---
title: "Tom's Studio Wren: Refillable Writing Pen, 8 Colors"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-wren/"
description: "Tom's Studio Wren explained: 80 mm refillable aluminium writing pen, 20 g, Japanese-made tip, fountain pen ink, eight body and lid colors, price and origin."
category: "Pens"
type: "Felt-tip pen"
published: 2026-10-31
updated: 2026-10-31
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 4
products:
  - name: "Tom's Studio Wren, Refillable Writing Pen"
    brand: "Tom's Studio"
    brand_origin: "United Kingdom"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Anodised aluminium (Tom's Studio)"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Tom's Studio"
    model: "Wren, Black body, Black lid"
    sku: "PRO-PEN-WRE-BLA"
    gtin: "5056802701589"
    url: "https://tomsstudio.com/products/the-wren"
---

# Tom's Studio Wren: Refillable Writing Pen, 8 Colors

> The Wren is a refillable aluminium writing pen from the UK studio Tom's Studio. A Japanese-made fibre tip draws 0.3 to 0.5 mm, and a reservoir holds standard fountain pen ink. It is 80 mm capped, 120 mm posted and 20 g, in eight colors with separate lid colors. Tom's Studio lists it at £35 (about US$46).

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-wren/
- Category: Pens
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-31
- Updated: 2026-10-31

![Tom's Studio Wren drawn to scale, capped at 80 mm in Ivy and with the cap posted at 120 mm in Sage](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/toms-studio-wren-illustration-16x9.png?v=81bdb668)

*Wren capped and posted at 1 mm = 7.12 px; the cap seam is drawn by eye.* Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times. Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/toms-studio-wren-illustration.svg?v=766bbf8b>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tom's Studio Wren, Refillable Writing Pen | Tom's Studio | United Kingdom | Not stated | Anodised aluminium (Tom's Studio) | – | $$$: $20–75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |

- Made in (Tom's Studio Wren, Refillable Writing Pen): Not stated. Tom's Studio's Wren page says the writing tip is Japanese-made but gives no country for the pen itself. Its design-principles page says the studio no longer makes everything in the UK and works with specialist manufacturers around the world; it doesn't say which products are made where. Check the label on your pen. Source: https://tomsstudio.com/pages/design-principles

### Tom's Studio Wren, Refillable Writing Pen colors

- Body colors (8 standard, 0 special edition): Black (grippy matte); Blush; Iris; Ivy; Lilac; Midnight (grippy matte); Raspberry; Sage.
- Per Tom's Studio (https://tomsstudio.com/products/the-wren), checked 2026-10-31. Names are the Body colour options on Tom's Studio's Wren page; the Lid colour options are the same eight names, chosen separately. Tints were taken by eye from Tom's Studio's product photos of each color. Shops stock different colors; check the listing.

## Key takeaways

- Tom's Studio lists the Wren at 80 mm (3.1 in) capped, 120 mm (4.7 in) posted, 13 mm (0.5 in) across and 20 g, in anodised aluminium.
- The Japanese-made writing tip draws 0.3 to 0.5 mm depending on pressure, per Tom's Studio.
- Body and lid are chosen separately from eight colors each, which gives 64 combinations on Tom's Studio's page.
- In Tom's Studio's own plotter test one ink fill wrote for 344 metres, which it equates to about 50 A4 pages of handwriting.
- Tom's Studio lists the Wren at £35 (about US$46), and its page says it is Writing Instrument of the Year 2025 at the Stationery Awards in London.

## What is the Wren?

**It is a short, refillable writing pen with a metal body and a fibre tip.** Tom's Studio, the UK pen maker, says it designed the Wren as an everyday writing pen to last a lifetime and cut down on disposable pens. You fill a reservoir with fountain pen ink and replace the tip when it dulls.

It is the studio's writing-focused pen. If you want a choice of 11 tips for drawing, see the [Lumos Pro](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-lumos-pro/) or the pocket-size [Lumos Mini](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-lumos-mini/).

## What are its size, weight and materials?

**Tom's Studio lists 80 mm capped, 120 mm with the cap posted, a 13 mm barrel and 20 g, in anodised aluminium.**

| | Wren |
|---|---|
| Length capped | 80 mm (3.1 in) |
| Length posted (cap on the end) | 120 mm (4.7 in) |
| Barrel diameter | 13 mm (0.5 in) |
| Weight | 20 g (0.7 oz) |
| Body | Anodised aluminium |

Capped, it is shorter than the 85 mm Lumos Mini, but wider at 13 mm against 10 mm.

