---
title: "Best Planners for 2027: Hobonichi, Day Designer & More"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-planners-2027/"
description: "The best 2027 planners by use: Hobonichi Cousin, Day Designer, Erin Condren, Passion Planner, Hobonichi Weeks and Blue Sky. Layouts, sizes and paper."
category: "Notebooks"
type: "Planner"
published: 2026-10-21
updated: 2026-10-21
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 12
products:
  - name: "Hobonichi Techo Cousin Book 2027, A5, English, January start"
    brand: "Hobonichi"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Japan"
    material: "Tomoe River S paper, thread-sewn binding"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    model: "Cousin Book 2027, English, January start (cb27_jan_en)"
    url: "https://www.1101.com/store/techo/ja/2027/pc/detail_cover/cb27_jan_en/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/hobonichi-cousin/"
  - name: "Day Designer 2027 Daily Planner, Original size (flagship, January–December 2027)"
    brand: "Day Designer"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Glossy hardcover or bookcloth; 100 gsm white paper; wire-o binding"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Day Designer (founded by Whitney English)"
    model: "2027 Daily Planner, Original size"
    sku: "162728 (Black Stripe)"
    gtin: "699931627280"
    url: "https://daydesigner.com/pages/flagship-planners"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/day-designer-daily-planner/"
  - name: "Erin Condren Coiled LifePlanner, 7 × 9 in (vertical, horizontal or hourly)"
    brand: "Erin Condren"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "United States"
    material: "80 lb paper; plated aluminum coil; laminated cover"
    released: "2007"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Erin Condren Design"
    url: "https://www.erincondren.com/collage-lifeplanner"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/erin-condren-lifeplanner/"
  - name: "Passion Planner Weekly (Small, Medium or Large; dated or undated)"
    brand: "Passion Planner"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "China"
    material: "120 gsm bamboo (grass) paper; faux leather softcover"
    released: "2013-10"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Passion Planner"
    url: "https://passionplanner.com/pages/specs"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/passion-planner/"
  - name: "Hobonichi Techo Weeks 2027, English, January start (White Line: Black and other covers)"
    brand: "Hobonichi"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Japan"
    material: "Tomoe River S paper, thread-sewn; soft PVC cover (White Line: Black)"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    model: "Weeks 2027, White Line: Black (wb27_whitelinebk)"
    url: "https://www.1101.com/store/techo/ja/2027/pc/detail_cover/wb27_whitelinebk/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/hobonichi-weeks/"
  - name: "Hobonichi Techo Original Book, A6, 2027 (English or Japanese; January or April start)"
    brand: "Hobonichi"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Tomoe River paper (Tomoe River S since the 2024 edition), thread-sewn binding"
