---
title: "Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener: Two Blades"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/prismacolor-premier-pencil-sharpener/"
description: "Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener explained: two blades for a fine or wide point, the 3 × 1.75 in canister, which pencils it suits, and where it's made."
category: "Accessories"
type: "Pencil sharpener"
published: 2026-10-22
updated: 2026-10-22
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 5
products:
  - name: "Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener (2006685; Prismacolor item 1786520)"
    brand: "Prismacolor"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Plastic receptacle and head; steel blades"
    price_band: "$$ ($5–20 per item, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Newell Brands"
    model: "Premier Pencil Sharpener 2006685"
    mpn: "2006685"
    gtin: "070735003201"
    url: "https://www.prismacolor.com/accessories/premier-pencil-sharpener/SAP_1786520.html"
---

# Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener: Two Blades

> The Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener is a small handheld canister sharpener made for Prismacolor Premier colored pencils. It has two holes with two steel blades, one for a fine point and one for a wider point, and a translucent black receptacle with a hinged lid. School Specialty lists it at 3 × 1-3/4 in (76 × 44 mm).

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/prismacolor-premier-pencil-sharpener/
- Category: Accessories
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-22
- Updated: 2026-10-22

![Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener beside a sharpened red Prismacolor pencil, drawn to scale](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/prismacolor-premier-pencil-sharpener-16x9.png)

*The sharpener at School Specialty's 3 × 1-3/4 in, drawn to scale; head details by eye.* Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/prismacolor-premier-pencil-sharpener-cover.svg>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener (2006685; Prismacolor item 1786520) | Prismacolor (by Newell Brands) | United States | Not stated | Plastic receptacle and head; steel blades | – | $$: $5–20 per item |

- Made in (Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener (2006685; Prismacolor item 1786520)): Not stated. Prismacolor's product page (now out of stock), Amazon, School Specialty and the other retailer pages we read don't state where the sharpener is made. Amazon names the manufacturer as Sanford, Newell's former name for its office brands. Check the pack if origin matters.

## Key takeaways

- Its Amazon US listing had 4.6 stars from 39,733 ratings and ranked #5 in Pencil Sharpeners on October 22, 2026.
- School Specialty lists it at 3 × 1-3/4 in, about 76 × 44 mm; Amazon gives a weight of 1.6 oz (45 g).
- It has 2 holes and 2 steel blades: Prismacolor says one gives a fine point and one a wide point.
- The receptacle is translucent black, so you can see when it's full, and a hinged lid snaps shut over the holes.
- Amazon lists the model as 2006685; Prismacolor's own site lists it as item 1786520.

## What is the Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener?

**It's Prismacolor's own handheld sharpener for its soft-core Premier colored pencils: a small canister with two holes, two steel blades and a shavings receptacle.** Amazon's listing says it's designed for Prismacolor Premier pencils, and School Specialty says it handles other brands' art pencils too.

It's one of the best-selling manual sharpeners in the US. On October 22, 2026 its Amazon listing ranked #5 in Pencil Sharpeners, with 4.6 stars from 39,733 ratings.

## Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener specs

| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Brand | Prismacolor (Newell Brands) |
| Model | 2006685 (Amazon, Nasco); item 1786520 on Prismacolor's site |
| Size | 3 × 1-3/4 in (about 76 × 44 mm), per School Specialty |
| Weight | 1.6 oz (45 g), per Amazon |
| Holes and blades | 2 holes, 2 steel blades: fine point and wide point |
| Receptacle | Translucent black, shows when full |
| Lid | Hinged, snaps shut |
| Made in | Not stated |
| Price band | $$ ($5–20) |

Amazon gives different dimensions, 3 × 4 × 2 in, which look like a package size. We use School Specialty's, which match the sharpener's canister shape.

![Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener front view to scale, with its two-hole head and hinged lid](https://stationerytimes.com/images/prismacolor-premier-pencil-sharpener-size.svg)

*Front view at 1 mm = 3 px; the hole layout is drawn by eye.*

## What do the two blades do?

**One blade cuts a long, fine point for detail; the other cuts a shorter, wider point that lays down more color and breaks less.** Prismacolor describes them as fine and wide, while School Specialty and Nasco call the second one medium.

A wider point matters with [Prismacolor Premier colored pencils](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/prismacolor-premier-colored-pencils/), whose soft, waxy cores snap if sharpened to a needle and pressed hard. Use the fine hole for edges and small shapes, and the wide hole for filling and blending.


