find; CICIMELON, another ANGOO-made pencil case brand, lists China on its own site. Source.
- Sooez Large Pencil Case Pouch, 5 Compartments (Amazon ASIN B0C5JVQTMR): Made by ShenZhen XiaoJuZi Electronic Commerce Co., Ltd. (owner of the US SOOEZ trademarks, Shenzhen, China, per USPTO records). Country of manufacture not stated: No listing we found (Desertcart's copy of the Amazon listing, eBay and reseller copies) states a country of origin; they name Sooez as the manufacturer without an address. The brand's trademark owner is based in Shenzhen, China, but that doesn't tell us where this case is made, so check the label.
- DELFONICS Quitterie Pen Case (Classic): Made in Japan: DELFONICS's Japanese web shop lists 生産国 (country of production): 日本 (Japan) for the pen case and the Flat pen case. Front General Store and FindTape also list it as made in Japan. Source. Price: example listing.
- Rickshaw Bagworks x Nock Co. Sinclair Model R Pen Case (Cordura Black): Made by Rickshaw Bagworks (San Francisco). Made in United States: Rickshaw's product page says every Sinclair Model R is made by hand, from scratch and to order in its own sewing shop in San Francisco; Gentleman Stationer also says Rickshaw makes its products in San Francisco. Source. Price: example listing. Released: Launch reviews from The Well-Appointed Desk and Gentleman Stationer (September 7, 2022) date it to September 2022. Rickshaw's page announces it as the first Nock Co. x Rickshaw product but gives no date.
- Galen Leather Zippered 10 Slots Pen Case: Made by Galen Leather Co. (Istanbul). Made in Turkey: Galen Leather's US listing says "100% handmade in Turkey", and its Turkish site's listing for the same case says "Türkiye’de elde üretilmiştir" (handmade in Türkiye). Galen describes itself as a family company based in Istanbul, founded in 2012. Goulet Pens' listing also says 100% handmade in Turkey. Source. Price: example listing.
- Five Star Zipper Pencil Pouch, Fits 3-Ring Binders, Assorted Colors (50642): Made by ACCO Brands Corporation. Made in China: per one business-supplier spec sheet (On Time Supplies, lime colorway, stock no. 50642BF7, country of origin CN), which blocked our recheck on October 20, 2026. Five Star's own page and spec table and the Amazon copy we found don't state it, so other colorways or batches could differ; check the label. Source.
- Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).
Key takeaways
- KOKUYO lists the Neo Critz Regular (F-VBF180) at 85 × 50 × 195 mm and ¥1,800 (about US$11) before tax; retailers say it holds about 14 pens.
- Capacity claims run from 3 pens in the Rickshaw Sinclair Model R's slots to 50 pens or 90 pencils for the EASTHILL and 200 pens for the Sooez, per their sellers.
- The slimmest case here is the DELFONICS Quitterie at 191 × 60 × 33 mm, in PVC, made in Japan.
- Galen Leather's 10-slot case takes pens up to 145 mm long; the Sinclair Model R takes Rickshaw's size L sleeves, for pens up to 152 mm long and 18 mm thick.
- Six of the eight sit in our $$ band ($5–20 per case); the Five Star pouch is in the $ band, and the leather Galen and the Rickshaw are $$$.
What is the best pencil case?
The KOKUYO Neo Critz Regular is the best pencil case for most people, but the best pick for capacity, slimness, fountain pens, leather or a tight budget is a different case. It’s #1 because it does both jobs, a zip case for about 14 pens and a pen stand on your desk; the ACTACT does the same in silicone.
- Best overall: KOKUYO Neo Critz Regular. Why it’s here: an 85 × 50 × 195 mm fabric case that holds about 14 pens, per retailers, and folds down into a pen stand, so it works in a bag and on a desk.
- Best stand-up cup: LIHIT LAB ACTACT Stand Pen Case (A-7692). Why it’s here: the same stand-up idea in silicone rubber, 60 × 60 × 172 mm and about 15 pens per LIHIT LAB, pushing down into a pen cup.
- Best for students: EASTHILL Big Capacity. Why it’s here: a roomy 22 cm canvas pouch its seller rates at 50 pens or 90 pencils, with 53,627 Amazon ratings averaging 4.7 stars on October 20, 2026.
- Highest capacity: Sooez Large Pencil Case Pouch. Why it’s here: the biggest capacity claim here, up to 200 pens per its seller, in a corduroy case with a handle and 5 compartments.