    released: "2001-10-05"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    url: "https://www.1101.com/store/techo/ja/2027/pc/detail_cover/ob27_jan_en/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/hobonichi-techo-original/"
  - name: "Blue Sky 2027 Weekly & Monthly Planner, 5 × 8 in, Black (160973)"
    brand: "Blue Sky"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Flexible printed plastic cover; twin-wire binding"
    price_band: "$$ ($5–20 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Blue Sky The Color of Imagination, LLC"
    model: "160973"
    mpn: "160973"
    url: "https://www.staples.com/2027-blue-sky-5-x-8-weekly-monthly-planner-black-160973/product_24694046"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/blue-sky-2027-weekly-monthly-planner/"
  - name: "Leuchtturm1917 2027 Weekly Planner & Notebook, Medium (A5), hardcover (lined or dotted notes page)"
    brand: "Leuchtturm1917"
    brand_origin: "Germany"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Hard or soft cover, 80 g/m² ivory paper"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "LEUCHTTURM1917 GmbH (Geesthacht, Germany)"
    model: "2027 Weekly Planner & Notebook, Medium (A5)"
    sku: "400212"
    url: "https://www.leuchtturm1917.de/wochenkalender-und-notizbuch-2027.html"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/leuchtturm1917-weekly-planner-2027/"
  - name: "Moleskine Classic 12-Month Weekly Planner 2027, Large (Weekly Notebook layout; hard or soft cover)"
    brand: "Moleskine"
    brand_origin: "Italy"
    made_in: "China"
    material: "Hard or soft cover; ivory 70 g/m² acid-free paper (FSC-certified and controlled sources)"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Moleskine S.r.l. (D'Ieteren Group)"
    model: "12M WKLY NTBK LG"
    gtin: "8056999279165"
    url: "https://www.moleskine.com/en-us/turn-the-page-keep-the-fun/classic-planner-2027-large-sage-green-8056999279165.html"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/moleskine-weekly-planner/"
  - name: "Clever Fox Planner PRO, undated weekly & monthly planner, 8.5 × 11 in"
    brand: "Clever Fox"
    brand_origin: "Latvia"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "120 gsm paper; sewn binding; faux leather softcover"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "SV Digital, LLC (Clever Fox), Riga, Latvia"
    model: "Planner PRO (Weekly)"
    sku: "B07HKDSTCN"
    url: "https://cleverfoxplanner.com/products/pro-weekly"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/clever-fox-planner-pro/"
  - name: "KOKUYO Jibun Techo First Kit 2027 (DIARY + LIFE + IDEA), A5 Slim"
    brand: "KOKUYO"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Japan"
    material: "Clear matte PVC cover with pen holder; KOKUYO THIN PAPER (DIARY, IDEA) and MIO PAPER (LIFE)"
    released: "2013"
    price_band: "$$$ ($20–75 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "KOKUYO Co., Ltd."
    model: "ニ-JF1W-27 (NI-JF1W-27)"
    mpn: "NI-JF1W-27"
    gtin: "4901480443713"
    url: "https://www.kokuyo.com/stationery/category/diary/diary/23240/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/kokuyo-jibun-techo-first-kit/"
---