![Wren capped at 80 mm and posted at 120 mm drawn beside Lumos Mini at 85 mm and Lumos Pro at 155 mm](https://stationerytimes.com/images/toms-studio-wren-size-compared.svg?v=a7388407)

*Wren beside the Lumos Mini and Lumos Pro at 1 mm = 5 px; cap seams are drawn by eye. Tom's Studio gives no weight for the posted pen. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.*

## What tip and ink does the Wren use?

**A Japanese-made writing tip that draws 0.3 to 0.5 mm, depending on pressure, and standard fountain pen inks.** The Wren takes inks from Tom's Studio's range and other standard fountain pen inks, but not shimmer inks or calligraphy inks. For a waterproof line, it suggests its No.60 Pigment Black, Sailor Kiwa-guro or Platinum Carbon, and says it has tested the last two.

Tom's Studio notes that some ink colors concentrate in the tip, so you may see a lighter color after a line or two. Our [fountain pen ink guide](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/fountain-pen-ink-properties-explained/) explains why dye inks behave differently.


## How long does a tip or an ink fill last?

**Tom's Studio says the tip lasts months, and cites one test.** It says a single ink fill wrote for 344 metres on a plotter, which it compares to about 50 A4 pages of handwriting. That is the maker's own test, not ours, and real use depends on the ink and paper.

When the tip dulls, Tom's Studio sells packs of three replacement tips. You can store spare reservoirs and tips in its storage containers to change color.

## How does the Wren differ from the Lumos pens?

**The Wren is built for writing with one tip type; the Lumos pens are built for choosing among 11.** Tom's Studio's Lumos pages list a set of fineliner, felt-tip and writing tips in the box, while the Wren page lists one Japanese-made writing tip and a reservoir. The Wren's barrel is 13 mm across, against 10 mm for both Lumos sizes.

All three share the refill idea: a reservoir of fountain pen ink, a replaceable tip and a metal body. The Wren and the Lumos pens also share the shimmer-ink exclusion. For a line-by-line view of the Lumos tips and their widths, see the [Lumos Pro](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-lumos-pro/) guide, and for other pocket-friendly pens see our [best pocket pens](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-pocket-pens/).

## What spare parts can you buy?

**Tom's Studio sells replacement lids at £10 (about US$13) and packs of three replacement tips.** The Wren page says you can store spare reservoirs and tips in its reservoir storage containers, so you can swap colors without cleaning a reservoir each time. Check the Wren page for current prices of tips and reservoirs; we only list the lid price from the product page we read.

## What colors does the Wren come in?

**Eight colors, chosen separately for body and lid.** Tom's Studio lists Black, Blush, Iris, Ivy, Lilac, Midnight, Raspberry and Sage for each, so 64 combinations. It says the black and midnight versions have a grippy matte finish and lack the micro-grooves, tiny ridges that add grip without plastic, found on the other colors.


## What does the Wren cost?

**Tom's Studio listed it at £35 (about US$46) on October 31, 2026,** which puts it in our $$$ band ($20–75). Conversions use US$1.32 to the pound.

The Wren page says it is the Writing Instrument of the Year 2025 at the Stationery Awards in London. That is Tom's Studio's statement; we haven't checked the award's own listing.

## Where is the Wren made?

**Tom's Studio doesn't say where the pen is made; only the writing tip is described as Japanese-made.** Its design-principles page says it no longer makes everything in the UK and works with specialist manufacturers worldwide. We list the origin as not stated.

## Frequently asked questions

### What kind of tip does the Wren have?

A Japanese-made fibre writing tip, which Tom's Studio says draws 0.3 to 0.5 mm depending on pressure. It sells packs of three replacement tips.

### Can you mix body and lid colors?

Yes. Tom's Studio's page has separate Body colour and Lid colour options, eight each, so 64 combinations in total, and it sells replacement lids.

### Which inks should you avoid in a Wren?

Shimmer fountain pen inks and calligraphy inks, per Tom's Studio. Standard fountain pen inks work, and for a waterproof line it suggests its No.60 Pigment Black, Sailor Kiwa-guro or Platinum Carbon.

### Why does my ink look lighter after a line or two?

Tom's Studio says some ink colors concentrate in the tip, so the first line can look lighter than the rest. It calls this normal.

### How long does a Wren tip last?

Tom's Studio says to expect months of use from the tip. In its plotter test a single ink fill wrote for 344 metres, about 50 A4 pages of handwriting by its comparison.

### What is in the box?

The pen in your chosen colors, a Japanese-made writing tip, a 3 ml Midnight ink sample and an ink reservoir, per Tom's Studio.

### Did the Wren win an award?

Tom's Studio's page says it is Writing Instrument of the Year 2025 at the Stationery Awards in London. We haven't checked the award organizer's own listing.

## Sources

- [Tom's Studio: The Wren, Refillable Writing Pen (specifications, box contents, ink advice, tip life test, colors, price in pounds, award claim; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/the-wren)
- [Tom's Studio: Replacement Wren Lid (£10; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/replacement-wren-lid)
- [Tom's Studio: Fountain Pen Ink No.60 Pigment Black (waterproof pigment ink for its pens; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/toms-studio-fountain-pen-ink-pigment-black)
- [Tom's Studio: Design Principles (no longer all made in the UK; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/pages/design-principles)
