---
title: "Studio Neat Mark Three: Mechanical Pencil Guide"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/studio-neat-mark-three/"
description: "Studio Neat Mark Three explained: 130 mm aluminum mechanical pencil, 22 g, 0.7 mm lead with a 0.5 mm advancer option, hidden eraser, Cerakote, five colors."
category: "Pens"
type: "Mechanical pencil"
published: 2026-10-31
updated: 2026-10-31
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 3
products:
  - name: "Studio Neat Mark Three"
    brand: "Studio Neat"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Aluminum body, aluminum internals, polished steel knock, Cerakote coating (Studio Neat)"
    price_band: "$$$$ (over $75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Studio Neat"
    model: "Mark Three"
    sku: "MK3-BS"
    url: "https://www.studioneat.com/products/markthree"
---

# Studio Neat Mark Three: Mechanical Pencil Guide

> The Mark Three is Studio Neat's machined aluminum mechanical pencil. Studio Neat lists it at 130 mm long, 9.5 mm across and 22 g, with a matte Cerakote finish, 0.7 mm lead, a swappable 0.5 mm advancer and an eraser under the end cap. It comes in five colors and sits in our $$$$ band (over $75).

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/studio-neat-mark-three/
- Category: Pens
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-31
- Updated: 2026-10-31

![Two Studio Neat Mark Three mechanical pencils drawn to scale, 130 mm long, in Green and Rose Gold with polished steel end caps](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/studio-neat-mark-three-illustration-16x9.png?v=1c917fff)

*Mark Three at 1 mm = 6 px; the tip cone and end cap are drawn by eye; the row of dots shows the body colors listed.* Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times. Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/studio-neat-mark-three-illustration.svg?v=65b93c05>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Studio Neat Mark Three | Studio Neat | United States | Not stated | Aluminum body, aluminum internals, polished steel knock, Cerakote coating (Studio Neat) | – | $$$$: over $75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |

- Made in (Studio Neat Mark Three): Not stated. Studio Neat's Mark Three page says the pencil is custom machined but gives no country of manufacture. Its About page says the company began in Long Island City, New York and is now in Austin, Texas, which is where it is based, not necessarily where the pencil is made. Source: https://www.studioneat.com/products/markthree

### Studio Neat Mark Three colors

- Body colors (5 standard, 0 special edition): Black (matte Cerakote); Blue (matte Cerakote); Orange (matte Cerakote); Green (matte Cerakote); Rose Gold (matte Cerakote).
- Per Studio Neat (https://www.studioneat.com/products/markthree), checked 2026-10-31. Names are the Color options on Studio Neat's Mark Three page, each paired with the silver end cap. The page's description also mentions a matte black or white finish, but white is not on the variant list, so we don't list it. Tints were taken by eye from Studio Neat's product photos and are representative, not measured. Shops stock different colors; check the listing.

## Key takeaways

- Studio Neat lists the Mark Three at 130 mm (5 in) long, 9.5 mm (0.37 in) across and 22 g (0.73 oz), with an aluminum body.
- It comes with a Schmidt DSM 2005 lead-advancing mechanism for 0.7 mm lead; Studio Neat's Pencil Mechanism swaps it for a 0.5 mm advancer.
- The eraser is a standard size hidden under the polished steel end cap, and replacements are easy to find, Studio Neat says.
- The finish is matte Cerakote, a ceramic-polymer coating; the colors are Black, Blue, Orange, Green and Rose Gold.
- It sits in our $$$$ band (over $75), at the same price in every color.

## What is the Studio Neat Mark Three?

**It is the pencil in Studio Neat's Mark line.** Studio Neat describes it as a custom machined mechanical pencil with a ceramic-based exterior coating for long-lasting durability. The body is seamless, with no logos, and the end cap is polished stainless steel.

The line's [Mark One](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/studio-neat-mark-one/) is a retractable pen and the [Mark Two](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/studio-neat-mark-two/) a pocket pen. For other pencils, see our [best mechanical pencils](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-mechanical-pencils/) roundup.

## How big and heavy is the Mark Three?

**130 mm long, 9.5 mm across and 22 g.** The body is aluminum, with a polished steel knock and aluminum internals.

![Mark One, Mark Two sleeved and posted, and Mark Three drawn to scale at 1 mm = 5 px](https://stationerytimes.com/images/studio-neat-mark-two-family-size.svg?v=897c6e76)

*The three Studio Neat writing tools at 1 mm = 5 px, from the maker's specifications; details are drawn by eye. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.*

At 9.5 mm it is slimmer than the 11 mm Mark One and Mark Two.