- Slimmest: DELFONICS Quitterie (Classic). Why it’s here: the thinnest of the eight at 33 mm deep, a 191 × 60 mm PVC pouch made in Japan.
- Best for fountain pens: Rickshaw Sinclair Model R. Why it’s here: one plush-lined slot per pen, so pens don’t knock together, in a 171 × 108 × 19 mm Cordura case made to order in San Francisco.
- Best leather: Galen Leather Zippered 10 Slots. Why it’s here: the only leather pick, vegetable-tanned, with ten loops for pens up to 145 mm long.
- Best budget: Five Star Zipper Pencil Pouch (50642). Why it’s here: the only pick that clips into a 3-ring binder, with 3 zippered pockets, in our lowest band.
How did we choose these picks?
We compiled these picks from published sources, not hands-on testing: makers’ and main retailers’ sizes and capacity claims, Amazon ratings, what the specialist reviewers we cite favor, US availability and price band. We chose by how you carry and use pens: stand-up, pouch or one slot per pen.
How do the eight pencil cases compare?
They split into stand-up cases, zip pouches and slotted pen cases, and differ most in capacity. Sizes are the makers’ or main retailers’ figures.
| Case | Type | Listed size | Capacity | Material | Made in | Band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KOKUYO Neo Critz Regular | Stand-up | 85 × 50 × 195 mm (3.3 × 2.0 × 7.7 in) | About 14 pens (retailers) | Polyester over PP core | Cambodia | $$ |
| LIHIT LAB ACTACT | Stand-up cup | 60 × 60 × 172 mm (2.4 × 2.4 × 6.8 in) | About 15 pens (LIHIT LAB) | Silicone rubber | Not stated | $$ |
| EASTHILL Big Capacity | Pouch | 220 × 105 × 65 mm (8.7 × 4.1 × 2.6 in) | 50 pens or 90 pencils (seller) | Canvas | China | $$ |
| Sooez Large | Pouch, 5 compartments | 230 × 188 × 71 mm (9.1 × 7.4 × 2.8 in) | Up to 200 pens (seller) | Corduroy | Not stated | $$ |
| DELFONICS Quitterie | Slim pouch | 191 × 60 × 33 mm (7.5 × 2.4 × 1.3 in) | Not published | PVC | Japan | $$ |
| Rickshaw Sinclair Model R | Slotted case | 171 × 108 × 19 mm (6.75 × 4.25 × 0.75 in) | 3 pens + notebook pocket | Cordura nylon | United States | $$$ |
| Galen Leather 10 Slots | Slotted case | 160 × 125 × 30 mm (6.3 × 4.9 × 1.2 in) | 10 pens up to 145 mm | Leather | Turkey | $$$ |
| Five Star 50642 | Binder pouch | 279 × 229 mm (11 × 9 in) | 3 zip pockets | Polyester | China | $ |
Which pencil case holds the most?
The Sooez makes the biggest claim, up to 200 pens, and the EASTHILL claims 50 pens or 90 pencils; both figures come from the sellers, not from tests. BestReviews, quoted in our EASTHILL guide, fitted 20 pencils, two pairs of scissors and a hole punch with room to spare.
If you only carry three or four pens, a slim pouch such as the Quitterie saves bag space.
Is a stand-up pencil case worth it?
Yes, if you work at a desk: a stand-up case doubles as a pen cup, so you can see and grab every pen without tipping the case out. The Neo Critz unzips and folds its top half down; the ACTACT is pressed down into a cup about 12 cm (4.7 in) tall, as measured by a reviewer.
KOKUYO also makes the Neo Critz in a Large size, 90 × 55 × 205 mm, which it says fits a pencil and an 18 cm ruler. LIHIT LAB says the ACTACT’s capacity depends on pen thickness, and one reviewer put it at about 10 pens.
Which pencil case is best for fountain pens?
Choose a case with one padded slot per pen, such as the Rickshaw Sinclair Model R or the Galen Leather 10 Slots, so pens don’t knock together. Loose pouches suit gel pens and pencils better.
Check length before you buy. Rickshaw designed the Sinclair Model R to take its size L sleeves, which its size guide rates for pens up to 6.0 in (152 mm) long and 18 mm thick. Galen gives 145 mm (5.6 in) as the longest pen for its ten loops.
Which pencil case is best for students?
A roomy fabric pouch such as the EASTHILL suits most students, and binder users can clip on the Five Star pouch instead. Five Star lists its pouch at 11 × 9 in with three metal grommets for 3-ring binders, and guarantees it to last a year from purchase.