## Which pencils is it made for?

**Prismacolor Premier soft-core colored pencils first, and standard-size art pencils of other brands, which School Specialty says it handles too.** Premier pencils have a thick, wax-based core that retailers list at 3 to 3.8 mm, much thicker than the roughly 2.2 mm core of a No. 2 graphite pencil.

A thick, soft core is why a two-blade design helps: you choose a fine point when you need detail and a sturdier wide point when you're filling color. Prismacolor also makes harder Verithin pencils for crisp edges, which hold a fine point better.

Neither Prismacolor nor the retailers we read give the hole diameters, so check that jumbo or triangular pencils fit before relying on it. For graphite drawing pencils with a long exposed point, a two-step long-point sharpener is the usual choice.

## How does it compare with other sharpeners we cover?

**It's the cheap, pocketable choice for colored pencils; a hand-crank or long-point sharpener gives a longer, more even point but costs more and stays on the desk.** Our [best pencil sharpeners](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-pencil-sharpeners/) roundup covers the full range.

| Sharpener | Type | Holes | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prismacolor Premier | Handheld canister | 2 (fine, wide) | Soft colored pencils, on the go |
| [KUM Long Point](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/kum-long-point-sharpener/) | Handheld, two-step | 2 (wood, then graphite) | Long graphite points |
| [CARL Angel-5 Classic](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/carl-angel-5-classic-sharpener/) | Hand crank | 1 | Desk, even points with less waste |

For oil-based colored pencils such as [Faber-Castell Polychromos](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/faber-castell-polychromos/), try both holes; we haven't yet tested which gives fewer breaks.

## How do you keep the blades sharp longer?

**Prismacolor doesn't give care instructions in the pages we read, so the usual advice applies: turn the pencil straight and empty the receptacle before it's full.** The translucent body makes the second part easy to see.

Prismacolor doesn't list replacement blades in the pages we read. When points start to tear or break more often, the blade has probably dulled, and the usual fix is a new sharpener.

## Where is the Prismacolor sharpener made?

**Prismacolor doesn't say on its product page, and none of the retailer listings we read state a country.** Amazon names the manufacturer as Sanford, the former name of Newell's office-products business.

Prismacolor is an American brand owned by Newell Brands, which also owns [X-ACTO](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/x-acto-school-pro-sharpener/). Check the pack if origin matters to you.

## Frequently asked questions

### Which hole should I use on the Prismacolor sharpener?

Use the fine-point hole for detail and the wide-point hole for laying down color over larger areas. Prismacolor says the two blades give a fine and a wide point; Nasco describes the second as medium.

### Does the Prismacolor Premier sharpener work on other brands' pencils?

Yes, for standard-size pencils. School Specialty says it suits delicate art pencils of other brands as well as Prismacolor Premier.

### Can you replace the blades on the Prismacolor sharpener?

Prismacolor doesn't sell replacement blades in the listings we read; when the blades go dull, the sharpener is replaced.

### Can you carry the Prismacolor sharpener in a pencil case without spilling shavings?

School Specialty says the hinged lid snaps shut to keep shavings in when the sharpener isn't in use. We haven't tested it in a bag yet.

### Why do Prismacolor pencils break when sharpening?

Their soft, waxy cores snap easily under a dull or side-loaded blade. A sharp blade, light turning pressure and keeping the pencil straight help; our colored pencil guide covers the cores.

### Is the Prismacolor sharpener made in the USA?

Prismacolor doesn't say. It's an American brand owned by Newell Brands, but the product and retailer pages we read don't state a country.

## Sources

- [Prismacolor: Premier Pencil Sharpener, item 1786520 (two different blades, one for a fine point, the other for a wide point; page now out of stock, read as a search listing October 22, 2026)](https://www.prismacolor.com/accessories/premier-pencil-sharpener/SAP_1786520.html)
- [School Specialty: Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener, 3 × 1-3/4 inches, 2 hole, black (stainless-steel blades, fine and medium points, translucent receptacle, hinged lid)](https://select.schoolspecialty.com/prismacolor-premier-pencil-sharpener-2-hole-3-x-1-3-4-inches-black-1400845)
- [Nasco: Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener (part 2006685; fine and medium point blades, search listing)](https://www.nascoeducation.com/prismacolor-premier-pencil-sharpener-ne20522.html)
- [Amazon US: Prismacolor Premier Pencil Sharpener (model 2006685, UPC 070735003201, 1.6 oz, two blades, ratings, rank), read October 22, 2026](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004ZDL0K2)
- [Amazon US Best Sellers: Pencil Sharpeners, read October 22, 2026](https://www.amazon.com/Best-Sellers-Office-Products-Pencil-Sharpeners/zgbs/office-products/1069806)