## What lead does it use, and can you change it?

**0.7 mm lead comes in the box, and a 0.5 mm advancer is a separate part.** Studio Neat lists the pencil with a Schmidt DSM 2005 lead advancing mechanism for 0.7 mm lead. Its Pencil Mechanism is a 0.5 mm lead advancer for the Mark Three, US$15 on October 31, 2026. Studio Neat says the advancing mechanism is easy to replace should it ever fail.

![0.7 mm and 0.5 mm lead drawn as bars at 20 times](https://stationerytimes.com/images/studio-neat-mark-three-lead-sizes.svg?v=3c1132ba)

*Nominal lead diameters at 20×; the bars are not measured strokes. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.*

For lead grades and brands, see [best mechanical pencil lead](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-mechanical-pencil-lead/).

## Where is the eraser?

**Under the end cap.** Studio Neat says the eraser is a small, standard-size one and replacements are easy to find. We haven't tested how easily the cap comes off, and Studio Neat gives no figure for it.


## What colors and price does it have?

**Five colors at US$85: Black, Blue, Orange, Green and Rose Gold.** That is our $$$$ band (over $75). All have a matte Cerakote finish; Studio Neat describes it as an extremely durable ceramic-polymer coating. Check the [Mark Three page](https://www.studioneat.com/products/markthree) for current stock and price.

## What is Cerakote, and how does it wear?

**It is a ceramic-polymer coating that gives the pencil its matte finish.** Studio Neat calls Cerakote extremely durable and says it creates a matte, super smooth finish that ages beautifully. It links to the coating maker's testing page for specifications. We haven't worn a Mark Three in, so we can't say how the finish ages, and Studio Neat gives no figures for scratch or wear resistance on its own page.

## How does it compare with the Mark One and Mark Two?

**It is the slimmest and lightest of the three.** Studio Neat calls it a sibling of the Mark One, and the line shares its five colors and Cerakote finish.

| | Mark One | Mark Two | Mark Three |
|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Retractable rollerball | Pocket rollerball | Mechanical pencil |
| Length | 128 mm | 88 mm sleeved, 130 mm posted | 130 mm |
| Width | 11 mm | 11 mm | 9.5 mm |
| Weight | 25 g or 48 g | 38 g | 22 g |

## What does Studio Neat not say about the Mark Three?

**Its page leaves several details open, so we haven't filled them in.** It names no lead grade or lead length that ships, gives no capacity for the lead barrel and gives no eraser size beyond "standard". It also doesn't say whether fitting the 0.5 mm advancer changes how the tip looks.

We list these gaps so nobody reads a missing figure as a measured one. If you plan to draw with it, see our [best mechanical pencils for drawing](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-mechanical-pencils-for-drawing/) roundup for pencils whose specs are fuller.

## What does Studio Neat guarantee?

**A lifetime guarantee.** Studio Neat's page says it will fix or replace the pencil, or send parts so you can repair it yourself. We haven't tested a claim.

## Where is the Mark Three made?

**Studio Neat doesn't say.** It says only that the pencil is custom machined; the company is based in Austin, Texas. We list the origin as not stated.

## Frequently asked questions

### What lead size does the Mark Three use?

0.7 mm lead comes in the pencil. Studio Neat says it is easy to swap in a 0.5 mm lead advancer, which it sells as the Pencil Mechanism.

### Does the Mark Three have an eraser?

Under the end cap. Studio Neat says it is a small, standard-size eraser and that replacements are easy to find when it wears down.

### What mechanism does the Mark Three use?

A Schmidt DSM 2005 lead-advancing mechanism, per Studio Neat; all other internal parts are machined aluminum. It says the advancing mechanism is very easy to replace if it ever fails.

### How long and heavy is the Mark Three?

130 mm long, 9.5 mm across and 22 g, per Studio Neat. It is slimmer and lighter than the 128 mm, 11 mm, 25 g aluminum Mark One.

### What colors does the Mark Three come in?

Black, Blue, Orange, Green and Rose Gold, all with a matte Cerakote finish and a polished steel end cap. Studio Neat's page text also mentions white, which isn't listed as a variant.

### Does the Mark Three match the Mark One?

Studio Neat calls it a sibling to the Mark One and says the two will look good side by side on a desk. They share colors and Cerakote finish.

### How much does the Mark Three cost?

It is in our $$$$ band (over $75) and Studio Neat charged the same for every color on October 31, 2026.

## Sources

- [Studio Neat: Mark Three (dimensions, weight, materials, mechanism, eraser, colors and price; read October 31, 2026)](https://www.studioneat.com/products/markthree)
- [Studio Neat: Pencil Mechanism (0.5 mm lead advancer for Mark Three, $15; read October 31, 2026)](https://www.studioneat.com/products/mechanism)
- [Studio Neat: About Us (founders, location; read October 31, 2026)](https://www.studioneat.com/pages/about-us)
