---
title: "Tom's Studio Lumos Pro: Refillable Fineliner, 11 Tips"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-lumos-pro/"
description: "Tom's Studio Lumos Pro explained: 155 mm refillable aluminium fineliner, 11 tips, Single and Duo, fountain pen ink, spare tips and reservoirs, colors and price."
category: "Pens"
type: "Fineliner"
published: 2026-10-31
updated: 2026-10-31
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 6
products:
  - name: "Tom's Studio Lumos Pro (Single or Duo Tip)"
    brand: "Tom's Studio"
    brand_origin: "United Kingdom"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Anodised aluminium (Tom's Studio); brass, bronze or stainless steel in the metal editions"
    price_band: "$$$$ (over $75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Tom's Studio"
    model: "Lumos Pro Single, Matte Black"
    sku: "PRO-PEN-FL-LUM3-SIN-MB-C"
    gtin: "5060949016451"
    url: "https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos"
---

# Tom's Studio Lumos Pro: Refillable Fineliner, 11 Tips

> The Lumos Pro is a refillable aluminium fineliner from the UK studio Tom's Studio. It takes swappable fibre tips and reservoirs filled with dye-based fountain pen ink, and ships with an 11-tip set. It is 155 mm long capped and weighs 20 g. Tom's Studio lists the Single from £59 (about US$78) and the Duo from £95 (about US$125).

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-lumos-pro/
- Category: Pens
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-31
- Updated: 2026-10-31

![Tom's Studio Lumos Pro drawn to scale, capped at 155 mm in Midnight and uncapped at 145 mm in Raspberry](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/toms-studio-lumos-pro-illustration-16x9.png?v=032edbaa)

*Lumos Pro capped and uncapped at 1 mm = 5 px; the cap seam and tip holder are drawn by eye.* Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times. Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/toms-studio-lumos-pro-illustration.svg?v=88f0a84a>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tom's Studio Lumos Pro (Single or Duo Tip) | Tom's Studio | United Kingdom | Not stated | Anodised aluminium (Tom's Studio); brass, bronze or stainless steel in the metal editions | – | $$$$: over $75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |

- Made in (Tom's Studio Lumos Pro (Single or Duo Tip)): Not stated. Tom's Studio's Lumos Pro page gives no country of manufacture. Its design-principles page says the studio no longer makes everything in the UK and works with specialist manufacturers around the world, and that its pens are machined on Swiss CNC lathes; it doesn't say which products are made where, and the Japanese-made tips are listed separately. Check the label on your pen. Source: https://tomsstudio.com/pages/design-principles

### Tom's Studio Lumos Pro (Single or Duo Tip) colors

- Body colors (10 standard, 0 special edition): Matte Black (grippy matte); Matte Midnight (grippy matte); Rose Gold (satin); Sage (satin); Ivy (satin); Lilac (satin); Raspberry (satin); Brass; Bronze; Stainless Steel.
- Per Tom's Studio (https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos), checked 2026-10-31. Names are the Colour options on Tom's Studio's Lumos Pro page. The box text on the same page calls Rose Gold 'Blush' and its photo file is named blush. Brass, bronze and stainless steel are listed as options on the page at a higher price. Tom's Studio also sells special editions on separate pages, which we don't list. Tints were taken by eye from Tom's Studio's product photos. Shops stock different colors; check the listing.

## Key takeaways

- Tom's Studio lists the Lumos Pro at 155 mm (6.1 in) capped, 145 mm (5.7 in) uncapped, 10 mm (0.4 in) across and 20 g, in anodised aluminium.
- The box holds the pen, the 11-tip Full Creative Tip Set (six fineliner, three felt-tip, two writing), a 3 ml Deep Black ink sample and an ink reservoir per tip end.
- Tom's Studio's replacement-tips page maps tip label 0.1 to a 0.4 mm line and label 1.0 to 1.4 mm, so the labels are not line widths.
- It takes dye-based fountain pen inks without particles or binders; Tom's Studio sells No.60 Pigment Black for a waterproof option.
- The Single costs £59 (about US$78) in the common colors and the Duo £95 (about US$125); the brass, bronze and stainless steel bodies cost £95 (about US$125) and £120 (about US$158).

