---
title: "Happy Planner Classic Size: 7 × 9.25 in, 9 Discs & Refills"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/happy-planner-classic/"
description: "The Happy Planner Classic measures 7 × 9.25 in (178 × 235 mm) on 9 discs; the Mini uses 7 and the Big 11. How the disc system works, plus layouts and refills."
category: "Systems"
type: "Disc-bound planner"
published: 2026-10-21
updated: 2026-10-21
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 8
products:
  - name: "The Happy Planner Classic Disc-Bound 12-Month Planner, 2027 (Dashboard layout)"
    brand: "The Happy Planner"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Paper pages, frosted polypropylene covers, plastic discs"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 for the cover or binder with its starter insert, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "me & my BIG ideas (Fountain Valley, California)"
    url: "https://thehappyplanner.com/blogs/inspiration/happy-planning-101-pick-your-planner-size"
---

# Happy Planner Classic Size: 7 × 9.25 in, 9 Discs & Refills

> The Happy Planner Classic is a disc-bound planner from the California brand The Happy Planner: punched pages sit on 9 plastic discs, so you can add, remove and move pages. The Happy Planner gives the Classic size as 7 × 9.25 in (178 × 235 mm). A dated 12-month Classic comes with monthly dividers, weekly spreads and sticker sheets.

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/happy-planner-classic/
- Category: Systems
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-21
- Updated: 2026-10-21

![Happy Planner Classic in a charcoal cover, closed and opened flat on its discs at a weekly spread](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/happy-planner-classic-16x9.png)

*A Classic Happy Planner closed and open on its 9 discs, drawn to scale from the brand's 7 × 9.25 in.* Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/happy-planner-classic-cover.svg>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Happy Planner Classic Disc-Bound 12-Month Planner, 2027 (Dashboard layout) | The Happy Planner (by me & my BIG ideas (Fountain Valley, California)) | United States | Not stated | Paper pages, frosted polypropylene covers, plastic discs | – | $$$: $20–75 for the cover or binder with its starter insert |

- Made in (The Happy Planner Classic Disc-Bound 12-Month Planner, 2027 (Dashboard layout)): Not stated. Neither The Happy Planner's product pages nor the Amazon US listings we read for 2027 Classic planners state a country of origin. Retailers list China for Happy Planner sticker books (see our Value Pack guide), but we found no statement for the planners themselves.

## Key takeaways

- The Happy Planner lists the Classic at 7 × 9.25 in (178 × 235 mm) on 9 discs; the Mini uses 7 discs and the Big 11.
- Its 2027 Classic dated planners run January to December 2027, and Amazon US listings add October–December 2026 pages and 2 sticker sheets.
- Disc packs from The Happy Planner hold 11 discs; its medium discs are 1.25 in across.
- Filler paper for the Classic comes in packs of 40 sheets, and Classic disc notebooks hold 60 sheets.
- At The Happy Planner's own list price, a 2027 Classic planner falls in our $$$ band ($20–75).

## What is the Happy Planner Classic?

**It's a disc-bound planner: the pages have a row of punched slots that press onto plastic discs along the spine, instead of rings or a binding.** You can pull a page off, move it or add one, then snap it back on. The Happy Planner says the Classic is its original size and the most popular of its planner sizes.

The brand comes from me & my BIG ideas, a Fountain Valley, California company that started out making scrapbooking stickers, per a 2018 Walmart profile of its founders, Terri Gick and Stephanie Fleming.

