---
title: "Sikigu Pad Note: A5 Folded-Sheet Notebook, 80 Pages"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/sikigu-pad-note/"
description: "Sikigu Pad Note from Taisei Shiki in Osaka: a notebook of stacked folded sheets that tear off cleanly, 80 pages, five sizes from Pocket to A4, per the maker."
category: "Notebooks"
type: "Pad-bound notebook"
published: 2026-11-04
updated: 2026-11-04
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 4
products:
  - name: "Sikigu Pad Note"
    brand: "Sikigu"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Paper"
    price_band: "$$ ($5–20 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Taisei Shiki Mfg. (TAISEI Co., Ltd.)"
    url: "https://taisei-shiki.jp/product/pad-note/?lang=en"
---

# Sikigu Pad Note: A5 Folded-Sheet Notebook, 80 Pages

> The Sikigu Pad Note is a notebook bound like a memo pad from stacked folded sheets, 80 pages, in five sizes from Pocket (95 × 148.5 mm) to A4. Taisei Shiki says each sheet peels off cleanly from anywhere and the book opens flat. We read A5 at £5.99 (about US$7.90) at The Journal Shop on November 4, 2026.

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/sikigu-pad-note/
- Category: Notebooks
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-11-04
- Updated: 2026-11-04

![Four Sikigu Pad Notes drawn to scale: A4 in black, A5 in red, Square in gray and Pocket in black, each 5 mm deep](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/sikigu-pad-note-illustration-16x9.png?v=d124f850)

*Four of the five sizes to one scale (1 mm = 1.15 px); colors sampled from the maker's photos.* Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times. Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/sikigu-pad-note-illustration.svg?v=25f65027>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sikigu Pad Note | Sikigu (by Taisei Shiki Mfg. (TAISEI Co., Ltd.)) | Japan | Not stated | Paper | – | $$: $5–20 per notebook |

- Made in (Sikigu Pad Note): Not stated. The maker's product page gives no country of manufacture. One US retailer's listing says crafted in Japan; check the packaging. Source: https://taisei-shiki.jp/product/pad-note/?lang=en

- Good for: Note-taking, Everyday carry. Skip it if you need a stated paper weight for fountain pens: the maker gives none.

### Sikigu Pad Note colors

- Body colors (4 standard, 0 special edition): Black; White; Gray; Red.
- Per Taisei Shiki (maker's Pad Note page and product photos) (https://taisei-shiki.jp/product/pad-note/?lang=en), checked 2026-11-04. The maker lists more colors than we sampled: A5 also comes in Blue and Yellow, Pocket in Wasabi and Ice Blue, and Project Plan in Sage and Beige. Tints below were sampled from the maker's own photo; white is shown as a light cream-gray. Shops stock different colors; check the listing.

## Key takeaways

- Taisei Shiki, the Osaka maker behind the Sikigu brand, lists the Pad Note at 80 pages in five sizes: A4, A5, Square, Pocket and Project Plan, all 5 mm deep.
- It is bound like a memo pad from folded sheets, so a sheet peels off from anywhere in the book and, the maker says, no other paper falls out.
- It opens flat, so you can write into the center of the spread; the five sizes range from 95 mm to 210 mm wide.
- The A5 size was £5.99 (about US$7.90) at The Journal Shop in the UK and US$12 at Hunter Paper Co. in the US on November 4, 2026, both in our $$ band ($5 to $20).
- The maker does not state paper weight or brand, ruling spacing or a country of manufacture on the pages we read, and we have not tested the paper.

## What is the Sikigu Pad Note?

**It is a notebook that is built like a memo pad.** Sikigu is the paper-products brand of Taisei Shiki Mfg. (TAISEI Co., Ltd.), a company in Higashiosaka, Osaka that says it was founded in 1919. Its Pad Note stacks folded sheets using what the maker calls a special technique, so each sheet can be peeled off neatly from anywhere in the book, while the rest stay in place. We read the maker's English product page on November 4, 2026.

The maker pitches it for organizing your thoughts and sharing ideas with others: tear a sheet out and hand it over. For other Japanese notebook ideas, see our [best Japanese notebooks](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-japanese-notebooks/) roundup.

