---
title: "Tombow MONO Mark Sheet Pencil: HB for Exam Answer Sheets"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/tombow-mono-mark-sheet-pencil/"
description: "Tombow MONO mark sheet pencil explained: an HB ultra-fine core for dark bubbles that erase cleanly, plain unprinted versions and exam kits from 242 yen with tax."
category: "Pencils"
type: "Wood pencil"
published: 2026-11-03
updated: 2026-11-03
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 1
products:
  - name: "Tombow MONO mark sheet pencil (HB; box LM-KNHB, kits MA-PLMKN, PCC-611, ACA-212, ACA-312)"
    brand: "Tombow"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Wood case with an HB ultra-fine graphite core; the erasers in kits are PVC and phthalate-free (Tombow)"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per pencil (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Tombow Pencil Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    model: "MONO mark sheet pencil"
    mpn: "LM-KNHB"
    url: "https://www.tombow.com/products/mono_mark_sheet/"
---

# Tombow MONO Mark Sheet Pencil: HB for Exam Answer Sheets

> The Tombow MONO mark sheet pencil is an HB pencil made for filling in exam answer sheets. Tombow says its ultra-fine core marks dark and clear, rarely smears and erases cleanly with a plastic eraser. It comes as a box of 12 for 1,452 yen with tax (about US$9.19), as plain unprinted pencils and in exam kits.

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/tombow-mono-mark-sheet-pencil/
- Category: Pencils
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-11-03
- Updated: 2026-11-03

![Tombow MONO mark sheet pencil: a near-black hexagonal barrel with a gray eraser end](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/tombow-mono-mark-sheet-pencil-illustration-16x9.png?v=6f953b62)

*The mark sheet pencil, drawn in proportion (Tombow lists no size); circle: a filled answer bubble, by eye.* Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times. Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/tombow-mono-mark-sheet-pencil-illustration.svg?v=4dadd40c>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tombow MONO mark sheet pencil (HB; box LM-KNHB, kits MA-PLMKN, PCC-611, ACA-212, ACA-312) | Tombow (by Tombow Pencil Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Not stated | Wood case with an HB ultra-fine graphite core; the erasers in kits are PVC and phthalate-free (Tombow) | – | $: under $5 per pencil (multi-packs divided by the count) |

- Made in (Tombow MONO mark sheet pencil (HB; box LM-KNHB, kits MA-PLMKN, PCC-611, ACA-212, ACA-312)): Not stated. Tombow's Japanese product page lists models, kits and prices but no country of manufacture. Check the box.

## Key takeaways

- Tombow says the HB ultra-fine core marks dark and clear, hardly smudges and erases cleanly with a plastic eraser.
- There is a plain version with no English lettering, which Tombow says can be used in more exams.
- A box of 12 (LM-KNHB) costs 1,452 yen with tax (about US$9.19); a 3-pencil pouch kit costs 605 yen (about US$3.83).
- Kits come pre-sharpened with caps, and the pouch kit adds a MONO eraser, a mini sharpener and a clear pouch.
- Tombow's page does not say which exams accept which version, so check the exam's own rules.

## What is the Tombow MONO mark sheet pencil?

**It is an HB pencil designed for exam answer sheets.** Tombow's page describes a dedicated pencil with an ultra-fine core that marks dark and clear, hardly rubs off, and erases well with a plastic eraser. The grade is HB, which Tombow says suits mark-sheet exams. It belongs to the [MONO](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/tombow-mono-pencil/) family. We read Tombow's Japanese product page on November 3, 2026.

## Why is a plain version sold?

**So it can be used in more exams.** Tombow also lists a plain pencil with no English letters printed on it. The page says this expands the number of exams where it can be used. It does not name any exam, so the exam's own rules decide.

