---
title: "Nahvalur Original Plus: Vacuum Filler, Size & Nibs"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/nahvalur-original-plus/"
description: "Nahvalur Original Plus fountain pen explained: a 146 mm acrylic vacuum filler with No. 6 steel nibs from EF to 1.1 stub, bottled ink only, and the Narwhal name."
category: "Pens"
type: "Fountain pen"
published: 2026-10-23
updated: 2026-10-24
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 7
products:
  - name: "Nahvalur Original Plus vacuum-filling fountain pen, Lovina Graphite, Fine nib"
    brand: "Nahvalur"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Acrylic body and cap, rose gold-plated trim and clip, stainless steel nib (Nahvalur)"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    model: "Original Plus Lovina Graphite"
    sku: "01070111"
    gtin: "810133463043"
    url: "https://nahvalur.com/products/original-plus-lovina-graphite-fountain-pen"
---

# Nahvalur Original Plus: Vacuum Filler, Size & Nibs

> The Nahvalur Original Plus is a vacuum-filling acrylic fountain pen from Nahvalur, the California brand formerly called Narwhal. Nahvalur lists the Lovina Graphite at 146 mm closed, 177 mm posted and 34 g, with a No. 6 steel nib from EF to a 1.1 mm stub. It fills from a bottle only and sits in our $$$ band.

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/nahvalur-original-plus/
- Category: Pens
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-23
- Updated: 2026-10-24

![Nahvalur Original Plus fountain pen in Lovina Graphite drawn to scale at 146 mm closed, with a close-up of the No. 6 steel nib](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/nahvalur-original-plus-16x9.png)

*The Lovina Graphite Original Plus, 146 mm closed, per Nahvalur.* Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/nahvalur-original-plus-cover.svg>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nahvalur Original Plus vacuum-filling fountain pen, Lovina Graphite, Fine nib | Nahvalur | United States | Not stated | Acrylic body and cap, rose gold-plated trim and clip, stainless steel nib (Nahvalur) | – | $$$: $20–75 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |

- Made in (Nahvalur Original Plus vacuum-filling fountain pen, Lovina Graphite, Fine nib): Not stated. Nahvalur's product page (read October 23, 2026) doesn't state where the pen is made. Galen Leather's Nahvalur collection page says the pens are made in California with in-house manufacturing, and Pure Pens says the brand is based in California, but we couldn't confirm the place of manufacture from Nahvalur itself.

### Nahvalur Original Plus vacuum-filling fountain pen, Lovina Graphite, Fine nib colors

- Body colors (10 standard, 1 special edition): Lovina Graphite; Matira Quartz; Amethyst; Sapphire; Citrine; Aquamarine; Soft Coral; Powder Blue; Pistachio; Lavender; Fountain Pen Day 2026 (special edition).
- Per Nahvalur (https://nahvalur.com/collections/nahvalur-original-plus), checked 2026-10-24. Colors per Nahvalur's Original Plus collection; the Fountain Pen Day 2026 edition has amber cap and accents, a clear barrel and gold-plated trim, per Nahvalur. Tints show the cap color and were sampled from Nahvalur's product photos. Shops stock different colors; check the listing.

## Key takeaways

- Nahvalur lists the Original Plus Lovina Graphite at 146 mm (5.75 in) closed, 130 mm open and 177 mm (6.97 in) posted.
- It weighs 34 g without ink with a 13 mm barrel, per Nahvalur; Pure Pens lists another Original Plus at 24 g.
- The vacuum filler draws bottled ink only; no cartridge or converter fits.
- Nahvalur offers No. 6 stainless steel nibs in EF, F, M, B and a 1.1 mm stub.
- The company, founded in 2019, changed its name from Narwhal to Nahvalur on August 3, 2022.

## What is the Nahvalur Original Plus?

**It's a vacuum-filling fountain pen: a plunger at the back pulls ink into the whole barrel, which is most of the pen.** Nahvalur sells it in acrylic with a screw cap and its own No. 6 steel nibs.

Nahvalur is a California pen company founded in 2019 as Narwhal, Pure Pens says. Galen Leather says the team debuted its pens at the 2019 DC Pen Show and changed the name to Nahvalur on August 3, 2022.

Pens made before the name change say "Narwhal" on the barrel ring, Pure Pens notes; later editions have a redesigned ring.

## Nahvalur Original Plus specs

| Spec | Nahvalur (Lovina Graphite) | Pure Pens (Azureus Blue) |
|---|---|---|
| Length closed | 146 mm (5.75 in) | 144 mm (5.7 in) |
| Length open | 130 mm (5.11 in) | 132 mm (5.2 in) |
| Length posted | 177 mm (6.97 in) | 175 mm (6.9 in) |
| Barrel | 13 mm (0.51 in) | Not given |
| Grip | 9.5–11 mm | Not given |
| Weight | 34 g without ink | 24 g |
| Filling | Vacuum, bottled ink only | Vacuum |
| Nib | No. 6 steel: EF, F, M, B, 1.1 stub | Steel |

The two weights differ by 10 g, and neither source explains why; it may come down to the material of each color. We use Nahvalur's figures for the Lovina Graphite.

