---
title: "Studio Neat Mark One: Metal Retractable Pen Guide"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/studio-neat-mark-one/"
description: "Studio Neat Mark One explained: 128 mm all-metal retractable pen, 25 g aluminum or 48 g steel, Cerakote finish, Parker-style refills, five colors, price band."
category: "Pens"
type: "Retractable rollerball pen"
published: 2026-10-31
updated: 2026-10-31
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 5
products:
  - name: "Studio Neat Mark One"
    brand: "Studio Neat"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Aluminum or steel body, aluminum mechanism, polished steel knock, Cerakote coating (Studio Neat)"
    price_band: "$$$$ (over $75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Studio Neat"
    model: "Mark One"
    sku: "MK1-BN"
    url: "https://www.studioneat.com/products/markone"
---

# Studio Neat Mark One: Metal Retractable Pen Guide

> The Mark One is Studio Neat's all-metal retractable pen with a custom click mechanism. It is 128 mm long and 11 mm across, 25 g in aluminum or 48 g in steel, coated in matte Cerakote, and ships with a 0.6 mm Schmidt P8126 rollerball refill. It comes in five colors and sits in our $$$$ band (over $75).

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/studio-neat-mark-one/
- Category: Pens
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-31
- Updated: 2026-10-31

![Two Studio Neat Mark One pens drawn to scale, 128 mm long, in Black and Orange with polished steel knocks](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/studio-neat-mark-one-illustration-16x9.png?v=0a2febff)

*Mark One at 1 mm = 6 px; the tip cone and knock are drawn by eye.* Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times. Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/studio-neat-mark-one-illustration.svg?v=a700ab5b>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Studio Neat Mark One | Studio Neat | United States | Not stated | Aluminum or steel body, aluminum mechanism, polished steel knock, Cerakote coating (Studio Neat) | – | $$$$: over $75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |

- Made in (Studio Neat Mark One): Not stated. Studio Neat's Mark One page says the pen is custom machined but gives no country of manufacture. Its About page says the company began in Long Island City, New York and is now in Austin, Texas, which is where it is based, not necessarily where the pen is made. Source: https://www.studioneat.com/products/markone

### Studio Neat Mark One colors

- Body colors (5 standard, 0 special edition): Black (matte Cerakote); Blue (matte Cerakote); Orange (matte Cerakote); Green (matte Cerakote); Rose Gold (matte Cerakote).
- Per Studio Neat (https://www.studioneat.com/products/markone), checked 2026-10-31. Names are the Color options on Studio Neat's Mark One page, each paired with the silver knock. Tints were taken by eye from Studio Neat's product photos and are representative, not measured. Studio Neat's variant list shows an aluminum pen in each color (no clip), a steel pen in each color, and a steel pen with a clip. Shops stock different colors; check the listing.

## Key takeaways

- Studio Neat lists the Mark One at 128 mm (5 in) long, 11 mm (0.43 in) across, and 25 g (0.88 oz) in aluminum or 48 g (1.70 oz) in steel.
- The click mechanism is Studio Neat's own and all metal; the body wears Cerakote, a ceramic-polymer coating, in a matte finish.
- It ships with a black 0.6 mm Schmidt P8126 rollerball refill and accepts any Parker-style refill, so rollerball, gel and ballpoint refills all fit.
- It comes in aluminum or steel, with or without a clip on steel, and every version sits in our $$$$ band (over $75).
- Studio Neat backs it with a lifetime guarantee: it says it will repair or replace the pen, no questions asked.

## What is the Studio Neat Mark One?

**It is a retractable pen machined from metal, with a click mechanism the company designed itself.** Studio Neat, a small US design company, describes the Mark One as a custom machined, all-metal, retractable pen with a ceramic-based exterior coating, built around a rollerball refill it likes. The body is seamless and carries no logo.

Its siblings are the [Mark Two](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/studio-neat-mark-two/) pocket pen and the [Mark Three](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/studio-neat-mark-three/) mechanical pencil. For a wider view of metal pens, see our [best luxury pens](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-luxury-pens/) roundup.

## How big and heavy is the Mark One?

**Studio Neat lists 128 mm long and 11 mm across, with a 25 g aluminum body or a 48 g steel body.**

| | Aluminum | Steel |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 128 mm (5.0 in) | 128 mm (5.0 in) |
| Diameter | 11 mm (0.43 in) | 11 mm (0.43 in) |
| Weight | 25 g (0.88 oz) | 48 g (1.70 oz) |
| Price without clip (Oct 31, 2026) | US$85 | US$125 |

The mechanism is aluminum in both, and the knock is polished steel. Studio Neat says steel weighs about twice as much and suggests it for anyone who wants a weightier pen.