## What is the Lumos Pro?

**It is a pen built to be refilled forever: a metal body that takes swappable fibre tips and reservoirs of fountain pen ink.** Tom's Studio, a UK pen maker, describes it as a refillable fineliner, writing and brush pen with 11 tips, made to replace the drawer of disposable pens whose refills are hard to find.

The pen is the larger of two Lumos sizes. The pocket-size sibling is the [Lumos Mini](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-lumos-mini/), and the same studio's everyday writing pen is the [Wren](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-wren/).

## What are its size, weight and materials?

**Tom's Studio lists 155 mm capped, 145 mm uncapped, a 10 mm barrel and 20 g, all in anodised aluminium.** The metal editions are brass, bronze and stainless steel.

| | Lumos Pro |
|---|---|
| Length capped | 155 mm (6.1 in) |
| Length uncapped | 145 mm (5.7 in) |
| Barrel diameter | 10 mm (0.4 in) |
| Weight | 20 g (0.7 oz) |
| Body | Anodised aluminium |

At 155 mm it is longer than a typical pocket pen, so it suits a desk, bag or pen case better than a shirt pocket. For something shorter, see the Mini.

![Lumos Pro capped at 155 mm and 20 g drawn above Lumos Mini capped at 85 mm and 10 g, both 10 mm across](https://stationerytimes.com/images/toms-studio-lumos-mini-vs-pro-size.svg?v=99b1e676)

*Lumos Pro and Lumos Mini capped, at 1 mm = 4.5 px; cap seams are drawn by eye. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.*

## What tips come with the Lumos Pro?

**It ships with the Full Creative Tip Set of 11 tips.** Tom's Studio lists six fineliner tips (labelled 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.5, 0.8 and 1.0), three felt tips (chisel, bullet and brush) and two writing tips (0.3 and 0.5).

The labels are not line widths. Tom's Studio's replacement-tips page gives a width in millimetres for each fineliner label, for example 0.1 as 0.4 mm and 1.0 as 1.4 mm, and sells a 0.05 tip (0.2 mm) that is not in the set. Choose by the mm figure, not the label.

| Fineliner tip label | Line width Tom's Studio lists | In the 11-tip set? |
|---|---|---|
| 0.05 | 0.2 mm | No, sold separately |
| 0.1 | 0.4 mm | Yes |
| 0.2 | 0.5 mm | Yes |
| 0.3 | 0.8 mm | Yes |
| 0.5 | 1.0 mm | Yes |
| 0.8 | 1.2 mm | Yes |
| 1.0 | 1.4 mm | Yes |


## What ink does the Lumos Pro take?

**It takes dye-based fountain pen inks that contain no particles or binders.** Tom's Studio says to avoid shimmer inks (particles) and inks with binders such as acrylic or shellac. Our guide to [fountain pen ink properties](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/fountain-pen-ink-properties-explained/) explains the difference between dye and pigment inks.

For permanent lines, Tom's Studio's exception is its No.60 Pigment Black. It warns that with the finest tips (0.4 mm and below) you should rinse and dry the tip and reservoir if the pen will sit unused for more than a few days, and avoid storing the pen tip up. Dried pigment can't be revived, but a new tip and reservoir fix it.

## Should you choose the Single or the Duo?

**Choose the Single for one tip and more ink, the Duo for two tips in one body.** The Single has one tip and one reservoir, which Tom's Studio says is double the size of a Duo reservoir. The Duo lets you switch between two nibs and two ink colors without carrying two pens.

Tom's Studio says one half of the Duo acts as the lid for the other, with the unused tip screwed into the middle of the pen for storage, and a second lid can be added if you want both ends capped.

