---
title: "Tombow MONO Pencil: 12 Grades From 4H to 6B, Box of 12"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/tombow-mono-pencil/"
description: "Tombow MONO pencil explained: 12 grades from 4H to 6B, a dense ultra-fine core, an included MONO eraser, the 1963 first MONO and a box of 12 for 1,320 yen."
category: "Pencils"
type: "Wood pencil"
published: 2026-11-03
updated: 2026-11-03
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 1
products:
  - name: "Tombow MONO pencil (MONO-4H to MONO-6B; box of 12 with eraser)"
    brand: "Tombow"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Wood case with a graphite core; the included eraser is PVC and phthalate-free (Tombow)"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per pencil (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Tombow Pencil Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    model: "MONO"
    mpn: "MONO-HB"
    url: "https://www.tombow.com/products/mono_pencil/"
---

# Tombow MONO Pencil: 12 Grades From 4H to 6B, Box of 12

> The Tombow MONO is the first and highest-standard pencil of Tombow's MONO series, a hexagonal wood pencil sold in 12 grades from 4H to 6B for drafting and drawing. Tombow says it first appeared in 1963. A box of 12 comes with a MONO eraser and costs 1,320 yen with tax (about US$8.35) in Japan.

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/tombow-mono-pencil/
- Category: Pencils
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-11-03
- Updated: 2026-11-03

![Tombow MONO pencil: a dark navy hexagonal barrel with gold lettering and a sharpened tip](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/tombow-mono-pencil-illustration-16x9.png?v=a6344e1f)

*The MONO, drawn in proportion (Tombow lists no size); circle: the 12 grades, by eye.* Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times. Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/tombow-mono-pencil-illustration.svg?v=af372718>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tombow MONO pencil (MONO-4H to MONO-6B; box of 12 with eraser) | Tombow (by Tombow Pencil Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Not stated | Wood case with a graphite core; the included eraser is PVC and phthalate-free (Tombow) | – | $: under $5 per pencil (multi-packs divided by the count) |

- Made in (Tombow MONO pencil (MONO-4H to MONO-6B; box of 12 with eraser)): Not stated. Tombow's Japanese product page lists grades, the box and the price but no country of manufacture. Retailers have said both Japan and Vietnam for other MONO pencils (see our MONO 100 guide), so check the box.

- Good for: Drawing and sketching. Skip it if you want an eraser on every pencil or the widest grade range: the MONO 100 spans 6B to 9H.

## Key takeaways

- Tombow lists 12 grades, 4H, 3H, 2H, H, HB, F, B, 2B, 3B, 4B, 5B and 6B, in a box of 12 hexagonal pencils.
- The ultra-fine, high-density core is meant to write smooth and dark, fix firmly to the paper and resist breaking.
- A box of 12 includes a MONO eraser, and costs 1,320 yen with tax (about US$8.35), about 110 yen (about US$0.70) a pencil.
- Tombow says the first MONO pencil came out in 1963 and the name comes from the Greek word for unique, MONOS.
- Tombow's page gives no pencil length, diameter or country of manufacture.

## What is the Tombow MONO pencil?

**It is the original pencil of Tombow's MONO series, built for drafting and drawing.** Tombow's page calls it the high standard of the MONO series, the first pencil born from the company's ultra-fine particle technology, and says it is a professional-use model for technical drawing and sketching. It sits above the cheaper [MONO R](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/tombow-mono-r-pencil/) and [MONO J](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/tombow-mono-j-pencil/), and below Tombow's top-grade [MONO 100](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/tombow-mono-100/). We read Tombow's Japanese product page on November 3, 2026.

## What is the core like?

**Dense, smooth and meant to stay put.** Tombow says the high-density structure writes smoothly and darkly, fixes firmly to the paper and does not break easily. These are maker claims, with no test or number behind them, so treat them as Tombow's description, not our measurement. For how grades compare across brands see [pencil grades explained](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/pencil-grades-explained/).

## Which grade should you buy?

**There are twelve, from hard 4H to soft 6B.**

| Grade | Model | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| 4H, 3H, 2H, H | MONO-4H, MONO-3H, MONO-2H, MONO-H | Hard grades for fine lines and drafting |
| F, HB | MONO-F, MONO-HB | Middle grades for general writing |
| B, 2B, 3B | MONO-B, MONO-2B, MONO-3B | Softer, darker grades |
| 4B, 5B, 6B | MONO-4B, MONO-5B, MONO-6B | Softest grades for shading |

Tombow's page does not describe each grade, so the notes use the standard H and B scale. Each box holds 12 hexagonal pencils of one grade and costs 1,320 yen with tax (about US$8.35), or 1,200 yen before tax.

## What comes in the box?

**Twelve pencils and a MONO eraser.** Tombow says a MONO eraser is included. It lists the eraser material as PVC, free of phthalates. The box photo on Tombow's page is a dark case with a white eraser at its left and the line "Quality and innovation has been succeeded through our brand name since 1913". That is Tombow's own packaging text.

## Where does the name come from?

**From a Greek word for unique.** Tombow says the first MONO pencil launched in 1963, a pioneer among high-grade pencils with an ultra-fine core. It took the name from the Greek MONOS, meaning only or unequalled.

## Who is the MONO pencil for?

**It suits people who sketch, shade or draft and want a graded pencil with an eraser in the box.**

- **Drawing and sketching:** Tombow calls it a professional-use pencil for drafting and drawing, with 12 grades from 4H to 6B.

Skip it if you want an eraser on every pencil or the widest grade range: the MONO 100 spans 6B to 9H. For drawing picks see our [best drawing pencils](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-drawing-pencils/).

## What should you watch out for?

**Use it only for writing.** Tombow's single caution is that the pencil is not for any use other than writing. The sharpened point is the hazard for small children, though Tombow's page does not spell that out.

## Where is it made, and what does it cost?

**Tombow's page doesn't state a country of manufacture.** Retailers have given conflicting answers for other MONO pencils, so check the box. At 1,320 yen with tax for 12 (about US$8.35), a pencil costs about US$0.70, in our $ band (under $5 a pencil).

## Frequently asked questions

### What grades does the MONO come in?

Twelve: 4H, 3H, 2H, H, HB, F, B, 2B, 3B, 4B, 5B and 6B. Tombow's model codes run from MONO-4H to MONO-6B.

### What is special about the core?

Tombow says its ultra-fine particle technology makes a high-density core that writes smooth and dark, fixes firmly to paper and is hard to break.

### Does it come with an eraser?

Yes. Tombow says a MONO eraser is set in the box. Tombow lists the eraser as PVC and free of phthalates.

### When did the first MONO come out?

Tombow says 1963, and that the name comes from the Greek word MONOS, meaning unique or without equal.

### Who is it made for?

Tombow calls it a professional-use model suited to drafting and drawing, the original of the MONO pencil family.

### How much does it cost?

1,320 yen with tax (about US$8.35) for a box of 12 in Japan, about 110 yen (about US$0.70) a pencil. Tombow also lists 1,200 yen before tax.

### How is it different from the MONO J and MONO R?

The MONO is the top model with 12 grades and an included eraser; the MONO R has 8 grades in a recycled-paper box and the MONO J has 8 grades at a lower price. See our guides to each.

### Where is it made?

Tombow's page doesn't say, and retailers disagree for other MONO pencils, so check the box.

## Sources

- [Tombow (Japanese): MONO pencil product page (12 grades, core, included eraser, 1963 origin and name, price, eraser material; read November 3, 2026)](https://www.tombow.com/products/mono_pencil/)