# Best Planners for 2027: Hobonichi, Day Designer & More

> On published specs, the Hobonichi Techo Cousin is the best planner for 2027: one A5 book with monthly, vertical weekly and 377 daily pages on Tomoe River S paper. Pick the Day Designer for hourly daily planning, the Erin Condren LifePlanner for a weekly, the Passion Planner for goals, the Hobonichi Weeks to carry and Blue Sky for a budget.

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-planners-2027/
- Category: Notebooks
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-21
- Updated: 2026-10-21

![To-scale drawing of seven closed 2027 planners labelled with their pick: Hobonichi Cousin 148 × 210 mm best overall, Day Designer 229 × 248 mm daily, Erin Condren LifePlanner 178 × 229 mm weekly, Passion Planner Small 148 × 210 mm goal-setting, Hobonichi Weeks 95 × 186 mm compact, Hobonichi Techo Original 105 × 148 mm for fountain pens and Blue Sky 127 × 203 mm budget](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/best-planners-2027-16x9.png)

*One pick per job, drawn at 1 mm = 0.68 px from the sizes makers and retailers list.* Original drawing (SVG): https://stationerytimes.com/images/best-planners-2027-cover.svg. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hobonichi Techo Cousin Book 2027, A5, English, January start | Hobonichi (by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Japan | Tomoe River S paper, thread-sewn binding | – | $$$: $20–75 per notebook |
| Day Designer 2027 Daily Planner, Original size (flagship, January–December 2027) | Day Designer (by Day Designer (founded by Whitney English)) | United States | Not stated | Glossy hardcover or bookcloth; 100 gsm white paper; wire-o binding | – | $$$: $20–75 per notebook |
| Erin Condren Coiled LifePlanner, 7 × 9 in (vertical, horizontal or hourly) | Erin Condren (by Erin Condren Design) | United States | United States | 80 lb paper; plated aluminum coil; laminated cover | 2007 | $$$: $20–75 per notebook |
| Passion Planner Weekly (Small, Medium or Large; dated or undated) | Passion Planner | United States | China | 120 gsm bamboo (grass) paper; faux leather softcover | 2013-10 | $$$: $20–75 per notebook |
| Hobonichi Techo Weeks 2027, English, January start (White Line: Black and other covers) | Hobonichi (by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Japan | Tomoe River S paper, thread-sewn; soft PVC cover (White Line: Black) | – | $$$: $20–75 per notebook |
| Hobonichi Techo Original Book, A6, 2027 (English or Japanese; January or April start) | Hobonichi (by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Not stated | Tomoe River paper (Tomoe River S since the 2024 edition), thread-sewn binding | 2001-10-05 | $$$: $20–75 per notebook |
| Blue Sky 2027 Weekly & Monthly Planner, 5 × 8 in, Black (160973) | Blue Sky (by Blue Sky The Color of Imagination, LLC) | United States | Not stated | Flexible printed plastic cover; twin-wire binding | – | $$: $5–20 per notebook |
| Leuchtturm1917 2027 Weekly Planner & Notebook, Medium (A5), hardcover (lined or dotted notes page) | Leuchtturm1917 (by LEUCHTTURM1917 GmbH (Geesthacht, Germany)) | Germany | Not stated | Hard or soft cover, 80 g/m² ivory paper | – | $$$: $20–75 per notebook |
| Moleskine Classic 12-Month Weekly Planner 2027, Large (Weekly Notebook layout; hard or soft cover) | Moleskine (by Moleskine S.r.l. (D'Ieteren Group)) | Italy | China | Hard or soft cover; ivory 70 g/m² acid-free paper (FSC-certified and controlled sources) | – | $$$: $20–75 per notebook |
| Clever Fox Planner PRO, undated weekly & monthly planner, 8.5 × 11 in | Clever Fox (by SV Digital, LLC (Clever Fox), Riga, Latvia) | Latvia | Not stated | 120 gsm paper; sewn binding; faux leather softcover | – | $$$: $20–75 per notebook |
| KOKUYO Jibun Techo First Kit 2027 (DIARY + LIFE + IDEA), A5 Slim | KOKUYO (by KOKUYO Co., Ltd.) | Japan | Japan | Clear matte PVC cover with pen holder; KOKUYO THIN PAPER (DIARY, IDEA) and MIO PAPER (LIFE) | 2013 | $$$: $20–75 per notebook |