## Happy Planner Classic specs

| Spec | Classic Happy Planner |
|---|---|
| Size (The Happy Planner) | 7 × 9.25 in (178 × 235 mm) |
| Discs | 9 |
| Dated range (2027 Classic) | January–December 2027; Amazon US listings add October–December 2026 |
| In the box (Amazon US) | Monthly dividers, weekly spreads, 2 sticker sheets, a bookmark |
| Pages (Amazon US) | 72 pages |
| Cover | Frosted polypropylene (Amazon US) |
| List price | US$32.99 (The Happy Planner, 2027 Classic) |

The size and disc count come from The Happy Planner's own size guide. Contents vary by theme: the Amazon US listing for the 2027 Dark Simplicity Dashboard planner gives the 72 pages, 2 sticker sheets, bookmark and frosted covers. The Happy Planner doesn't publish a paper weight for its planners; Amazon US says "premium-weight paper".

![Happy Planner Mini, Classic and Big sizes drawn to scale with their disc counts](https://stationerytimes.com/images/happy-planner-classic-sizes.svg)

*The three main Happy Planner sizes, drawn to scale with their disc counts.*

## How does the disc-bound system work?

**Each page has a row of punched slots that fit over the rim of the discs, so a page can be pulled off and pressed back on anywhere.** The discs act as the spine. The Happy Planner says the system lets you add, remove and rearrange pages and accessories.

Capacity depends on the disc size. The Happy Planner sells medium discs at 1.25 in (32 mm) across, 11 to a pack, and expander discs for when you add filler paper or extension packs. It says to count the disc slots on any accessory to check which planner it fits: 9 slots means Classic.


## Which sizes are there?

**The Happy Planner's size guide covers three main sizes, each with its own disc count.**

| Size | Pages | Discs |
|---|---|---|
| Mini | 4.625 × 7 in (117 × 178 mm) | 7 |
| Classic | 7 × 9.25 in (178 × 235 mm) | 9 |
| Big | 8.5 × 11 in (216 × 279 mm) | 11 |

Its shop also lists Skinny Classic (4.125 × 9.25 in), Skinny Mini (2.64 × 7 in) and A5 (5.8 × 8.3 in). Stickers and refills are sized to each planner, so buy Classic accessories for a Classic.

## What layouts does the Happy Planner Classic come in?

**The 2027 Classic range includes Dashboard, Horizontal and Vertical weekly layouts, plus budget and teacher planners.** The Happy Planner describes Dashboard as a weekly spread for priorities, to-dos and appointments; Horizontal gives each day a lined box.

There are also undated Classic planners that let you pick your own start month. For a page-a-day setup, The Happy Planner sells extension packs, such as a 36-sheet Classic daily pack.

## What refills and accessories are there?

**Classic filler paper comes in 40-sheet packs, disc notebooks hold 60 sheets, and accessory packs add a pocket folder, a snap-in bookmark and 20 sheets of filler paper.** All of these are listed on The Happy Planner's shop.

Stickers are the other big part of the system. Our [Happy Planner Value Pack stickers](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/happy-planner-value-pack-stickers/) guide covers the sticker books sized for the Classic.

## How much does it cost?

**A Classic dated planner falls in our $$$ band ($20–75): The Happy Planner lists 2027 Classic planners at US$32.99, and Amazon US sells some below that.** Refills, discs and stickers are sold separately, so the running cost depends on how much you add.

## How does the Happy Planner Classic compare with other planners and systems?

**The Happy Planner is the disc-bound option: unlike a coiled planner, you can move its pages, and it needs no ring mechanism.**

| | Happy Planner Classic | [Erin Condren LifePlanner](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/erin-condren-lifeplanner/) | [Filofax Original Personal](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/filofax-original-personal/) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Binding | 9 plastic discs | Coil | 6 metal rings |
| Page size | 7 × 9.25 in | 7 × 9 in | 95 × 171 mm |
| Move pages? | Yes | No | Yes |

Erin Condren and Filofax figures come from their guides. If you'd rather carry bound refills in a leather cover, the [TRAVELER'S notebook](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/travelers-notebook-regular/) uses elastic bands instead; our [notebook systems comparison](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/notebook-systems-compared/) sets the ring and elastic systems side by side. For discs under a leather cover, the [Levenger Circa Leather notebook](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/levenger-circa-leather-notebook/) puts its Junior size on 8 discs.