## What colors and prices does it come in?

**Ten body colors, from £59 (about US$78) for the Single.** Tom's Studio's page lists these prices on October 31, 2026, and they put the Lumos Pro in our $$$$ band (over $75).

| | Single | Duo |
|---|---|---|
| Matte Black, Matte Midnight, Rose Gold, Sage, Ivy, Lilac, Raspberry | £59 (about US$78) | £95 (about US$125) |
| Brass, Bronze, Stainless Steel | £95 (about US$125) | £120 (about US$158) |

Conversions use US$1.32 to the pound. The metal bodies are listed as options on the same page. Tom's Studio also sells special editions, such as Colour Block and Splash, on separate pages.

## What spare parts can you buy?

**Tom's Studio sells everything the pen uses.** On October 31, 2026 its store listed the Full Creative Tip Set at £8.95 (about US$12), packs of three tips at £2.95 (about US$3.90) for most types, and spare reservoirs at £1.95 (about US$2.60). Single reservoirs are 6 × 91 mm in packs of three; Duo and Mini reservoirs are 6 × 42 mm in packs of five.

To change ink colors, keep a rinsed reservoir and tip in a storage container and swap them. The tips are listed as made in Japan.

## Where is the Lumos Pro made?

**Tom's Studio doesn't say.** The studio started in Dorset, England, but its design-principles page says it no longer makes everything in the UK and works with specialist manufacturers around the world, and that its pens are machined on Swiss CNC lathes. We list the origin as not stated until a product page gives it.

## Frequently asked questions

### Can you use any fountain pen ink in a Lumos Pro?

Dye-based fountain pen inks, yes, so long as they have no particles (such as shimmer inks) or binders (such as acrylic or shellac), per Tom's Studio. Its No.60 Pigment Black is the stated exception for a waterproof pigment ink.

### What is the difference between the Single and the Duo?

The Single has one tip and one reservoir, which Tom's Studio says is double the size of a Duo reservoir. The Duo holds two tips and two reservoirs in one body, so you can carry two inks or two line widths, and one half acts as the lid for the other.

### Are the tips and reservoirs replaceable?

Yes. Tom's Studio sells the 11-tip set, packs of three tips, spare reservoirs and storage containers. You rinse a used tip, let it dry and swap it.

### How big is the Lumos Pro compared with the Lumos Mini?

The Pro is 155 mm capped and 20 g, the Mini 85 mm and 10 g. Both barrels are 10 mm across and both come with the same 11-tip set, per Tom's Studio.

### Does the Lumos Pro come with ink?

It comes with a 3 ml Deep Black fountain pen ink sample and an ink reservoir for each tip end, per Tom's Studio's box list. You need to fill the reservoir before writing.

### What colors does the Lumos Pro come in?

Tom's Studio's page lists ten: Matte Black, Matte Midnight, Rose Gold, Sage, Ivy, Lilac and Raspberry, plus Brass, Bronze and Stainless Steel at a higher price. Matte Black and Matte Midnight have a grippy matte finish and the others a satin one.

### Is the Lumos Pro made in the UK?

Tom's Studio doesn't say. The studio started in Dorset, England, but its design-principles page says it no longer makes everything in the UK and works with specialist manufacturers worldwide.

## Sources

- [Tom's Studio: Lumos Pro, The Infinitely Refillable Pen (specifications, box contents, ink compatibility, Single and Duo, colors and prices in pounds; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos)
- [Tom's Studio: Lumos Full Creative Tip Set (11 tips, £8.95; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos-full-tip-set)
- [Tom's Studio: Lumos Tips, pack of 3 (tip labels and line widths in mm; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos-tips-x3)
- [Tom's Studio: Lumos Spare Ink Reservoirs (6 × 91 mm for the Single; 6 × 42 mm for the Duo and Mini; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos-spare-ink-resevoirs)
- [Tom's Studio: Fountain Pen Ink No.60 Pigment Black (pigment ink care for the finest tips; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/toms-studio-fountain-pen-ink-pigment-black)
- [Tom's Studio: Design Principles (Swiss CNC lathes; no longer all made in the UK; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/pages/design-principles)