- Made in (Hobonichi Techo Cousin Book 2027, A5, English, January start): Japan. Per Boston General Store's 2027 Cousin listing, which files it in its Made in Japan collection. Hobonichi's Japanese store page for the 2027 English Cousin gives size, weight, pages and paper but no country of manufacture (it names one only for a free charm, made in China). Source: https://www.bostongeneralstore.com/collections/made-in-japan/products/hobonichi-techo-book-cousin-a5
- Made in (Day Designer 2027 Daily Planner, Original size (flagship, January–December 2027)): Not stated. Day Designer's 2027 listing says each planner is carefully crafted by hand but doesn't state where the flagship planners are made. Its UPCs share the 699931 company prefix used on Blue Sky products, its retail partner. Catalog listings for the separate Day Designer for Blue Sky line give China or Vietnam depending on the edition. Source: https://daydesigner.com/products/2027-daily-planner-black-stripe
- Made in (Erin Condren Coiled LifePlanner, 7 × 9 in (vertical, horizontal or hourly)): United States. Erin Condren's Collage LifePlanner product page says "Made in The USA: our planners are made right here at home". Its LifePlanner landing page says "Designed in the USA" instead, and some Amazon and retailer listings don't state an origin; note that Erin Condren's sticker books are labelled "Imported". Source: https://www.erincondren.com/collage-lifeplanner
- Made in (Passion Planner Weekly (Small, Medium or Large; dated or undated)): China. Passion Planner's own store data tags every weekly and daily planner it sells (2026, 2027, mid-year and undated) with the country-of-origin code coo_china. The product pages don't print a 'made in' line, so check the label on the planner. Brand origin: founder Angelia Trinidad started the company in California. Source: https://passionplanner.com/products/weekly-2027-planner-elite-black.json
- Made in (Hobonichi Techo Weeks 2027, English, January start (White Line: Black and other covers)): Japan. Per retailer spec sheets for the 2027 Weeks (Sortdays and Milligram). Hobonichi's Japanese store page for White Line: Black gives size, weight, pages and materials but no country of manufacture. Source: https://sortdays.com/products/hobonichi-techo-2027-weeks-planner-white-line-ivory
- Made in (Hobonichi Techo Original Book, A6, 2027 (English or Japanese; January or April start)): Not stated. Hobonichi's Japanese store listing for the 2027 English Original gives size, weight, pages and paper but no country of manufacture (it names one only for a free charm, made in China), and we found no retailer spec sheet that states it for the Original Book. Hunter Paper Co. says its Original Avec book is made in Japan by Hobonichi, but that is a different product. Check the back of the book.
- Made in (Blue Sky 2027 Weekly & Monthly Planner, 5 × 8 in, Black (160973)): Not stated. Staples' listing for item 160973 doesn't state a country of manufacture, and Blue Sky's own store page for the matching Enterprise 5 × 8 weekly doesn't either. Reseller listings for older Blue Sky planners give China, but that doesn't confirm this 2027 model, so check the label.
- Made in (Leuchtturm1917 2027 Weekly Planner & Notebook, Medium (A5), hardcover (lined or dotted notes page)): Not stated. Neither Leuchtturm1917's German product page, which names only the maker, LEUCHTTURM1917 GmbH in Geesthacht, nor the US and Australian retailer listings we read state where the 2027 planners are made, so check the label on your copy.
- Made in (Moleskine Classic 12-Month Weekly Planner 2027, Large (Weekly Notebook layout; hard or soft cover)): China. Per John Lewis's spec table for the 2027 12-month weekly planner (Sage hard cover). Moleskine's Italian and US product pages don't state the country, and Harry Hartog says only "Designed in Italy", so check the label on your copy. Source: https://www.johnlewis.com/moleskine-12-month-weekly-diary-planner-2027-hard-cover-sage/p115470670
- Made in (Clever Fox Planner PRO, undated weekly & monthly planner, 8.5 × 11 in): Not stated. Clever Fox's own store and the Amazon, Walmart and eBay listings we found give no country of manufacture; Clever Fox says only that every print run is checked. Check the label on the back of the planner. Brand origin: Clever Fox's store terms name SV Digital, LLC, registered at Gustava Zemgala gatve 74, Riga, Latvia, under Latvian law and with a Latvian VAT number; its Faire wholesale profile lists Stockton, California, and its US orders ship from Amazon fulfillment centers. Source: https://cleverfoxplanner.com/products/pro-weekly
- Made in (KOKUYO Jibun Techo First Kit 2027 (DIARY + LIFE + IDEA), A5 Slim): Japan. KOKUYO's global online store gives Country of Origin: Japan for the 2027 First Kit and the 2027 DIARY and Biz; The Journal Shop and Nomado also say Japan. KOKUYO's Japanese product page doesn't list the field. Source: https://www.kokuyostore.com/en_US/jibun_techo/jibun-techo-firstkit-%28diary%2Bidea%2Blife%29-2027-a5-slim/NI-JF1-27.html

## Key takeaways

- The Hobonichi Cousin packs 544 pages into an A5 book of about 445 g, per Hobonichi: monthly, vertical weekly and daily pages for 2027.
- Sizes run from the 186 × 95 mm Hobonichi Weeks (about 133 g) to the Day Designer at 9 × 9.75 in including its binding (2.6 lb).
- Paper weights published by the makers range from Moleskine's 70 g/m² to the Passion Planner's 120 gsm; Hobonichi uses thin Tomoe River S.
- Start dates differ: the Hobonichi Weeks begins November 30, 2026, the Blue Sky planner adds October to December 2026, and Moleskine's 18-month book starts in July 2026.
- Every planner here is in our $$$ band ($20–75) except the Blue Sky 5 × 8 in weekly, which Staples sells in our $$ band ($5–20).

