Strathmore 400 Watercolor Cards: Sizes, Paper & Packs
Strathmore 400 Series Watercolor Cards are blank greeting cards cut from 140 lb (300 g/m²) cold-press watercolor paper, each with a deckle-edged envelope. Full-size cards are 5 × 6.875 in with 5.25 × 7.25 in envelopes; announcement cards are 3.5 × 4.875 in. Strathmore sells them in packs of 6, 50 and 100.
On this page
Product facts
- Product
- Strathmore 400 Series Watercolor Cards, full size 5 × 6.875 in, 140 lb cold press, 50 cards and envelopes (105-210)
- Brand
- Strathmore
- Brand origin
- United States
- Made in
- Not stated*
- Material
- 140 lb (300 g/m²) cold-press watercolor paper cards; 70 lb text (104 g/m²) deckle-edge envelopes
- Price range
- $$$$20–75 per ream or pad
- Rate it
Notes on these facts
- Made by Strathmore Artist Papers, a division of Dixon Ticonderoga (F.I.L.A. Group); owned by Pacon Corporation from 2006 until F.I.L.A. bought Pacon in 2018. Country of manufacture not stated: Strathmore's product page, the Staples listing for the 20-card pack (56240-PK2) and the Amazon US listing for the 50-pack give no country of manufacture. Staples labels other Strathmore 400 Series pads made in America, but not these cards. Check the package. Price: example listing.
- Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026.
Key takeaways
- Cards are 140 lb (300 g/m²) cold-press watercolor paper; envelopes are 70 lb text (104 g/m²) with a deckle edge, per Strathmore.
- Full size: 5 × 6.875 in cards in 5.25 × 7.25 in envelopes. Announcement: 3.5 × 4.875 in cards in 3.625 × 5.125 in envelopes.
- Strathmore lists packs of 6 (205-23, 205-150), 50 (105-210) and 100 (105-650).
- The 50-pack has about 3,900 Amazon US ratings averaging 4.7 stars, with 300+ bought in the past month (October 22, 2026).
- Strathmore says announcement cards meet US First-Class Mail size requirements.
What are Strathmore 400 Series Watercolor Cards?
They’re blank greeting cards made from Strathmore’s 400 Series 140 lb cold-press watercolor paper, sold with matching envelopes. You paint, letter or stamp the front yourself, so each card is one of a kind.
Strathmore says the paper has good surface strength and resists buckling, and recommends it for watercolor, acrylic and gouache. Strathmore has made blank greeting cards since 1952, according to its own history page.
Strathmore watercolor card specs
| Spec | Announcement | Full size |
|---|---|---|
| Card size | 3.5 × 4.875 in (89 × 124 mm) | 5 × 6.875 in (127 × 175 mm) |
| Envelope size | 3.625 × 5.125 in (92 × 130 mm) | 5.25 × 7.25 in (133 × 184 mm) |
| Card paper | 140 lb (300 g/m²), cold press | 140 lb (300 g/m²), cold press |
| Envelope paper | 70 lb text (104 g/m²), deckle edge | 70 lb text (104 g/m²), deckle edge |
| Packs (item no.) | 6 (205-23) | 6 (205-150), 50 (105-210), 100 (105-650) |
All figures are from Strathmore’s product page, read on October 22, 2026. Strathmore says announcement cards meet domestic size requirements for US First-Class Mail.
Which size and pack should you buy?
Buy the 50-pack of full-size cards if you make cards often; try a 6-pack first if you’re testing paints.
- Full size, 5 × 6.875 in: birthdays, holidays and invitations, Strathmore suggests.
- Announcement, 3.5 × 4.875 in: thank-you notes, gift enclosures and change-of-address cards. Smaller cards take less paint and dry faster.
The 50-pack is the best-seller: on October 22, 2026, its Amazon US listing showed about 3,900 ratings averaging 4.7 stars and “300+ bought in past month”. It sits in our $$$ band ($20–75) per pack; smaller packs cost less.
How do they handle paint?