## Where is the Happy Planner made?

**The Happy Planner doesn't say on the product pages we read, and the Amazon US listings for 2027 Classic planners don't either.** Retailers list China for Happy Planner sticker books, but we found no statement for the planners, so we leave it unstated. The brand itself is American, based in Fountain Valley, California.

## Frequently asked questions

### What size is the Classic Happy Planner?

The Happy Planner gives the Classic as 7 × 9.25 in, about 178 × 235 mm. That's slightly larger than A5 (5.8 × 8.3 in), which The Happy Planner sells as a separate size.

### How many discs does a Classic Happy Planner have?

Nine, per The Happy Planner. The Mini uses 7 discs and the Big uses 11.

### What size discs does the Classic use?

The Happy Planner sells medium discs, 1.25 in across, in packs of 11, and expander discs for more pages. It says to count the disc slots on an accessory to check which planner size it fits.

### Can you add pages to a Happy Planner?

Yes. That's the point of the disc-bound system: pages and accessories can be added, removed and rearranged, per The Happy Planner. It sells Classic filler paper in 40-sheet packs, plus extension packs and expander discs for extra room.

### What's the difference between Classic, Mini and Big Happy Planners?

Size and disc count: Mini 4.625 × 7 in on 7 discs, Classic 7 × 9.25 in on 9, and Big 8.5 × 11 in on 11, per The Happy Planner. Refills and stickers are sized to each.

### Is there an undated Classic Happy Planner?

Yes. The Happy Planner sells undated Classic planners alongside the dated 2027 ones, so you can begin in any month you choose.

### Who makes the Happy Planner?

The Happy Planner brand comes from me & my BIG ideas, the Fountain Valley, California company that mother and daughter Terri Gick and Stephanie Fleming started as a scrapbook-sticker maker, per a 2018 Walmart profile.

## Sources

- [The Happy Planner: Happy Planning 101, Pick Your Planner Size (Big 8.5 × 11 in, 11 discs; Classic 7 × 9.25 in, 9 discs; Mini 4.625 × 7 in, 7 discs)](https://thehappyplanner.com/blogs/inspiration/happy-planning-101-pick-your-planner-size)
- [The Happy Planner: 2027 Bright Seasons Customizable Planner, Classic Dashboard Layout, 12 Months (dated January–December 2027, Classic 7 × 9.25 in, US$32.99)](https://thehappyplanner.com/products/2027-bright-seasons-customizable-planner-classic-dashboard-layout-12-months)
- [The Happy Planner: Undated Soft Watercolor Happy Planner, Classic Horizontal Layout (7 × 9.25 in, plastic discs, 12 dividers; site size menu)](https://thehappyplanner.com/products/thp-soft-watercolor-classic-undated-12-month-planner)
- [The Happy Planner: Maple Leaf Cutout Medium Metal Disc Set (11 discs, 1.25 in diameter)](https://thehappyplanner.com/products/maple-leaf-cutout-medium-metal-disc-set)
- [The Happy Planner: Expander Metal Discs, Black (11 expander discs)](https://thehappyplanner.com/products/thp-black-expander-metal-discs)
- [Amazon US: Happy Planner Disc-Bound Planner Jan.–Dec. 2027, Classic Size, Dashboard Layout, Dark Simplicity (72 pages, 2 sticker sheets, bookmark, frosted covers), read October 21, 2026](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0H8Q5LJBC)
- [Amazon US: Happy Planner Disc-Bound Planner July 2026–June 2027, Classic Size, Horizontal Layout (3 extra months, plastic discs), read October 21, 2026](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GHZMZXTY)
- [Walmart: Meet the Mother-Daughter Team Behind the Season's Happiest Planner (August 15, 2018)](https://corporate.walmart.com/news/2018/08/15/meet-the-mother-daughter-team-behind-the-seasons-happiest-planner)