## What is the best planner for 2027?

**The Hobonichi Techo Cousin is the best 2027 planner for most people, but the best pick for daily scheduling, weekly planning, goals, carrying, fountain pens or a small budget is a different book.** Picks are based on published specs and maker claims; we haven't tested them yet.

- **Best overall:** [Hobonichi Techo Cousin](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/hobonichi-cousin/) 2027. One A5 book holds monthly calendars, 106 vertical weekly pages and 377 daily pages, 544 pages in all, on Tomoe River S paper.
- **Best daily:** [Day Designer 2027 Daily Planner](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/day-designer-daily-planner/). A page per day with hourly lines from 5 am to 9 pm, a top-three box and a to-do list, on 100 gsm paper.
- **Best weekly:** [Erin Condren Coiled LifePlanner](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/erin-condren-lifeplanner/). A 7 × 9 in coiled weekly in vertical, horizontal, hourly or dashboard layouts on 80 lb paper, and Erin Condren says it is made in the USA.
- **Best for goal-setting:** [Passion Planner](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/passion-planner/). It opens with the Passion Roadmap goal exercise, ends each month with a reflection and splits days into half-hour blocks, on 120 gsm paper.
- **Most compact:** [Hobonichi Weeks](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/hobonichi-weeks/). A wallet-size weekly, 186 × 95 × 11 mm and about 133 g, with a grid page beside each week and 75 grid memo pages.
- **Best for fountain pens:** Hobonichi Techo Original. Its A6 daily pages use the same Tomoe River S as the Cousin, which Wirecutter says resists bleeding and feathering even from fountain pens, in a 195 g book.
- **Budget:** Blue Sky 2027 Weekly & Monthly Planner (160973). A 5 × 8 in weekly that Staples sells in our $$ band ($5–20), with three bonus months from October 2026.

KOKUYO's Jibun Techo, with its 24-hour vertical week, is the pick for time-blocking. For dated diaries and their 2027 sale dates, see our [best 2027 journals](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-2027-journals/).

## How do the 2027 planners compare?

**The picks split into daily books, weeklies and one hybrid, the Cousin; all but the Blue Sky sit in our $$$ band.**

| Planner | Layout | Size | Paper | Dated | Band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hobonichi Cousin | Monthly, weekly vertical, daily | 148 × 210 mm (A5), 445 g | Tomoe River S | Jan–Dec 2027 | $$$ |
| Day Designer daily | Daily, hourly 5 am–9 pm | 9 × 9.75 in with binding, 2.6 lb | 100 gsm | Jan–Dec 2027 | $$$ |
| Erin Condren LifePlanner | Weekly: vertical, horizontal, hourly, dashboard | 7 × 9 in | 80 lb | 12 or 18 months | $$$ |
| Passion Planner | Weekly, half-hour blocks | Small 148 × 210 mm to Large 7.8 × 11 in | 120 gsm | Dated or undated | $$$ |
| Hobonichi Weeks | Week + grid page | 186 × 95 mm, 133 g | Tomoe River S | Nov 30, 2026–Jan 2, 2028 | $$$ |
| Hobonichi Original | Daily | 148 × 105 mm (A6), 195 g | Tomoe River S | Jan–Dec 2027 | $$$ |
| Blue Sky 160973 | Weekly + monthly | 5 × 8 in | Not stated | Jan–Dec 2027 | $$ |
| Leuchtturm1917 Weekly & Notebook | Week + notes page | 145 × 210 mm | 80 g/m² | Jan–Dec 2027 | $$$ |
| Moleskine Weekly, Large | Week + ruled page | 130 × 210 mm | 70 g/m² | 12 or 18 months | $$$ |
| Clever Fox PRO | Monthly + weekly | 8.5 × 11 in | 120 gsm | Undated | $$$ |
| Jibun Techo First Kit | Monthly, 24-hour weekly vertical | 136 × 217 mm (A5 Slim) | THIN PAPER | Nov 2026 start | $$$ |