Two other popular school pouches have their own guides: the JanSport Large Accessory Pouch, 4 × 9 × 3 in with two zippered compartments, and the Mr. Pen High Capacity Pencil Case, 10.5 × 3.6 × 5.2 in with three compartments.
What do other reviewers recommend?
Specialist reviewers favor padded slotted cases for good pens and simple pouches for everything else.
- The Gentleman Stationer, in a March 2026 post, names Rickshaw’s Fillmore and Sinclair cases and smaller leather cases from Galen Leather and Nagasawa for everyday carry.
- ARTnews calls a LIHIT LAB long zipper case (A7552) an all-around winner, and suggests LIHIT LAB’s silicone PuniLabo stand-up cases, siblings of the ACTACT, for a statement case.
Where are these pencil cases made?
Makers and retailers give Japan for the DELFONICS Quitterie, Cambodia for the Neo Critz Regular, the United States for the Rickshaw, Turkey for the Galen and China for the EASTHILL and Five Star. No source we found states it for the LIHIT LAB ACTACT or the Sooez, so check the sewn-in label or packaging.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best pencil case for school?
A soft zippered pouch with room for a full day's kit, such as the EASTHILL Big Capacity case, which its seller rates at 50 pens or 90 pencils. If your school uses binders, the Five Star Zipper Pencil Pouch clips onto the rings.
What is the best stand-up pencil case?
The KOKUYO Neo Critz Regular, which folds down into a pen stand and holds about 14 pens, per retailers. The LIHIT LAB ACTACT does the same job in silicone rubber and pushes down into a cup.
Which pencil case holds the most pens?
Of our eight picks, the Sooez Large Pencil Case Pouch makes the biggest claim: up to 200 pens across 5 compartments, per its listing. No reviewer we found has checked that number.
What is the best pen case for fountain pens?
A case that keeps each pen in its own padded slot, such as the Rickshaw Sinclair Model R (3 plush-lined slots) or the Galen Leather 10 Slots case. Check pen length first: Galen's loops take pens up to 145 mm.
Is a leather pen case worth it?
If you carry a few good pens, perhaps: Galen Leather's 10-slot case is vegetable-tanned cow leather with a velvet lining and a YKK zip, handmade in Turkey. It costs more than a fabric pouch, in our $$$ band.
What is the slimmest pencil case?
Of these eight, the DELFONICS Quitterie, at 191 × 60 × 33 mm per DELFONICS. Its Flat version is thinner still, at 15 mm, but taller at 85 mm.
Are cheap pencil cases any good?
Many are. The Five Star binder pouch is in our lowest band (under $5 per case), and Five Star guarantees it for a year from purchase.
Sources
- KOKUYO: Neo Critz pen case, Navy × Blue (F-VBF180-2, 85 × 50 × 195 mm, ¥1,800 before tax)
- KOKUYO global store: Neo Critz Navy × Blue (F-VBF180-2, made in Cambodia)
- LIHIT LAB: SMART FIT ACTACT stand pen case (A-7692, 60 × 60 × 172 mm, about 15 pens, ¥1,500 before tax)
- DELFONICS web shop: Quitterie pen case (191 × 60 × 33 mm, PVC, made in Japan, ¥1,155)
- DELFONICS web shop: Quitterie flat pen case (182 × 85 × 15 mm)
- Rickshaw Bagworks: Sinclair Model R (6.75 × 4.25 × 0.75 in, made to order in San Francisco)
- Rickshaw Bagworks: Pen Sleeve Size Guide (size L: pens up to 6.0 × 0.7 in)
- Galen Leather: Leather Zippered 10 Slots Pen Case (160 × 125 × 30 mm, pens up to 145 mm, handmade in Turkey)
- Five Star: Zipper Pencil Pouch, Navy/Pink (11 × 9 in, 3 pockets, 3 grommets, one-year guarantee)
- Amazon: EASTHILL Big Capacity Pencil Case (B07H6G7ZQF: 8.66 × 4.13 × 2.56 in, 4.7 stars from 53,627 ratings)
- Desertcart: EASTHILL Big Capacity Pencil Case (country of origin China)
- Desertcart: Sooez Large Pencil Case Pouch (9.05 × 7.4 × 2.8 in, 200-pen claim)
- The Gentleman Stationer: How I Roll in 2026: Pen Cases vs. Pen Rolls vs. Pen Sleeves vs. Pouches
- ARTnews: The Best Pencil Cases for Storing Your Writing and Drawing Tools