![Bars at 4 pixels per gram: aluminum Mark One 25 g and steel Mark One 48 g](https://stationerytimes.com/images/studio-neat-mark-one-weights.svg?v=b12ba0e5)

*The two Mark One body weights as listed by Studio Neat; the bars show the listed figures, not a measurement. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.*

## What refills does the Mark One take?

**It ships with a black 0.6 mm Schmidt P8126 rollerball and accepts any Parker-style refill.** Studio Neat calls the P8126 smooth-flowing and quick-drying. Because Parker-style is a common refill format, rollerball, gel and ballpoint refills from other makers fit; Studio Neat's own refill guide lists options in each category and explains the differences.

It sells the P8126 in 3-packs of black or blue for US$15. See our [pen refills explained](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/pen-refills-explained/) guide for how the three ink types behave, and [best rollerball pens](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-rollerball-pens/) for other rollerballs.


## What colors does it come in?

**Five colors, each with a silver knock: Black, Blue, Orange, Green and Rose Gold.** The finish is matte Cerakote, which Studio Neat says is an extremely durable ceramic-polymer coating. The aluminum pen is sold in all five without a clip; steel is sold in all five with or without a clip. Studio Neat's variant list is the reference if a combination looks missing.

## How much does the Mark One cost?

**From US$85, which puts it in our $$$$ band (over $75).** On October 31, 2026 Studio Neat's shop listed the aluminum pen at US$85, the steel pen at US$125 and the steel pen with a clip at US$160. Its banner offered free shipping on US orders over US$100. Prices and stock change, so check the [Mark One page](https://www.studioneat.com/products/markone).

## How does it compare with other pens in this style?

**It is longer than the pocket pens we cover and heavier than most.** For a similar machined pen see the [Grovemade desk pen](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/grovemade-desk-pen/); for a folding pocket design see the [Ajoto Pocket Pen](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/ajoto-pocket-pen/), and for a smaller everyday pen the [Mark Two](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/studio-neat-mark-two/). The Fisher [Space Pen Bullet](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/fisher-space-pen-bullet/) is a compact refill-led alternative.

## What is the lifetime guarantee?

**Studio Neat says it will repair or replace the pen, or send parts to repair it yourself.** Its page calls this a no-asterisks, no-strings-attached guarantee and asks you to email its support address. We haven't tested a claim, so we report the policy as stated.

## Where is the Mark One made?

**Studio Neat doesn't say.** Its product page states only that the pen is custom machined. The company was founded in 2010, began in Long Island City, New York and is now in Austin, Texas, but that is its base, not the factory location. We list the origin as not stated until a page gives it.

## Frequently asked questions

### Is the Mark One refillable?

Yes. Studio Neat says it accepts any Parker-style refill and ships with a black Schmidt P8126 rollerball. It sells black and blue P8126 refills in 3-packs and has a separate refill guide.

### Should I buy aluminum or steel?

Steel is about twice the weight: 48 g against 25 g, per Studio Neat, which suggests steel if you want a heftier pen. The length, diameter and finish are the same. The steel version costs more.

### What is Cerakote?

Studio Neat calls it an extremely durable ceramic-polymer coating that gives a matte, super smooth finish. It says the coating will cleanly laser off if you engrave the pen yourself.

### Does the Mark One come with a clip?

Only as an option. Studio Neat sells the steel pen with a clip in each of the five colors; the aluminum pen is listed without a clip only.

### What ink does the Mark One write with out of the box?

Black ink from the 0.6 mm Schmidt P8126 rollerball refill. Studio Neat describes the ink as flowing smoothly and drying quickly.

### Can I get a Mark One engraved or branded?

Studio Neat doesn't offer one-off engraving, but it has a custom program for orders of 10 or more. Its page also says you can laser-engrave the pen yourself.

### Is there a Mark Four?

Studio Neat's shop banner on October 31, 2026 said Back Mark Four on Kickstarter. We haven't covered it; this guide is about the Mark One only.

## Sources

- [Studio Neat: Mark One (dimensions, weights, materials, refill, variants and prices; read October 31, 2026)](https://www.studioneat.com/products/markone)
- [Studio Neat: The Mark One Refill Guide (refill categories and Parker-style fit; read October 31, 2026)](https://www.studioneat.com/blogs/main/mark-one-refill-guide)
- [Studio Neat: Ink Refills (Schmidt P8126 3-packs and prices; read October 31, 2026)](https://www.studioneat.com/products/refill)
- [Studio Neat: About Us (founders, location; read October 31, 2026)](https://www.studioneat.com/pages/about-us)
- [Cerakote: testing resources (linked by Studio Neat for the coating's specifications)](https://www.cerakote.com/resources/testing)