Strathmore says the 140 lb paper resists buckling, but buyers report some curling after heavy washes. Amazon’s AI review summary says customers like the weight and how the paper takes wet-on-wet painting, while texture and buckling get mixed reviews, and the cards fold easily but can curl after painting.
Taping the card to a board while you paint and letting it dry flat helps. For practice on the same weight of paper before you commit a card, a pad such as the Canson XL Watercolor is cheaper per sheet.
What should you paint them with?
Watercolor, gouache or acrylic, per Strathmore, and most dry media too. A travel set such as the Winsor & Newton Cotman Sketchers’ Pocket Set or Kuretake Gansai Tambi is enough for small cards.
Cold-press paper has a tooth that grabs colored pencil and gives watercolor its granular look; fine pens may skip on it, so test lettering first. For smooth printed or stamped cards instead, cardstock such as Neenah Bright White is the better base.
How do they compare with the 300 Series cards?
The 400 Series is Strathmore’s higher grade; it also sells 300 Series watercolor cards in the same sizes. Strathmore grades its papers from the 100 to the 500 Series, and our Strathmore 400 Series Sketch Pad guide explains the scale.
On Amazon US, the 300 Series 6-packs showed about 160 ratings when we checked, against nearly 4,000 for the 400 Series 50-pack. If you paint in layers, the 400 Series paper is the safer choice.
Where are Strathmore watercolor cards made?
Strathmore doesn’t say on the pages we read. The product page, Staples’ 20-card listing and Amazon’s 50-pack listing give no country of manufacture. Strathmore is an American brand, now part of Dixon Ticonderoga in the F.I.L.A. Group, and Staples labels some other 400 Series pads made in America; check the package for these cards.
Frequently asked questions
What size are Strathmore watercolor cards?
Full-size cards are 5 × 6.875 in (127 × 175 mm) and announcement cards 3.5 × 4.875 in (89 × 124 mm), per Strathmore. Their envelopes are 5.25 × 7.25 in and 3.625 × 5.125 in.
What paper weight are Strathmore watercolor cards?
140 lb, or 300 g/m², cold-press watercolor paper: the same weight as a standard watercolor pad. The envelopes are 70 lb text, 104 g/m².
Do Strathmore watercolor cards come with envelopes?
Yes. Every pack has one envelope per card, and Strathmore says the envelopes have a deckle edge.
Can you mail a Strathmore announcement card with a regular stamp?
Strathmore says the announcement-size cards meet domestic size requirements for US First-Class Mail. A thick painted card may still need extra postage, so check the weight.
Do Strathmore watercolor cards buckle when you paint them?
Strathmore says the 140 lb paper resists buckling. Amazon's review summary says opinions are mixed and some buyers find the cards curl after painting, so tape the card down or paint lighter washes.
What paints work on Strathmore watercolor cards?
Strathmore lists watercolor, acrylic and gouache. Pen, ink, colored pencil and markers also work on cold-press paper, but test bleed on a scrap first.
Are Strathmore cards made in the USA?
The listings we read don't say. Strathmore is an American brand, now a division of Dixon Ticonderoga, but Strathmore, Staples and Amazon give no country of manufacture for these cards.
Sources
- Strathmore: 400 Series Watercolor Cards (read in full: 140 lb / 300 g/m² cold-press cards, 70 lb text / 104 g/m² envelopes with deckle edge, announcement 3.5 × 4.875 in with 3.625 × 5.125 in envelopes, full size 5 × 6.875 in with 5.25 × 7.25 in envelopes, item numbers 205-23, 205-150, 105-210, 105-650)
- Strathmore: History (blank greeting cards introduced in 1952)
- Amazon US: Strathmore Watercolor Cards, 5x6.875 inches, 50 Pack, Envelopes Included, ASIN B0027AAV2S (4.7 stars, 3,924 ratings, 300+ bought in past month, review summary, read October 22, 2026)
- Staples: Strathmore Watercolor Blank Cards with Envelopes, 5 × 6.87 in, 20 Cards/Pack (56240-PK2) (140 lb cold press, 70 lb envelopes; no origin stated)