Figures are from the makers except the Blue Sky's, from Staples. Hobonichi lists the Cousin at ¥4,620 (about US$29) and the Original at ¥2,860 (about US$18) in Japan; US shops charge more.

## Should you choose a daily or a weekly planner?

**Choose a daily if you schedule by the hour or like to write as you plan; choose a weekly if you want the whole week in view and a lighter book.** The trade-off is bulk: the Day Designer weighs 2.6 lb, while the Hobonichi Weeks weighs about 133 g.

The Cousin sits in between, with both views in one A5 book. Wirecutter, which recommends the Day Designer for packed agendas, also calls it very bulky and its pages hard to turn.

## Which planner is best for goal-setting?

**The Passion Planner is built around goals: a Passion Roadmap exercise at the front, and monthly reflection pages.** It comes dated or undated, in three sizes with 221 pages each.

The Clever Fox Planner PRO is the undated, letter-size alternative, with vision and goal pages ahead of 12 monthly and 52 weekly spreads. Both use 120 gsm paper, per their makers and reviewers.

## Which 2027 planner is best for fountain pens?

**A Hobonichi Techo: its Tomoe River S paper takes fountain-pen ink well, though writing shows through the thin pages.** Wirecutter describes Tomoe River as resisting bleeding and feathering even from fountain pens.

Among Western planners, the Leuchtturm1917's 80 g/m² paper is heavier than Moleskine's 70 g/m², and reviewers report bleed-through on Moleskine paper with wet inks.


## What do other reviewers recommend?

**Wirecutter's July 2026 update picks only one of our planners, the Erin Condren LifePlanner, and favors modular systems.**

- It names the LifePlanner its best highly decorated option, citing the 7 × 9 in page and the choice of vertical, horizontal or hourly layouts.
- Its other picks include the Muji Recycled Paper Weekly Planner as the cheapest and the Traveler's Notebook as the compact, modular choice.
- It says the Hobonichi Original and Cousin fared well in testing but are left out of the top picks because of limited availability.
- Testers found the Passion Planner cramped, and the regular-size Moleskine and the Leuchtturm1917 Week Planner short of daily writing room.

## Where are these planners made?

**Erin Condren says its LifePlanner is made in the USA; KOKUYO gives Japan for the Jibun Techo, and retailers list the Hobonichi Weeks and Cousin as made in Japan.** Passion Planner's store data tags its planners as made in China, and John Lewis lists Moleskine's 2027 planners as made in China. Day Designer, Clever Fox, Leuchtturm1917, Blue Sky and Hobonichi (for the Original) don't state it.

## Frequently asked questions

### What is the best daily planner for 2027?

The Day Designer 2027 Daily Planner if you work at a desk: a page per day with hourly lines from 5 am to 9 pm and a top-three box on 100 gsm paper. To carry one, the A6 Hobonichi Techo Original gives a page per day in a 195 g book.

### What is the best weekly planner for 2027?

The Erin Condren Coiled LifePlanner, a 7 × 9 in dated weekly with vertical, horizontal, hourly or dashboard layouts on 80 lb paper. If you want a notes page beside each week, the Leuchtturm1917 Weekly Planner & Notebook pairs the week with a ruled or dotted page.

### Which planner is best for goal-setting?

The Passion Planner, which opens with a goal-mapping Passion Roadmap and ends each month with a reflection page. The undated Clever Fox Planner PRO is a letter-size alternative with goal and vision pages.