## Which pack should you choose?

**Pick by how many pencils you need and what else you want in the bag.**

| Pack | Model | Contents | Price with tax |
|---|---|---|---|
| Box | LM-KNHB | 12 hexagonal pencils | 1,452 yen (about US$9.19) |
| Pouch kit | MA-PLMKN | 3 pre-sharpened pencils with caps, MONO eraser PE-03A, mini sharpener, clear pouch | 605 yen (about US$3.83) |
| Plain kit | PCC-611 | 3 plain pre-sharpened pencils with caps, 2 blank erasers (PE-01A size), 1 mini sharpener | 550 yen (about US$3.48) |
| 2-pack | ACA-212 | 2 pre-sharpened pencils with caps | 242 yen (about US$1.53) |
| 3-pack, plain | ACA-312 | 3 plain pre-sharpened pencils with caps | 363 yen (about US$2.30) |

Tombow lists the erasers in the kits as PVC and free of phthalates.

## How is it different from the other MONO pencils?

**It is one grade, made for one job.** Tombow's page links the mark sheet pencil to the [MONO](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/tombow-mono-pencil/), the MONO 100, the MONO J, the MONO R and the hard-pen writing pencil, all built on the same ultra-fine core. The mark sheet pencil is the only one sold as exam kits with a sharpener and a pouch, and the only one with a plain, unprinted version. A box of 12 costs 1,452 yen with tax (about US$9.19), against 1,320 yen (about US$8.35) for a box of the 12-grade MONO.

## What should you pack for the exam?

**Pencils, an eraser and a sharpener, in a clear pouch.** Tombow's pouch kit holds exactly that: three pre-sharpened pencils with caps, a MONO eraser (PE-03A), a mini sharpener and a clear pouch. The plain kit swaps in plain pencils and blank erasers. Check the exam's own list of what is allowed before you buy, because Tombow's page does not say which exams accept which kit.

## Who is the mark sheet pencil for?

**It suits students sitting a bubble-sheet exam who want exam-ready pencils in a small kit.**

Tombow sells the HB pencil in 2- and 3-pack kits from 242 yen with tax (about US$1.53), and a box of 12 for 1,452 yen (about US$9.19).

Skip it for drawing or shading: Tombow sells it only in HB, while the [MONO](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/tombow-mono-pencil/) has 12 grades. For general writing options see our [best wooden pencils for writing](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-wooden-pencils-for-writing/).

## What should you watch out for?

**Eraser crumbs, sharpener edges and the pencil point.** Tombow warns that eraser crumbs can stick to or melt painted and plastic surfaces, so use the eraser's sleeve after use, and that the eraser is for erasing only. For the mini sharpener it warns against jamming fingers, putting fingers into the blade slot, over-sharpening or pushing the pencil in hard, and says small parts can be a choking hazard. Keep everything from small children, and use the pencil only for writing.

## Where is it made, and what does it cost?

**Tombow's page doesn't state a country of manufacture.** A box of 12 at 1,452 yen with tax (about US$9.19) works out to about US$0.77 a pencil, in our $ band (under $5 a pencil).

## Frequently asked questions

### What is a mark sheet pencil?

A pencil for filling in the bubbles on exam answer sheets. Tombow's version is HB, the grade it says suits mark-sheet exams.

### Why is it good for mark sheets?

Tombow says the ultra-fine core marks dark and clear, hardly rubs off and erases cleanly with a plastic eraser.

### What is the plain version?

A pencil with no English lettering. Tombow says it can be used in more exams than the printed one.

### What kits does Tombow sell?

A pouch kit (MA-PLMKN, 3 pencils, a MONO eraser, a mini sharpener and a clear pouch), a plain kit (PCC-611, 3 plain pencils, 2 blank erasers, a sharpener) and 2- and 3-pencil packs (ACA-212, ACA-312).

### Are the pencils sharpened?

The kits and packs are pre-sharpened and come with caps, Tombow says. The box of 12 is listed without that note.

### How much does it cost?

The box of 12 is 1,452 yen with tax (about US$9.19). The kits and packs run from 242 yen (about US$1.53) to 605 yen (about US$3.83).

### Will my exam accept it?

Tombow's page doesn't list accepted exams, so check the exam's own rules before choosing a printed or plain pencil.

### Where is it made?

Tombow's page doesn't say; check the box.

## Sources

- [Tombow (Japanese): MONO mark sheet pencil product page (HB core, plain version, kits and models, prices, cautions; read November 3, 2026)](https://www.tombow.com/products/mono_mark_sheet/)
