---
title: "Best Permanent Markers: Zebra Mackee, Sharpie, KOKUYO"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-permanent-markers/"
description: "Permanent markers and a lab pen compared on maker specs: seven Zebra Mackee markers, the Sharpie Fine Point and the KOKUYO Research Lab Pen, with widths and prices."
category: "Pens"
published: 2026-10-31
updated: 2026-10-31
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 9
products:
  - name: "Zebra Hi-Mackee"
    brand: "Zebra"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Plastic body; alcohol-based oil dye ink"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    model: "Hi-Mackee"
    mpn: "MC12C"
    url: "https://www.zebra.co.jp/pro/detail/mackee/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-hi-mackee-marker/"
  - name: "Zebra Mackee Care"
    brand: "Zebra"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Plastic body; alcohol-based oil dye ink"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    model: "Mackee Care"
    mpn: "YYTS5-12C"
    url: "https://www.zebra.co.jp/pro/detail/mackee-care/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-care-extra-fine/"
  - name: "Zebra Mackee Care Ultra Fine"
    brand: "Zebra"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Plastic body; oil-based ink"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    model: "Mackee Care Ultra Fine"
    mpn: "YYTH3-R"
    url: "https://www.zebra.co.jp/pro/detail/mackee-care-ultra-fine/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-care-ultra-fine/"
  - name: "Zebra Onamae Mackee"
    brand: "Zebra"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Plastic body; alcohol-based oil dye ink"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    model: "Onamae Mackee"
    mpn: "YYTS7-BK"
    url: "https://www.zebra.co.jp/pro/detail/onamaemackee_both/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-onamae-mackee-name-marker/"
  - name: "Zebra Mackee Knock"
    brand: "Zebra"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Plastic body; alcohol-based oil dye ink"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    model: "Mackee Knock fine"
    mpn: "YYSS6-5C"
    url: "https://www.zebra.co.jp/pro/detail/mackeenock/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-knock/"
  - name: "Zebra Paper Mackee"
    brand: "Zebra"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Plastic body; water-based pigment ink"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    model: "Paper Mackee"
    mpn: "WYT5-15C"
    url: "https://www.zebra.co.jp/pro/detail/paper-mackee/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-paper-mackee/"
  - name: "Zebra Mackee Extra Thick"
    brand: "Zebra"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Plastic body; alcohol-based oil dye ink"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)"
    model: "Mackee Extra Thick"
    mpn: "MC-EB-450-RT"
    url: "https://www.zebra.co.jp/pro/detail/mackee_gokufuto/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-extra-thick/"
  - name: "Sharpie Fine Point"
    brand: "Sharpie"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "United States"
    material: "Plastic barrel and cap, felt bullet tip, alcohol-based ink"
    released: "1964"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "Sanford L.P., a Newell Brands company"
    mpn: "30001"
    url: "https://www.sharpie.com/markers/permanent-markers/sharpie-permanent-markers-fine-point/SP_1185579.html"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/sharpie-fine-point/"
  - name: "KOKUYO Research Lab Pen"
    brand: "KOKUYO"
    brand_origin: "Japan"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Oil-based alcohol-resistant ink; hard fine tip"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count), typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "KOKUYO Co., Ltd. (Osaka)"
    model: "Research Lab Pen"
    url: "https://www.kokuyo.com/en/stationery/series/research-lab-pen/"
    guide: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/kokuyo-research-lab-pen/"
---

# Best Permanent Markers: Zebra Mackee, Sharpie, KOKUYO

> Based on maker specs, the best all-round permanent marker in this set is the Zebra Hi-Mackee, a double-ended oil-based marker with 6.0 mm and 1.5 to 2.0 mm lines for 165 yen (about US$1.04). Pick the Mackee Care Ultra Fine for 0.3 mm detail, the Onamae Mackee for names on cloth and the KOKUYO Research Lab Pen for alcohol resistance.

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-permanent-markers/
- Category: Pens
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-31
- Updated: 2026-10-31

![Five permanent markers drawn in proportion, each beside a line at its listed width from 6.0 mm down to 0.3 mm](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/best-permanent-markers-illustration-16x9.png?v=514f0cf9)