## What sizes, pages and colors are there?

**Five sizes, 80 pages each, 5 mm deep.**

| Size | Width × height (mm) | Colors the maker lists |
|---|---|---|
| A4 | 210 × 297 | Black, Gray |
| A5 | 148 × 210 | Black, White, Gray, Red, Blue, Yellow |
| Square | 148 × 148 | Black, Gray |
| Pocket | 95 × 148.5 | Black, Red, Gray, Wasabi, Ice Blue |
| Project Plan | 148.5 × 148.5 | Black, Sage, Beige |
| Pages | 80 | all sizes |

![Bar chart of the five Sikigu Pad Note sizes by width: A4 210 mm, A5 148, Square 148, Project Plan 148.5, Pocket 95](https://stationerytimes.com/images/sikigu-pad-note-sizes.svg?v=7ef737b4)

*Widths of the five sizes; the label gives width × height in mm. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.*

Our [notebook sizes chart](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/notebook-sizes-chart/) shows where A5 and A4 sit among standard sizes. The Pocket size is a little narrower than A6, which is 105 mm wide. The maker lists its size and page count but no paper weight, brand or ruling spacing, and says nothing about whether each size comes grid or plain. Retailers sell grid and plain versions, which we saw only in retailer listings.

## How does the folded-sheet binding work?

**Folded sheets are stacked and bound like a pad.** The maker says you can peel a folded sheet off from anywhere in the notebook, and that removing one does not loosen the others. It also opens flat, so writing continues across the center fold without fighting a spine. One UK retailer adds that a removed sheet opens out to a spread twice the size, which follows from a folded sheet but is not on the maker's page, so treat it as the retailer's description.

## Who is the Pad Note for?

**It suits people who take notes and pass them on, because each of its 80 folded-sheet pages peels off without loosening the rest.**

- **Note-taking:** the maker's pitch is organizing thoughts and sharing ideas, with 80 pages that tear off from anywhere.
- **Everyday carry:** the Pocket size is 95 × 148.5 × 5 mm.

Skip it if you need a stated paper weight for fountain pens: the maker gives none, and we have not tested it.

## What does it cost, and where is it made?

**It sits in our $$ band ($5 to $20).** On November 4, 2026 The Journal Shop in the UK listed A5 at £5.99 (about US$7.90), Pocket at £4.99 (about US$6.60) and A4 at £7.99 (about US$10.55), and Hunter Paper Co. in the US listed an A5 grid at US$12. Prices change; we did not check other sellers. The maker's own online store is linked from its page, and we did not read its prices.

Where it is made is not stated on the maker's page. One US retailer says crafted in Japan, which is a retailer's claim and not a maker statement we could confirm. If you want a loose-sheet alternative, see our [best sticky notes](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-sticky-notes/); for a letter box from the same maker, see our [Sikigu Fumibako](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/sikigu-fumibako/) guide.

## Frequently asked questions

### How many pages does the Sikigu Pad Note have?

Taisei Shiki lists 80 pages for every size. The maker adds that if you remove a sheet, no other paper falls out of the notebook.

### Do the pages tear out cleanly?

The maker says each folded sheet peels off neatly from anywhere in the book. One US retailer calls the pages perforated, which conflicts with the maker's folded-sheet description, so we follow the maker.

### What sizes does the Pad Note come in?

Five: A4 at 210 × 297 mm, A5 at 148 × 210 mm, Square at 148 × 148 mm, Pocket at 95 × 148.5 mm and Project Plan at 148.5 × 148.5 mm. Each is 5 mm deep.

### Does it lie flat?

Yes, per the maker: it opens flat, so you can write all the way to the center of the spread.

### What is the Project Plan version?

A 148.5 mm square Pad Note in Black, Sage and Beige. The maker says it lets you write the progress schedule for each project; it does not describe the printed layout in detail.

### What paper is inside, and is it fountain-pen safe?

The maker lists the material only as paper. It gives no weight, brand or fountain-pen claim, and we have not tested show-through, so test a corner first.

### How much does a Pad Note cost?

On November 4, 2026 The Journal Shop listed A5 at £5.99 (about US$7.90), Pocket at £4.99 (about US$6.60) and A4 at £7.99 (about US$10.55). Hunter Paper Co. listed an A5 grid at US$12. Prices change.

## Sources

- [Taisei Shiki (maker): Pad Note, sizes, page count, colors and description (read November 4, 2026)](https://taisei-shiki.jp/product/pad-note/?lang=en)
- [Taisei Shiki (maker): Sikigu home page, company and product list (read November 4, 2026)](https://taisei-shiki.jp/?lang=en)
- [The Journal Shop (UK retailer): Sikigu Pad Note, variant prices in GBP (read November 4, 2026)](https://www.thejournalshop.com/products/sikigu-pad-note)
- [Hunter Paper Co. (US retailer): Sikigu A5 Grid Pad Note, US price (read November 4, 2026)](https://hunterpaperco.com/products/sikigu-a5-grid-pad-note-notebook)
