---
title: "Tom's Studio Lumos Mini: 85 mm Refillable Fineliner"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-lumos-mini/"
description: "Tom's Studio Lumos Mini explained: 85 mm, 10 g refillable aluminium fineliner with 11 tips, fountain pen ink, Loop Lid, seven colors, price and origin."
category: "Pens"
type: "Fineliner"
published: 2026-10-31
updated: 2026-10-31
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 5
products:
  - name: "Tom's Studio Lumos Mini (Just the pen or with Lumos Loop Lid)"
    brand: "Tom's Studio"
    brand_origin: "United Kingdom"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Anodised aluminium (Tom's Studio)"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Tom's Studio"
    model: "Lumos Mini, Matte Black, just the pen"
    sku: "PRO-PEN-LUM3-MIN-BLA-C"
    gtin: "5056802702432"
    url: "https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos-mini"
---

# Tom's Studio Lumos Mini: 85 mm Refillable Fineliner

> The Lumos Mini is the pocket-size version of Tom's Studio's refillable Lumos fineliner: 85 mm capped, 10 g and aluminium, with the same 11-tip set and fountain pen ink refills as the Pro. Tom's Studio lists it at £45 (about US$59), or £53 (about US$70) with its Loop Lid, in seven colors.

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-lumos-mini/
- Category: Pens
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-31
- Updated: 2026-10-31

![Tom's Studio Lumos Mini drawn to scale, capped at 85 mm in Raspberry and uncapped at 75 mm in Blush](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/toms-studio-lumos-mini-illustration-16x9.png?v=330200eb)

*Lumos Mini capped and uncapped at 1 mm = 9.5 px; the cap seam and tip holder are drawn by eye.* Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times. Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/toms-studio-lumos-mini-illustration.svg?v=dd25460e>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tom's Studio Lumos Mini (Just the pen or with Lumos Loop Lid) | Tom's Studio | United Kingdom | Not stated | Anodised aluminium (Tom's Studio) | – | $$$: $20–75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |

- Made in (Tom's Studio Lumos Mini (Just the pen or with Lumos Loop Lid)): Not stated. Tom's Studio's Lumos Mini page gives no country of manufacture. Its design-principles page says the studio no longer makes everything in the UK and works with specialist manufacturers around the world; it doesn't say which products are made where. Check the label on your pen. Source: https://tomsstudio.com/pages/design-principles

### Tom's Studio Lumos Mini (Just the pen or with Lumos Loop Lid) colors

- Body colors (7 standard, 0 special edition): Matte Black (grippy matte); Matte Midnight; Blush (satin); Ivy (satin); Lilac (satin); Sage (satin); Raspberry (satin).
- Per Tom's Studio (https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos-mini), checked 2026-10-31. Names are the Colour options on Tom's Studio's Lumos Mini page; its box text lists matte black and satin Sage, Lilac, Ivy, Raspberry and Blush and doesn't describe the finish of Matte Midnight. Tom's Studio's Lumos Brass, Bronze and Stainless Steel pages also list a Mini, and its special editions have their own pages; we don't list those. Tints were taken by eye from Tom's Studio's product photos. Shops stock different colors; check the listing.

## Key takeaways

- Tom's Studio lists the Lumos Mini at 85 mm (3.3 in) capped, 75 mm (3.0 in) uncapped, 10 mm (0.4 in) across and 10 g, in anodised aluminium.
- The box holds the pen, the 11-tip Full Creative Tip Set, a 3 ml Deep Black ink sample and an ink reservoir.
- The Mini is 70 mm shorter and half the weight of the 155 mm, 20 g Lumos Pro, with the same 10 mm barrel.
- Tom's Studio sells the Mini at £45 (about US$59) alone or £53 (about US$70) with the Lumos Loop Lid; the lid alone is £8 (about US$11).
- Its spare reservoirs are 6 × 42 mm, less than half the 91 mm length of a Lumos Pro Single reservoir.

## What is the Lumos Mini?

**It is the small version of Tom's Studio's refillable Lumos pen.** The UK pen maker describes it as an infinitely refillable fineliner, writing and brush pen with 9 artist's tips and 2 writing tips, in a compact, pocket-friendly package. You pick the tip and fill the pen with fountain pen ink instead of buying a new pen when it runs dry.

The full-size version is the [Lumos Pro](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-lumos-pro/), and the studio's slim everyday writing pen is the [Wren](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-wren/).

## What are its size, weight and materials?

**Tom's Studio lists 85 mm capped, 75 mm uncapped, a 10 mm barrel and 10 g, in anodised aluminium.**

| | Lumos Mini | Lumos Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Length capped | 85 mm (3.3 in) | 155 mm (6.1 in) |
| Length uncapped | 75 mm (3.0 in) | 145 mm (5.7 in) |
| Barrel diameter | 10 mm (0.4 in) | 10 mm (0.4 in) |
| Weight | 10 g (0.35 oz) | 20 g (0.7 oz) |

At 85 mm it is a little shorter than the 89 to 114 mm range we use for pocket pens in our [best pocket pens](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-pocket-pens/) roundup, so it is about the size of the shortest pocket pens there.