*Five markers and their line widths (bodies in proportion, lines at 1 mm = 4 px).* Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times. Original drawing (SVG): <https://stationerytimes.com/images/best-permanent-markers-illustration.svg?v=f52711bb>. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zebra Hi-Mackee | Zebra (by Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Not stated | Plastic body; alcohol-based oil dye ink | – | $: under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |
| Zebra Mackee Care | Zebra (by Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Not stated | Plastic body; alcohol-based oil dye ink | – | $: under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |
| Zebra Mackee Care Ultra Fine | Zebra (by Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Not stated | Plastic body; oil-based ink | – | $: under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |
| Zebra Onamae Mackee | Zebra (by Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Not stated | Plastic body; alcohol-based oil dye ink | – | $: under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |
| Zebra Mackee Knock | Zebra (by Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Not stated | Plastic body; alcohol-based oil dye ink | – | $: under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |
| Zebra Paper Mackee | Zebra (by Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Not stated | Plastic body; water-based pigment ink | – | $: under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |
| Zebra Mackee Extra Thick | Zebra (by Zebra Co., Ltd. (Tokyo)) | Japan | Not stated | Plastic body; alcohol-based oil dye ink | – | $: under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |
| Sharpie Fine Point | Sharpie (by Sanford L.P., a Newell Brands company) | United States | United States | Plastic barrel and cap, felt bullet tip, alcohol-based ink | 1964 | $: under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |
| KOKUYO Research Lab Pen | KOKUYO (by KOKUYO Co., Ltd. (Osaka)) | Japan | Not stated | Oil-based alcohol-resistant ink; hard fine tip | – | $: under $5 per pen (multi-packs divided by the count) |

- Made in (Zebra Hi-Mackee): Not stated. Zebra's Japanese product page lists line width, ink, size, weight, part number and price but no country of manufacture, so check the label on your copy.
- Made in (Zebra Mackee Care): Not stated. Zebra's Japanese product page lists line width, ink, size, weight, part number and price but no country of manufacture, so check the label on your copy.
- Made in (Zebra Mackee Care Ultra Fine): Not stated. Zebra's Japanese product page lists line width, ink, size, weight, part number and price but no country of manufacture, so check the label on your copy.
- Made in (Zebra Onamae Mackee): Not stated. Zebra's Japanese product page lists line width, ink, size, weight, part number and price but no country of manufacture, so check the label on your copy.
- Made in (Zebra Mackee Knock): Not stated. Zebra's Japanese product page lists line width, ink, size, weight, part number and price but no country of manufacture, so check the label on your copy.
- Made in (Zebra Paper Mackee): Not stated. Zebra's Japanese product page lists line width, ink, size, weight, part number and price but no country of manufacture, so check the label on your copy.
- Made in (Zebra Mackee Extra Thick): Not stated. Zebra's Japanese product page lists line width, ink, size, weight, part number and price but no country of manufacture, so check the label on your copy.
- Made in (Sharpie Fine Point): United States. Per US business-supplier spec sheets for item 30001 (GoVets lists country of origin US; Officecrave says made in USA). Inbound Logistics (October 2025) reports that Newell makes most Sharpies, in all 93 colors, at its Maryville, Tennessee factory, with only the felt tip imported from Japan; Wikipedia also names a plant in Mexicali, Mexico. One distributor notes that the country of origin is subject to change. Sharpie's product pages don't state it. Source: https://www.govets.com/newell-312-203349.html
- Made in (KOKUYO Research Lab Pen): Not stated. KOKUYO's Research Lab Pen series page gives no country of manufacture, so check the label on your copy.

## Key takeaways

- Line widths run from 0.3 mm (Mackee Care Ultra Fine) to 17 mm (Mackee Extra Thick) in this set.
- Six of the Zebra Mackee markers cost between 132 and 198 yen (about US$0.84 to US$1.25); only the Extra Thick is 550 yen (about US$3.48).
- The Zebra Paper Mackee uses water-based pigment ink that does not show through paper; the rest of the Mackee line is oil-based.
- The KOKUYO Research Lab Pen is the one built to resist alcohol and to write on frozen surfaces, at 440 yen (about US$2.78).
- The Sharpie Fine Point is a 1 mm bullet-tip marker that Sanford introduced in 1964; US spec sheets give US origin.

## What are the best permanent markers?

**On maker specs, the best permanent markers are the Zebra Hi-Mackee for general use, the Mackee Care Ultra Fine for detail and the Onamae Mackee for names.** There is no single winner because widths and surfaces differ.

- **Best all-round:** [Zebra Hi-Mackee](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-hi-mackee-marker/). *Why it's here:* 6.0 mm and 1.5 to 2.0 mm ends, oil-based ink, 165 yen (about US$1.04).
- **Best refillable fine marker:** [Zebra Mackee Care](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-care-extra-fine/). *Why it's here:* 1.0 to 1.3 mm and 0.5 mm lines, YYTS5 refills, 132 yen (about US$0.84).
- **Best for fine detail:** [Zebra Mackee Care Ultra Fine](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-care-ultra-fine/). *Why it's here:* 0.7 mm and 0.3 mm lines for 132 yen (about US$0.84).
- **Best for names:** [Zebra Onamae Mackee](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-onamae-mackee-name-marker/). *Why it's here:* ink Zebra says bleeds less on cloth, from 132 yen.
- **Best capless:** [Zebra Mackee Knock](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-knock/). *Why it's here:* click to use, 1.0 to 1.3 mm, 198 yen (about US$1.25).
- **Best for paper:** [Zebra Paper Mackee](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-paper-mackee/). *Why it's here:* water-based pigment ink that does not show through paper, 165 yen.
- **Best for big jobs:** [Zebra Mackee Extra Thick](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-extra-thick/). *Why it's here:* a chisel tip that draws 8.0 to 17.0 mm, 550 yen (about US$3.48).
- **Best classic:** [Sharpie Fine Point](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/sharpie-fine-point/). *Why it's here:* the 1964 original, about 1 mm, alcohol-based ink.
- **Best for labs:** [KOKUYO Research Lab Pen](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/kokuyo-research-lab-pen/). *Why it's here:* alcohol-resistant 0.6 mm ink that writes on frozen surfaces, 440 yen.