![Nahvalur Original Plus lengths to scale: 146 mm closed, 130 mm with the cap off and 177 mm posted, 34 g](https://stationerytimes.com/images/nahvalur-original-plus-lengths.svg)

*Closed, cap off and posted, drawn to scale from Nahvalur's figures.*

## How does the vacuum filler work?

**You pull the plunger back, dip the nib and push the plunger down, and the pen draws ink into the barrel as the plunger reaches the end of its stroke.** It's the same method our TWSBI VAC700R guide describes; Nahvalur says the system minimizes downtime between refills.

The plunger rod runs the length of the barrel, so you see it through translucent colors. Because the barrel itself is the tank, there's no place for a cartridge or a converter.


## How does it compare to the TWSBI VAC700R?

**They are about the same length, both in our $$$ band; the TWSBI is a clear demonstrator with a shut-off valve, while the Nahvalur comes in colored acrylic.** Goulet Pens measures the [TWSBI VAC700R](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/twsbi-vac700r/) at 147 mm capped and 35.0 g, holding up to 2.37 ml.

If you'd rather twist a piston, the cheaper [TWSBI ECO](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/twsbi-eco/) and Nahvalur's own Original are piston fillers. Nahvalur lists the Original Black at 146.5 mm and 19.8 g.

## What colors does the Original Plus come in?

**Nahvalur's store listed eleven Original Plus colors when we checked on October 23, 2026.** They are Lovina Graphite and Matira Quartz from 2024; Amethyst, Sapphire, Citrine and Aquamarine from February 2025; Soft Coral, Powder Blue, Pistachio and Lavender from April 2026; and a Fountain Pen Day 2026 edition.

Nahvalur describes Lovina Graphite and Matira Quartz as sleek and muted, built for daily use. Most colors are sold at the same price in our $$$ band, while the Fountain Pen Day edition costs more.

## Which nib should you choose?

**F or M for everyday writing, EF for small handwriting, or the 1.1 mm stub for italic-style strokes.** Nahvalur calls its stainless steel nibs in-house and offers five widths on the Original Plus.

See our [nib sizes guide](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/fountain-pen-nib-sizes-explained/) for line widths, and [how to fill a fountain pen](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/how-to-fill-a-fountain-pen/) for the steps with bottled ink.

## Where is the Nahvalur Original Plus made?

**Nahvalur's product page doesn't say.** Galen Leather, a Nahvalur stockist, says the pens are made in California with in-house manufacturing, and Pure Pens says the brand is based in California.

We couldn't confirm the place of manufacture from Nahvalur itself, so check the box. For other pens at this price, see our [best fountain pens under $100](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-fountain-pens-under-100/).

## Frequently asked questions

### Are Narwhal and Nahvalur the same company?

Yes. Narwhal changed its name to Nahvalur on August 3, 2022, Galen Leather says, and Pure Pens notes that Nahvalur is the Icelandic word for the same whale. Pens made before the change say Narwhal on the barrel ring.

### Can you use cartridges in the Nahvalur Original Plus?

No. Nahvalur lists it as vacuum-filling with bottled ink only, so neither cartridges nor a converter fit.

### What's the difference between the Nahvalur Original and the Original Plus?

The Original is a piston filler and the Original Plus a vacuum filler. Nahvalur lists the Original Black at 146.5 mm and 19.8 g, about the same length as the Original Plus.

### How do you fill a vacuum fountain pen like the Original Plus?

Unscrew the blind cap, pull the plunger back, put the nib in the ink and push the plunger down; the pen draws ink in at the end of the stroke.

### Is the Nahvalur Original Plus heavy?

Nahvalur lists the Lovina Graphite at 34 g without ink, which is on the heavy side for an acrylic pen; Pure Pens lists an Azureus Blue Original Plus at 24 g. Check the listing for your color.

### Where can you buy Nahvalur pens in the US?

From Nahvalur's own store and US retailers such as Galen Leather; the Original Plus is also listed on Amazon US.

## Sources

- [Nahvalur: Original Plus Lovina Graphite Fountain Pen (2024 Regular Edition; acrylic, rose gold-plated, No. 6 steel EF to 1.1 stub, vacuum filling, 146/130/177 mm, 13 mm barrel, 9.5–11 mm grip, 34 g, item codes and UPCs; read October 23, 2026)](https://nahvalur.com/products/original-plus-lovina-graphite-fountain-pen)
- [Nahvalur: store product listing (Original Plus colors and release dates; read October 23, 2026)](https://nahvalur.com/collections/all)
- [Nahvalur: Original Black Fountain Pen (piston filler, 146.5 mm, 19.8 g)](https://nahvalur.com/products/original-black-fountain-pen)
- [Pure Pens (UK): Nahvalur Original Plus Fountain Pen, Azureus Blue (144 mm, 132 mm open, 175 mm posted, 24 g; California brand founded 2019, formerly Narwhal)](https://www.purepens.co.uk/products/nahvalur-original-plus-fountain-pen-azureus-blue)
- [Galen Leather: Nahvalur (Narwhal) Fountain Pens (name change August 3, 2022; debut at the 2019 DC Pen Show; says made in California)](https://www.galenleather.com/collections/nahvalur-fountain-pens)
- [Amazon US: Nahvalur Original Plus Fountain Pens Collection, Medium, Lovina Graphite (20 ratings, 3.9 stars, October 23, 2026)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DVMHSKP5)
- [Nahvalur: Original Plus collection (10 regular colors and the Fountain Pen Day 2026 edition)](https://nahvalur.com/collections/nahvalur-original-plus)