### Which 2027 planner is best for fountain pens?

A Hobonichi Techo, whose Tomoe River S paper takes fountain-pen ink well though writing shows through. Wirecutter notes that Tomoe River resists bleeding and feathering even from fountain pens. We haven't tested the 2027 books ourselves.

### What is a good cheap planner for 2027?

A Blue Sky 5 × 8 in weekly and monthly planner, such as item 160973, sold by Staples in our $$ band ($5–20). It runs January to December 2027 with three bonus months from October 2026.

### Should I get a daily or weekly planner?

Get a daily planner if you schedule by the hour or journal as you plan; get a weekly if you want to see the whole week at once and carry less. Daily books are thicker: the Day Designer weighs 2.6 lb, per Day Designer.

### When do 2027 planners start?

Most run January to December 2027, but many start early: the Hobonichi Weeks begins November 30, 2026, KOKUYO's Jibun Techo in November 2026, and 18-month Moleskine and Erin Condren editions in July 2026.

### Is the Passion Planner dated or undated?

Both. Passion Planner sells dated annual planners and undated versions in Small, Medium and Large sizes, all with 221 pages of 120 gsm paper per its specs page.

## Sources

- [Staples: 2027 Blue Sky 5 × 8 in Weekly & Monthly Planner, Black (model 160973; January–December 2027, flexible plastic cover, bonus October–December 2026)](https://www.staples.com/2027-blue-sky-5-x-8-weekly-monthly-planner-black-160973/product_24694046)
- [Wirecutter: Our Favorite Paper Planners (updated July 15, 2026)](https://www.nytimes.com/wirecutter/reviews/our-favorite-paper-planners/)
- [Hobonichi Japanese store: 2027 English Cousin Book (size, weight, 544 pages, 106 weekly pages, ¥4,620)](https://www.1101.com/store/techo/ja/2027/pc/detail_cover/cb27_jan_en/)
- [Hobonichi Japanese store: 2027 English Original Book (size, weight, 464 pages, ¥2,860)](https://www.1101.com/store/techo/ja/2027/pc/detail_cover/ob27_jan_en/)
- [Hobonichi Japanese store: Weeks 2027, White Line: Black (186 × 95 × 11 mm, about 133 g, 240 pages)](https://www.1101.com/store/techo/ja/2027/pc/detail_cover/wb27_whitelinebk/)
- [Day Designer: 2027 Daily Planner, Black Stripe (9 × 9.75 × 1.5 in, 100 GSM, 5 am–9 pm, 2.6 lb)](https://daydesigner.com/products/2027-daily-planner-black-stripe)
- [Erin Condren: Collage LifePlanner (7 × 9 in, 80 lb paper, plated aluminum coil, made in the USA)](https://www.erincondren.com/collage-lifeplanner)
- [Passion Planner: Specs (sizes, 221 pages, 120 gsm, contents)](https://passionplanner.com/pages/specs)
- [Clever Fox: PRO Weekly (8.5 × 11 in, pocket, sticker sheets, ribbons, elastic)](https://cleverfoxplanner.com/products/pro-weekly)
- [LEUCHTTURM1917 (DE): Wochenkalender und Notizbuch 2027 (144 pages, 80 g/m², €27.50 for the English Medium)](https://www.leuchtturm1917.de/wochenkalender-und-notizbuch-2027.html)
- [Moleskine (IT): Agenda Classic 2027 Large Settimanale (70 g/m² paper, €28.00)](https://www.moleskine.com/it-it/turn-the-page-keep-the-fun/agenda-classic-2027-large-verde-salvia-8056999279165.html)
- [KOKUYO: ジブン手帳2027 ファーストキット A5スリム (217 × 136 mm, 24-hour weekly vertical, ¥5,000 before tax)](https://www.kokuyo.com/stationery/category/diary/diary/23240/)