![Lumos Mini capped at 85 mm and 10 g drawn below Lumos Pro capped at 155 mm and 20 g, both 10 mm across](https://stationerytimes.com/images/toms-studio-lumos-mini-vs-pro-size.svg?v=99b1e676)

*Lumos Mini and Lumos Pro capped, at 1 mm = 4.5 px; cap seams are drawn by eye. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.*

## What comes in the box?

**The pen, an 11-tip set, a 3 ml ink sample and a reservoir.** Tom's Studio lists the Mini in your choice of color, the Full Creative Tip Set, a 3 ml Deep Black ink sample and an ink reservoir. The tip set has six fineliner tips (labelled 0.1 to 1.0), three felt tips (chisel, bullet and brush) and two writing tips (0.3 and 0.5).

Tip labels are not line widths. For the fineliner line widths in millimetres, see the tip chart in our [Lumos Pro guide](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/toms-studio-lumos-pro/).


## How much ink does the Mini hold, and what ink can you use?

**Tom's Studio's product page gives no capacity, but the reservoir is short.** The spare-reservoir page lists Mini reservoirs at 6 × 42 mm, the same as the Lumos Pro Duo, against 6 × 91 mm for the Pro Single. Tom's Studio says the Single's reservoir is double the Duo's, so expect to refill the Mini more often than a Single.

The ink rules match the Pro: dye-based fountain pen inks without particles (shimmer) or binders (acrylic, shellac). For a waterproof line, Tom's Studio sells its No.60 Pigment Black. See our [fountain pen ink guide](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/fountain-pen-ink-properties-explained/) for the difference between dye and pigment.

## What does the Lumos Loop Lid add?

**It lets you clip the Mini to keys, a bag or a lanyard.** Tom's Studio describes the Loop Lid as a sleek anodised aluminium lid, sold without the pen, that it says will gain a well-loved finish over time. You can buy a Mini with the lid in one go: £53 (about US$70) against £45 (about US$59) for just the pen.

## What colors and prices does it come in?

**Seven colors, £45 (about US$59) for the pen alone.** On October 31, 2026 Tom's Studio's page listed Matte Black, Matte Midnight, Blush, Ivy, Lilac, Sage and Raspberry, all at the same price. That puts the Mini in our $$$ band ($20–75). Conversions use US$1.32 to the pound.

The studio's Lumos Brass, Bronze and Stainless Steel pages also list a Mini, and its special editions have their own pages; we haven't covered those here.

## Where is the Lumos Mini made?

**Tom's Studio doesn't say.** The studio began in Dorset, England, but its design-principles page says it no longer makes everything in the UK and works with specialist manufacturers around the world. We list the origin as not stated until a product page gives it.

## Frequently asked questions

### Is the Lumos Mini the same as the Lumos Pro, only smaller?

Mostly. Tom's Studio says the Mini has all of the versatility and refillability of the Pro in a pocket-friendly package. It uses the same 11-tip set, the same ink rules and a 10 mm barrel, but is 85 mm instead of 155 mm and 10 g instead of 20 g.

### How much ink does the Mini hold?

Tom's Studio's Mini page gives no capacity in millilitres. Its spare-reservoir page lists the Mini with the Duo at 6 × 42 mm, against 6 × 91 mm for the Pro Single, so the Mini's reservoir is under half the length.

### What does the Lumos Loop Lid do?

It is an extra anodised aluminium lid with a loop that clips the Mini to keys, a bag or a lanyard. Tom's Studio sells it alone, without a pen, at £8 (about US$11).

### Does the Mini come in a Single and a Duo?

No. Tom's Studio lists the Mini as one tip and one reservoir only; the Single and Duo choice applies to the Lumos Pro.

### What ink works in the Lumos Mini?

Dye-based fountain pen inks without particles (shimmer) or binders (acrylic, shellac), per Tom's Studio, which sells No.60 Pigment Black as the waterproof exception.

### How many tips come with the Mini?

Eleven, in the Full Creative Tip Set: six fineliner, three felt-tip (chisel, bullet, brush) and two writing tips.

### What colors does the Lumos Mini come in?

Seven on Tom's Studio's page: Matte Black, Matte Midnight, Blush, Ivy, Lilac, Sage and Raspberry.

## Sources

- [Tom's Studio: Lumos Mini (specifications, box contents, ink compatibility, colors, options and prices in pounds; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos-mini)
- [Tom's Studio: Lumos Loop Lid (anodised aluminium lid for the Mini, £8, lid only; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos-loop)
- [Tom's Studio: Lumos Spare Ink Reservoirs (Duo and Mini 6 × 42 mm; Pro Single 6 × 91 mm; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos-spare-ink-resevoirs)
- [Tom's Studio: Lumos Pro (155 mm, 20 g, Single and Duo; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/products/lumos)
- [Tom's Studio: Design Principles (no longer all made in the UK; read October 31, 2026)](https://tomsstudio.com/pages/design-principles)