## How did we choose these picks?

**We compiled these picks from the makers' own pages, not hands-on testing.** Each has a guide on our site citing a maker page. Prices are Japanese prices with tax at 158 yen to the dollar; the Sharpie is a US product, banded rather than priced.

## How do the widths compare?

**From 0.3 mm to 17 mm.** The finest line in the set is the Ultra Fine's 0.3 mm; the widest is the Extra Thick's 17 mm, about 57 times wider by our arithmetic.

| Pick | Line width | Ink | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hi-Mackee | 6.0 / 1.5–2.0 mm | oil-based | 165 yen |
| Mackee Care | 1.0–1.3 / 0.5 mm | oil-based | 132 yen |
| Care Ultra Fine | 0.7 / 0.3 mm | oil-based | 132 yen |
| Onamae Mackee | 1.0–1.3 / 0.5 mm | oil dye | 165 yen |
| Mackee Knock | 1.0–1.3 mm | oil dye | 198 yen |
| Paper Mackee | 5.6 / 1.4–1.7 mm | water-based pigment | 165 yen |
| Extra Thick | 8.0–17.0 mm | oil-based | 550 yen |
| Research Lab Pen | about 0.6 mm | oil-based, alcohol-resistant | 440 yen |

![Five line widths drawn to scale for permanent markers](https://stationerytimes.com/images/best-permanent-markers-illustration.svg?v=f52711bb)

*Five line widths at 1 mm = 8 px. Original illustration made for this guide. © Stationery Times.*

## Which is best for plastic, glass or metal?

**The oil-based Mackee markers.** Zebra says their ink marks paper, cloth, wood, glass, plastic and metal and resists water once dry. For the Paper Mackee, Zebra says it is for paper.

## Which marker for names on belongings?

**The Onamae Mackee.** Zebra says its new ink fixes fabric bleeding, the top complaint about name markers.

## Where are these made?

**Zebra and KOKUYO do not state a country on the pages we read.** US spec sheets give the United States for the Sharpie Fine Point. See also our [best waterproof pens and inks](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-waterproof-pens-and-inks/) and [best paint markers](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/best-paint-markers/).

## Frequently asked questions

### What is the best permanent marker?

On maker specs, the Zebra Hi-Mackee for general use: 6.0 mm and 1.5 to 2.0 mm lines for 165 yen (about US$1.04).

### Which is the finest?

The Mackee Care Ultra Fine at 0.3 mm on one end and 0.7 mm on the other.

### Which suits names on clothes?

The Zebra Onamae Mackee, whose new ink Zebra says bleeds less on cloth.

### Which writes without a cap?

The Zebra Mackee Knock, a click-to-use marker at 198 yen (about US$1.25).

### Which resists alcohol?

The KOKUYO Research Lab Pen, per KOKUYO.

### Which does not show through paper?

The Zebra Paper Mackee, with water-based pigment ink.

### Which is the biggest?

The Zebra Mackee Extra Thick, which draws 8.0 to 17.0 mm.

## Sources

- [Zebra Hi-Mackee guide, with maker sources, on this site](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-hi-mackee-marker/)
- [Zebra Mackee Care guide, with maker sources, on this site](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-care-extra-fine/)
- [Zebra Mackee Care Ultra Fine guide, with maker sources, on this site](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-care-ultra-fine/)
- [Zebra Onamae Mackee guide, with maker sources, on this site](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-onamae-mackee-name-marker/)
- [Zebra Mackee Knock guide, with maker sources, on this site](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-knock/)
- [Zebra Paper Mackee guide, with maker sources, on this site](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-paper-mackee/)
- [Zebra Mackee Extra Thick guide, with maker sources, on this site](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/zebra-mackee-extra-thick/)
- [Sharpie Fine Point guide, with maker sources, on this site](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/sharpie-fine-point/)
- [KOKUYO Research Lab Pen guide, with maker sources, on this site](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/kokuyo-research-lab-pen/)
